12/05 Dusty PMPS 320, +2 264

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michelle & Dusty

Member Since 2012
Good morning! Testing and shot went beautifully. Purring immediately after the shot. Hurrah!

All is well here. A bit surprised by the low AMPS but still trying not to read much into anything. I can work from home today, so I think I'll be testing at +3, +6, and +9, just to see what it looks like.

Hope everyone and their furbabies are doing well!
--Michelle
 
Re: 12/05 Dusty AMPS 196

yay, Dusty!!
See, it does get easier :-D :-D

You may want to get a +2 bg, as this is the lowest you've shot at. Its good to find out at what point her numbers start to go down as insulin kicks in.

My Honey usually dropped quickly between +2 and +4 and then leveled out - ECID :roll:
 
Re: 12/05 Dusty AMPS 196, +3 215

Up a wee bit from this morning. Curious to see what the +6 is going to look like. I tried soooo very hard to get a +2 but after multiple sticks and two (two!) errors from not enough blood, I decided to give Dusty a bit of a break and just go for the +3. (I think maybe the heating pad wasn't warm enough?) Needless to say this time it worked well. A bit too well - I think I got the vein. :shock: But I kept pressure for about 30 seconds and Dusty didn't seem to mind. And gobbled up her freeze-dried turkey bits that I found yesterday at the pet store.
 
Re: 12/05 Dusty AMPS 196, +3 215

Hi Michelle & Dusty,

Welcome to LL. This is our first visit to your condo and I just wanted to say that you are doing just fine. Don't worry about hitting the vein: we all do that. It's great that Dusty is adjusting to the testing and shots. She is a beautiful kitty and has quite a history (I just read her profile).

Keep on doing what you're doing, and ask all the questions you need to ask. Someone will always be here to help.

Ella & Rusty (rhymes with Dusty!)
 
Re: 12/05 Dusty AMPS 196, +3 215

Thanks, Ella! I have been *so* appreciative of this board...it's been my point of sanity as I've started this process. While I'm still definitely learning - both in terms of technique for testing and dosing and in terms of book learnin' about feline diabetes - I think I'm starting to feel like Dusty and I can survive and thrive doing this.

I hope you and Rusty are doing well this lovely Wednesday afternoon!
 
Re: 12/05 Dusty AMPS 196, +3 215, +6 250, +9.5 255

Holding pretty steady throughout the day. The drop (if there was one?) must have occurred prior to the +3 hour. We'll see. I'm going to dose and test normally a couple of days and then, on Sunday, do a curve. Before then (and perhaps even after then) I must just repeat to myself that All Cats Are Different and that it takes a while for the dose to settle in to something resembling a cycle.
 
Re: 12/05 Dusty AMPS 196, +3 215, +6 250, +9.5 255

Hi Michelle,
Yes, it's a day by day, one day at a time thing, and one crucial item is a pair of "patience pants". But so far, so good. You and Dusty WILL survive and thrive!

Carl
 

Attachments

  • patience pants.jpg
    patience pants.jpg
    18.2 KB · Views: 237
Re: 12/05 Dusty AMPS 196, +3 215, +6 250, +9.5 255

One suggestion --

You'll want to start getting some tests (at least one) during the PM cycle. Many cats experience lower numbers at night so getting some tests in is important. Likewise, if you don't test at night, you're missing half of your data.
 
Re: 12/05 Dusty AMPS 196, +3 215, +6 250, +9.5 255, PMPS 320

Carl - oh, patience...It is the virtue I think I will always have the hardest time acquiring. :-D But yes, must also locate some patience pants and then try them on for size.

Sienne - you read my mind! I'm definitely going to try to get the +2 tonight, since I'm curious to see whether (and, if so, how much) Dusty is dropping by that point. My biggest problem is that I tend to go to bed early and don't fall asleep (or back asleep) well, so I'm hesitant to stay up too late or wake up throughout the night. I'm very lucky in that I have a lot of flexible time during the days (I'm currently working at home), so have been taking advantage of that to do testing. But still, point very well taken. :smile:
 
Hi and welcome. :YMHUG:

If you can imagine, BG testing gets even easier with time. Just a few weeks ago, it was a long, drawn-out production for me and Mikey. Now, I can usually test him in under a minute from prep to finish. One thing that comforted me and got me over my initial fear of testing with Mikey was reading about how the tip of a cat's ear has very few nerve endings and are less sensitive than our own fingertips. I figure Mikey can suck it up and handle a couple of ear pricks if it'll save him the pain of DKA or hypoglycemia (or worse!). So even if you hit a vein, I don't think they can even feel the difference. All that happens is you get a LOT more blood every now and again. :-D

Another thing to help your patience that I just learned a couple of days ago: I've spent the past month in a constant state of worry because I haven't been able to find the "right dose level" for Michelangelo yet. I finally learned that as long as his numbers are occasionally dropping into normal range and are not high, flat numbers, it's okay! If it is high for longer than 3 days, the dose should be increased anyway and since you're now testing him, you'll know in plenty of time if/when it might be necessary to increase his dose, so don't worry! You're both doing fine. :thumbup
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top