12/06 Alex (+10.75)PMPS 82 & DH Update

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jill & Alex (GA)

Member Since 2009
hello LLers! :-D

i overslept this morning resulting in alex's shot not being given until +13.25! :shock: unfortunately, this late shot will result in losing that overlap i count on in the early part of the cycle to help cover her food spike since levemir generally doesn't onset until around +4. although, because of the insulin depot/shed, the real "damage" will probably show up in the next cycle. not the end of the world... and sleeping in sure felt good on this cold and cloudy morning!

i can't thank you enough for the support offered so generously over the last month. your prayers, white light, healing vines, positive thoughts, PMs, and emails have meant more to me and my family than you could possibly know. all things considered, dh is doing remarkably well! his fine motor skills have required a little work, but that problem seems to have resolved itself. he has suffered some minor hearing and vision loss, but the confusion is gone. he's up and around... almost as if nothing ever happened!

there's still work to be done til he recovers completely, but at this point we're extremely optimistic. :mrgreen:
all in all, he's very, very lucky. this could have been so much worse. there's no doubt in my mind the power of this board was at play!

i also want to thank everyone for their generosity in contributing to "Operation Covered Dish". my entire family is in awe of not only your generosity, but the spirit and thought behind the gesture. the personal chef you hired will be delivering casseroles today and individual meals next week. she is a delight to work with and very helpful in catering to our needs. between doctor's visits and rehab appointments, this service will really take a load off my shoulders! THANK YOU!!!

words seem so inadequate at a time like this, but i want you to know each and everyone of you have my undying gratitude. this past month has been pretty tough. your kind words kept me going through the darkest moments... and continue to keep me going to this day.


welcome to the new faces i see in the group! i have a whole lot of catching up to do, but hope to be able to spend more time in LL as the days go by...



THANK YOU! Thank you, LL!
~ jill
 
Re: 12/06 Alex (+13.25)AMPS 68 & DH Update

It is so good to hear that Mike is recovering in leaps and bounds (or at least that's what it sounds like). Considering the possible outcomes, this is as close to a miracle as you can get whether due to LL intervention, modern medicine, or whatever power you believe in. I also suspect it is a reflection of what goes 'round, comes 'round -- the good you do in LL has its rewards. Your presence has been missed even though I have no doubt you were on everyone's mind.
 
Re: 12/06 Alex (+13.25)AMPS 68 & DH Update

Jill this is such good news!! For all you have given us, we get to pay it forward to you & Mike.
You have done so so much for all of us, and for lantus land, especially Moonie and I...
You deserve all good things, and we are so happy we could help!
The power of creating Miracles is quite amazing here in LL, because it comes from all our hearts.
We miss you, but are so happy to hear about Mike's progress..
Love you Jill, Prayers continue for Mike's continued Healing! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 12/06 Alex (+13.25)AMPS 68 & DH Update

It's great to "see" you and it's even better to hear such great news about Mike's recovery! Jetta and I will continue to send well wishes, warm thoughts, and healing vines!
 
Re: 12/06 Alex (+13.25)AMPS 68 & DH Update

Dear Jill,
It is a joy to read how well Mike is doing. There is the collective positive energy of LL, but more important there is Mike's and your inner strength. We trust that he will continue to improve every day.
Thank you, Jill, for all that you do here in LL.
Wishing you and Mike--and Alex--a fine day, and continuing to send healing vines and lots of hugs,

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/06 Alex (+13.25)AMPS 68 & DH Update

YAY!, and great news! it is good to read that DH is recovering so well.

thanks from Mannie and I for all tat you do here. There simply not enough words...

nice amps for Alex!
 
Re: 12/06 Alex (+13.25)AMPS 68 & DH Update

What a great update to read, i'm glad to hear everything is going great!
 
Re: 12/06 Alex (+13.25)AMPS 68 & DH Update

Absolutely fabulous Jill! So glad you got to sleep in, I'm sure it was much-needed and deserved rest!

I am so happy that Mike has recovered/is recovering so well!

Miracles do happen.

Desi
 
Re: 12/06 Alex (+13.25)AMPS 68 & DH Update

I'm ecstatic to see an Alex condo today!!! And even more ecstatic to hear Mike is doing so well!!! You've been such a blessing to everyone here in FDMB. Good things happen to good people!!!! I look forward to hearing more positive reports.
 
Re: 12/06 Alex (+13.25)AMPS 68 & DH Update

Oh wow! What a great update! I will continue to send lots of hugs and prayers for Mike's continuing recovery. :YMHUG:
Please take of yourself Jill, I'm sure you are probably working like crazy to get your lives back in order. You will get there, so take it easy, k?

