? 12/06 Dexter AMPS 241, +7 318, +9 342 - Dose Advice

DexterTheCat

Member Since 2022
Hello everyone!

Haven't been in this forum for a while, but I'm currently struggling with dosing and in the past have really appreciated all of your advice, so here I am again.

Dexter continues to have high numbers, do I keep the same dosage or should I increase?

He tends to have late nadirs on 2 units (around PMPS), so that's why I have kept him a while at 1.75 (seven days) before increasing, which has also been the vet's advice.

Thank you so much for your guidance.
 
If you are following TR, you increase the dose every 3 days till you start seeing nadirs below 100 (5.5). Why did you reduce from 2U to 1.75U last week?
 
If you are following TR, you increase the dose every 3 days till you start seeing nadirs below 100 (5.5). Why did you reduce from 2U to 1.75U last week?

Thank you for responding!

I reduced the dose because Dexter was <10 mmol/lg (or <180mg/dl) before PM shot. (He was at 7.5 as you could see, so I feared him going hypo.)

Was I not supposed to do this? Is it safe to give the full / non-reduced dose when pre-shot number is low?

Thanks again!
 
I reduced the dose because Dexter was <10 mmol/lg (or <180mg/dl) before PM shot. (He was at 7.5 as you could see, so I feared him going hypo.)
A dose reduction is earned when he drops below 90 (5 mmol/L) if you are following SLGS and 40 (2.2 mmol/L) if you are following TR. Just to confirm, he was diagnosed in 2014 and you're using a Libre?

Was I not supposed to do this? Is it safe to give the full / non-reduced dose when pre-shot number is low?
With SLGS you can shoot any number over 90 (5) and with TR, any number over 50 (2.8). Lantus is very good at giving flat cycle when you shoot low. Some cats nadir at the end of the cycle and then go up. Dexter seems to do that too. So uou might need to get used to shooting lower numbers! :-)

I would take him back up to 2U. If you are following TR, you want to increase the dose in 3 days if he does not see any numbers below 100.
 
Thank you so much, your reply is really helpful!

I will definitely bring him back up to 2u tomorrow morning. I will also get +1 and/or +2, as well as +10 and/or +11, just so I can get more comfortable with shooting low numbers.

Dexter was on Libre but now we are using Freestyle Lite as he hates having the sensor put on and no longer tolerates it on :(

Thank you again. Managing a diabetic kitty can be stressful and I'm so glad for this forum and its super helpful members.
 
Could you please update both your signature and SS with his DX date and the meter you are using. Thanks! :-)
 
Back
Top