12/05/2019 Blackie AMPS 361

Sherry and Blackie

Member Since 2019
Good morning! Blackie running a little high . I'm guessing from the no shot . I'm considering changing to TR. Has anyone here started SLGS then changed? I'd like to give him a shot at remission.
 
I hope Blackie comes back down for you today. I believe there have been people who have switched from SLGS to TR. You can switch back if TR doesn't work with your schedule.
 
Good morning Sherry,
I switched to TR. Was already testing quite a bit, so it was an easy change. I noticed when I reduced when under 90, it didn't stick. The reductions when under 50 stuck. Every cat and person is a little different, but I vote for TR if possible! I especially like the TR idea when kitty is still in high numbers.
I hope things settle down for you Sherry!
 
Thanks all! I'm already testing a good bit and I am fortunate I can go home at lunch to check on him. I'm going to study more than make a decision.
 
Thanks all! I'm already testing a good bit and I am fortunate I can go home at lunch to check on him. I'm going to study more than make a decision.
I was really nervous to switch to TR but really I feel like I face the same challenges following TR as I did with SLGS. Mowgli could have Low BG before I went to work on SLGS and I would still have to leave out some MC or HC to try to steer him away from dangerous numbers while I was away. I think that the fact that you can stop by mid cycle is very promising for someone who wants to follow TR. For me I am unable to do that but Mowgli and I are still able to follow the TR protocol.

My schedule is like this:
5:50am - Get up: test, feed, shoot
6:40am - Grab a +0.8 test ( if I have the time, definitely if he is in lower numbers that morning), leave MC if needed
6:47am - Leave for work
5:00pm - Get home from work - grab a +11(especially if I didn't get a +0.8)
5:50pm - Test, Feed, Shoot

As you can see I am away from home all day, I cannot get any other additional Tests during the AM cycle than the +0.8 and +11. I must say, although Mowgli is still not regulated (I dont think) His numbers have improved so much since we started... have a look at his SS and see what you think :)

You have to do what is best for you of course, but I was really surprised how little of a difference there was between SLGS and TR in terms of test amount and time requirements for me.... if that helps... best of luck with your decision :bighug:
 
Back
Top