All my best! (((((((Jill and Mike)))))))

And what a lovely AMPS for the lovely lady, Alex. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/06 Alex (+13.25)AMPS 68 & DH Update

Such wonderful news, Jill! I'm so happy to hear that DH's recovery has been so positive! Also so happy to hear that the personal chef is working out so well! :-D Will be sending continued prayers and well wishes for you both (and Alex too!!) in the weeks ahead!
 
Re: 12/06 Alex (+13.25)AMPS 68 & DH Update

I loved seeing an Alex condo! And the news in it is more than heartwarming! I'm so glad DH is doing well. Prayers continue.
 
Re: 12/06 Alex (+13.25)AMPS 68 & DH Update

NOTHING lifts my heart so much as a smiley face on a post from you, Jill. This is the best news ever. You and Mike have been in our hearts every day through these trying weeks.

I agree with Sienne:

what goes 'round, comes 'round -- the good you do in LL has its rewards.

What a joy it is to see good karma come around to someone who has given so much to so many.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Kitty sends purrs.
 
Re: 12/06 Alex (+13.25)AMPS 68 & DH Update

That's really wonderful news, Jill! So glad that Mike is making progress and the meals are going to be helpful to you all. Prayers are still being sent for Mike's recovery!
 
Re: 12/06 Alex (+13.25)AMPS 68 & DH Update

Welcome home!!! To LL and to your physical home! I am in awe of the fantastic recovery you describe yet rarely surprised by the amazing powers of the human brain. To have DH almost back to where he was before is absolutely incredible and fabulous. Alex looks like he has hardly missed a beat while you were both dealing with catastrophe (and not of the cat kind). It was a pleasure to be able to return a kindness to you and yours, for all you do for us here in LL! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 12/06 Alex (+13.25)AMPS 68 & DH Update

happy news indeed. I don't come to LL often anymore and today I look and here is your wonderful update!

continued good thoughts and prayers for your DH.
 
Re: 12/06 Alex (+13.25)AMPS 68 & DH Update

Jill,
I'm truly happy Mike is doing much much better....and on the road to recovery.....

sending you continued prayers and healing vines.....

:razz:
 
Re: 12/06 Alex (+13.25)AMPS 68 & DH Update

How exciting to see your condo this morning Jill! I'm just thrilled to hear Mike is up and around and doing so so well. It's a pleasure for me to be able to contribute to such a worthy cause, I only wish I could have done more for you. I'm glad the personal chef is working out well. Sorry Alex's shot was late, but happy you got to sleep in (I'm sure you needed that!) and Alex will be back on track in no time.

Continued prayers good wishes and love to you all. It's great to see you back, you really were missed!
 
Re: 12/06 Alex (+13.25)AMPS 68 & DH Update

I am also thrilled to see an Alex condo and an update on Mike directly from you, Jill. We have missed you so much and are glad you're able to check in but Mike's recovery is a tribute to all you have
done for him and his own perseverence and strength.....with some LL miracles thrown in.

We hope the meals are YUMMY!! And we continue to send prayers for his full recovery. We're so happy he is doing so well!!
 
Re: 12/06 Alex (+13.25)AMPS 68 & DH Update

It is so good to see you posting, Jill, and to hear a good update on Mike. You are very much missed here. Sending vines for Mike's continued improvement.
 
Re: 12/06 Alex (+13.25)AMPS 68 & DH Update

Dear JIll, I was so happy to see a condo for Alex today. Even happier to read good news about Mike.
I'm looking forward to reading more and more about his progress. Yay! :-D
 
Re: 12/06 Alex (+13.25)AMPS 68 & DH Update

+6 112
not too shabby considering the late shot this morning! since alex has a late nadir, her mid-cycle numbers are often the highest. i fully expect that late shot to show up either later this cycle or in the next.

now to address the presence of the elephant in the room...

thank you everyone. it's good to be back... even in a limited capacity. although i have to admit, given the very sudden change to the lantus forum and the fact that in this isg alternative approaches have always been supported and even suggested to some caregivers... i wasn't sure where i should post this morning... since i happen to be one of many who follow a rather relaxed approach to the TR Protocol.

i have to say... frequent testing has taught me what "know thy cat" truly means. it's only because of the knowledge i've gained through frequent testing to learn my cat's response to the insulin and grasping a full understanding of the action of the insulin used and an understanding of the TR protocol itself that i can now be more relaxed in my approach... while continuing to strive for some sort of loosely based tight regulation... even though it's not likely alex will ever go off insulin again.

i can only hope those who are administering insulin to their kitties will take the time to "know thy cat" as well as understanding the insulin used before they become too relaxed in their approach. yes, i said that tongue in cheek, but this concept is important and must not be overlooked by anyone... for the safety of the cats. and how do you "know thy cat" and know kitty's response to the insulin used? testing. plain and simple. data gives one the information needed to know when and where you can stray from the protocol while keeping kitty safe. for example, i'm at a point where i don't *usually* have to test more than three or four times a day. those who can't test three times a day run the risk of not knowing how low a dose is taking their cat. they unnecessarily run the risk of kitty being over OR under dose. :sad:

Tight Regulation is not for everyone... for a multitude of valid reasons.
on the other hand, the Tight Regulation Protocol is the one and only researched based protocol for lantus and levemir.


stepping off the soapbox while looking around to see where i should be posting...
 
