12//05//13....IT'S SONNY AND B.A... NUMBERS HELP!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

tailzmom

Member Since 2013
OK my supporters..I have posted numbers..to the best of my ability..today's low is the lowest I have gotten so far..sorry about the variables..I test as much as I can..and kept a notebook..and got my son to show me the steps to be able to post..so let me know!!!..how it looking..I have tested more than I have posted...not shooting blind...but 3 peeps are writing in book with food amts. and times and it's a bit tangled. .but those #'s are good..my pm's turn to am's once we pass midnight..but we are aware and on top of it..HAS anyone noticed with the pen..that some drops come out after injection?..I try and leave it in as long as I can..and with 1 unit..I'm afraid I'm losing insulin...LEARNING CURVE!!..MAYBE I need to hold the pen at a different angle?...THANK YOU EVERYONE.. and I think my other civvie is coming around. ..!!!!..huggs...Beth Anne +Sonny
 
Re: Diagnosed TODAY..I'm more than overwhelmed!

Hello Beth Anne and welcome. This is all rather overwhelming at first but you can do it! We've all been where you are now.

First thing - what are you feeding Sonny? He should be on a low carb wet food diet. Check out http://www.catinfo.org for an explanation. There is a list of commercial canned wet foods. Anything that is below 10% carbs is good. Many people here feed fancy feast pates, friskies pates, or wellness flavors, but there are many others. If Sonny is on dry food now, going to low carb wet food can help lower his blood sugar and how much insulin he needs.

Second - we strongly advocate doing blood testing at home. You can use any human glucose meter to do this. It will help you know if it's safe to inject insulin. Cats can go into remission from diabetes and testing will help you detect any changes in need for insulin. If you let us know where you live, there may be someone nearby who can help you learn how to do this. If not, there are plenty of videos on the web.

Third - using an insulin that has a good track record for cats. Do you know what insulin your vet is going to prescribe? Lantus, levemir and prozinc are all good choices.
 
Re: Diagnosed TODAY..I'm more than overwhelmed!

Hi Beth Anne and extra sweet Sonny and welcome to the FDMB!!

We've all been where you are before, and you couldn't be in a better place now.

If you're feeding dry food now, please look at the list Wendy provided and get some low carb food and transition your kitty onto it. You may want to hold off on buying the insulin until you have done that since we've seen kitties who were able to be diet controlled after getting them off of the dry. If you get insulin, Lantus, Levemir and Pro Zinc are the 3 types that work well in cats. High blood sugars do damage to their organs, but it takes time to do it...starting a cat on insulin while you're also lowering the carbs they're eating can be tragic. Also, 2 units is a very high starting dose. Please don't feel "rushed" to start insulin...my own kitty, China, had a BG reading in the mid 400's when we started this adventure too. Before we started the Lantus, I tried low carb foods first for a couple of weeks.

If you take a week to transition off of dry food (if that's what Sonny is eating), you can spend that week learning how to home test. It's very important to Sonny's safety for you to learn how. Everyone thinks their kitty won't put up with it, or will hate them forever, but most of them, after a little work, come when they're called to get tested!

We know it's overwhelming right now, but there are lots of people here that will help you learn everything you need to know!

Here's a little something for you to read...I hope you enjoy it. A message from your cat
 
Re: Diagnosed TODAY..I'm more than overwhelmed!

tailzmom said:
Hi..I'm Beth Anne and I have DSH rescue(not aged; guessing 2-3yrs) wt. is approx.12 lbs.... :shock: named Sonny..his BG was in the 400's at the vet...got this information station from on line...vet prescribed 2 units 2x's a day..After feeding..I'm so darn lost..getting insulin Friday as this is a holiday. .unsure how long he has been suffering..OMG..I think I'm going to have a breakdown!!!...please..Please help me..Thank you in advance..BA

Hi Beth Anne,
You and Sonny will be just fine, so no need to worry yourself, OK?

Now, there are many cats who are DIET CONTROLLED and don't need insulin, so hold off buying insulin for now.... a few days or so will not make a difference, and correcting diet may be all that Sonny needs!
If you can post what foods Sonny has been eating and what you are feeding, plus how much food and how often, you can get suggestions on adjusting for the better.
The best diet is raw, and there is a recipe you can get, but most people just go with low carb wet food that is under 10% carbs.
Dr. Lisa Pierson's site has the recipe for raw, and also a food list that you can check .... maybe your current foods are fine, but for sure check.
http://catinfo.org/docs/FoodChartPublic9-22-12.pdf

Now, home testing is pretty important. How else will you know if it's safe to give a shot or not? Many vets say you don't need to tests, and others say you have to use an expensive pet meter, but you can do just fine with an economical Relion meter and its strips. It's best to test while you are making the food changes because you may find that you are getting much better numbers than the 400 at the vet office. It usually will take a few days to get the diet sorted and the numbers to reflect the change. One last thing about that 400.... vet stress causes alot of cats to test higher at the vet office, and there can be other causes for high numbers like infections, illness, dental problems.

How was your cat diagnosed? By one test at the vet office on a meter, or the glucose value on a blood panel of tests, or did the vet have a fructosamine test done? The fructosamine test is an average of your cat's numbers over the last couple weeks and it's the better way to diagnose feline diabetes.

