Shawn2u & Tubby said:
Hello, I know what I'm doing is sort of unorthodox but honestly don't know how else to inform those who are concerned.
Perhaps somebody could show me the proper way. I had to leave this morning and did not shoot because of unusual low numbers.
However by the time I got back did inject 4 units when BGL was at 233.
His spreadsheet might look confusing but I tried to explain the circumstances.
Here is what the chart looks like today, please don't hesitate to express your thoughts!
12/05 Tubby PMPS 283 4.5 units +2 264 +4.5 262 +8.5 242 +11.5 156
12/06 Tubby + 12.5 126 +12.45 97 +13.5 89 +15 169 AMPS +16 233 4 units
Shawn:
Because the forum is so big, we open only one condo (i.e., thread) per cat per day. It keeps all of the information in one place so when we're linking condos on a daily basis, the information is consolidated and the forum doesn't get more overwhelming than it already is.
I'm glad you wet back to the 4 units.
Here's the conundrum....
By shooting 4 hours late for your morning shot, your PM shot will need to be 12 hours from when you actually gave the morning injection -- in other words, you are now 4 hours off of your usual shot schedule. That's not an issue providing your schedule can accommodate being that far off. For most of us, due to the need for sleep (since we are monitoring BG levels during the PM cycle) and work, we don't have that flexibility. Your schedule may be more forgiving. The most that it's recommended that you shift shot time, under ordinary circumstances, is by no more than 30 min. per day (either 15 min. per shot cycle or 30 min. at one time) in order to get back on schedule.
I can readily understand your being apprehensive regarding shooting lower numbers. I believe I linked this note on
handling low pre-shots previously. We try to encourage shooting the full dose, on time, if it is possible to do so safely and, most importantly if you're data ready.
What you decide with respect to dealing with a low pre-shot test needs to be safe for Tubby and a comfortable decision for you. So, what did today tell you? It looks like Tubby's numbers were going back up within a few hours. In all likelihood, it would have been fine to shoot something closer to your usual shot time. However, if I had seen the 97 at +12.45, I would not have suggested that you shoot a dropping number or shoot that low. You don't yet have sufficient data yet. (See the "Data Ready" sticky for more information.) The bottom line is that your strategy was fine, except you are way off schedule. Again, it's not an issue providing you have the flexibility to migrate the shot time back in a slow and measured manner.