Re: 12/06 Alex (+13.25)AMPS 68; +6 112 & DH Update

Jill, you should stay and post right here. The new forum is not to make people move out of this one, as I understand it. It's for people who may not be happy in this forum, to give them somewhere else to go, I think. I'm a bit concerned that with the name changes, some people are feeling like they shouldn't post here anymore, that they are not wanted here if they are not exactly following TR. I don't think that was the point at all.
 
this condo made my day. :mrgreen:

I'm so happy to hear that Mike is doing well, and that you are doing well, and that Alex has gotten her groove back too. Miracles really do happen to good people.

About the forums, I guess we'll see. I know I have mentioned to you in the past that I believe that the reason I was able to balance Jazzy's weird acro dosing needs with my own health/job issues was because I had learned how the protocol did work for Jazzy well enough to understand how to not follow the protocol. She was as well regulated as I wanted her to be, but was never tightly regulated. She didn't need to be and that was fine with me.
 
I think Anne hit the nail on the head.

We are not religiously following the TR protocol either ....we take Gracie up by drops and down by shaves and do it when we believe she is ready. But our GOAL is TR and we are staying here because that is our goal
and because this is our home. This is where we believe we can get the best help for Gracie's specific needs and where we feel most comfortable helping others. We also believe strongly in the TR protocol for newly
diagnosed cats and even oldly diagnosed cats if the caregiver is able to do it and if it works for the kitty.

Home is where the heart is and this is where our heart is with regard to Gracie's FD.

Love that you back whenever you are able.
 
Marjorie and Gracie said:
Home is where the heart is and this is where our heart is with regard to Gracie's FD.

I don't want to hijack your condo Jill, but I did just want to say that Bear Man was never on a TR protocol, but that we were always warmly welcomed and supported here, and that our needs were always understood. I fully credit Jill and Jojo and all of Lantus Land for sharing their knowledge not only about diabetes, but also about all of the health issues that arose with Bear. You all gave me more years with him than I would have had with him otherwise. This is our home.
 
Howdee Jill
It is really nice to pop in (slowly popping back in) :lol:
and to find this wonderful thread!

Very glad to hear ur DH is doing well :)
That is a totally awesome update!
(((hugs)))
 
Ma Jill beez bak...an' hur Mike beez bedder...
Iz az happee az diz elli-phump!!!!!
Binks


happy-elephant-01.jpg
 
:lol: :lol: it's so impossible to follow celi's posts! too cute picture!

jill - so glad mike is doing incredibly well! also glad the meals are working out - i don't know who had the idea, but i thought it was great - figuring out the food can be a burden and having someone show up with the food seemed like a great idea to me.

punkin's also not tightly regulated, obviously. not that i wouldn't love to have him tightly regulated, as we all would, or even better OTJ!, but i'm more interested in all of the process being safe. so we are where we are. i'm simply filled with gratitude to you, jill, and everyone else who volunteers hours and hours of time to teach others help their cats here in Lantus Land.
 
I am just seeing this and want to say how pleased I am to read your words, Jill. It sounds like all is going very well and I am quite sure Mike will be as good as new once he fully recovers. Continued prayers for a speedy and full recovery.
 
I'm so glad to hear that the recovery is going so well! Keep on keepin on! Glad to see you back on LLand!!!
 
Wonderful news on Mike .. so glad to hear his recovery is going well and will continue to pray there are no road bumps down the line ..
 
(((Jill)))!!!

Well I may be a day late and a dollar short(that's for sure) but this is the bestest news I've read on LL or any land for a very long time. I am tickled PINK for you and Mike!!!! I have learned to never underestimate the power of prayer...especially from the people on this board. I think there is some kind of hotline but mine is not to question!

I'm just so happy for you and I'm glad that YOUR Alex is doing well. I live by "know thy cat" or I couldn't be so sure about the "Caryl and MY Alex" protocol that works pretty well for us. But for sure...you really do have to KNOW thy cat before doing any nutty stuff like I do.

Now you get rest and keep whipping that DH into shape!!!

xo,
Caryl,
Alex and Jackson
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top