What insulin did the vet say you should use? There are some insulins better than others, and like I said, no rush yet until you sort out the diet and are home testing.
The dose the vet wanted for starting is too high; most cats never need that high of a dose, and it's better and safer to start at a dose of maybe 1 unit or 0.5 unit twice a day, then work your way up slowly if needed.

Sonny will be just fine once you get all sorted out, and you have plenty of people to help you.... just ask if you need help or have a question.

Gayle
 
Re: Diagnosed TODAY..I'm more than overwhelmed!

Hi Beth Ann and sweet Sonny...you have found the right place to get help.

The advise you are already receiving is so good and since I am pretty new to the board I do not have much advise to offer.
What I would like to give you is encouragement.

I originally posted a similar cry for help like you did about 1 month ago and just today my Kitty - Monet- is off insulin (OTJ - off the juice)!!! Please listen to what members here tell you because they saved Monet's life !!!

My vet put Monet on 4 units of Lantus 2 times per day and I came close to losing him because the dosage was way higher that it should have been. Thank God I found this site when I did and the first thing I was told was that I needed to reduce the insulin down to 1 unit ASAP. Actually, if I had found this board prior to starting Monet on Insulin, I might could have controlled his BG levels through diet alone. The low carb wet food makes a huge difference ! Make sure you read the link that others have already given you to the food list.

The very thought of giving Monet shots and even worse having to prick his ear multiple times per day really freaked me out at first. I could not even look at a needle on TV nonetheless ever imagine having to use one myself.... Yikes ! So, I know right now you are very scared and overwhelmed too, but breathe and know that you can do it. The BG testing is crucial and honestly, after a few pricks, it is not bad at all. In fact if you get Sonny on the right diet and u start testing his BG you might not even need to do insulin injections, especially if the diabetes was caught early.

I just wanted to reach out to you and let you know it will be OK and you can do this :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT

Here is link to my original post for help : http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=106821&p=1132372#p1132372
 
Re: Diagnosed TODAY..I'm more than overwhelmed!

1) changing to a low carb canned or raw diet may reduce glucose by about 100 mg/dL

2) vet stress may raise the glucose between 100 - 180 mg/dL (depends on the cat)

3) infection often raises glucose levels

So, if you make both of those changes - feed a good low carb diet and test at home - that 400 could drop as much as 200 mg/dL, which would be near normal numbers (400 - 100 - 180 = 120). If there is any infection to treat - respiratory, dental, bladder/kidney - that may reduce it further.
 
Re: Diagnosed TODAY..I'm more than overwhelmed!

Hi..I'm finally here..got insulin today..2 units 2 a day..Latanus?...sp..how long after his shot can he eat?..and how long after eating..vet says 30 mins...and cold insulin hurts?..room temp for storage too?
 
Re: Diagnosed TODAY..I'm more than overwhelmed!

All my cats are on fancy feast pates..Thank god...He eats well...but his back leg weakness is what brought my attention to it..so thanks do much..just need guidance..haven't gotten to the big testing yet..
 
Re: Diagnosed TODAY..I'm more than overwhelmed!

All my cats are on fancy feast pates..Thank god...He eats well...but his back leg weakness is what brought my attention to it..so thanks do much..just need guidance..haven't gotten to the big testing yet..
 
Re: Diagnosed TODAY..I'm more than overwhelmed!

All my cats are on fancy feast pates..Thank god...He eats well...but his back leg weakness is what brought my attention to it..so thanks do much..just need guidance..haven't gotten to the big testing yet..
 
Re: Diagnosed TODAY..I'm more than overwhelmed!

Hi Beth Anne and Sonny!! Looks like your vet started Sonny on Lantus...that's a good choice!

First, it's never a good idea to give ANY insulin if you're not home testing first. That's like driving on the highway with a paper bag over your head. Without knowing the Blood Glucose before giving insulin, it's impossible to be safe...and you're much better off waiting on giving any insulin until you learn that. The high numbers do their damage slowly..Low numbers kill quickly...and there aren't always any "signs" that kitty is too low until they start having seizures.

Next, we don't recommend starting at any more than 1 unit every 12 hours. It takes time for Lantus to "build up" in the tissues before you will really see how well Sonny is responding. Most of the cats here are getting less than 2 units..and they've been on insulin a longer time, so please don't start at 2 units. It's for Sonny's safety to go slower and watch how he reacts. You can always go higher...if you give too much now, it could be tragic.

Most of us test/shoot/feed, all within about 10 minutes. You always test first to make sure it's safe to give insulin...then you can shoot/feed, or feed/shoot. I shoot China while she's eating so I have a good idea that she IS going to eat. If they don't feel like eating and you go ahead and give insulin, that can cause it's own problems.

It's important to not have Sonny eat anything for the 2 hours prior to testing/shooting so the number you get isn't influenced by food.

Most cats don't even notice the shot, but if Sonny does, it can help to draw it up into a syringe and give it a few minutes to warm up, but you don't want to leave the insulin out. If you keep in the refrigerator (on a shelf, not in the door) it can last up to 6 months....Otherwise you may have to buy it every 28 days.

Please consider waiting until you're testing before giving any insulin. It's for Sonny's safety!! It won't matter in the long run if his numbers are higher for another few days, but shooting blind is never a good idea. Once it's in, you can't take it out again.

We can help you learn how to do the testing, and it's really not hard once you get the hang of it. Most cats just don't like their ears fooled with, but after a little while, they learn...and most of them will start reminding YOU it's time to test..LOL

We use the 911 for medical emergencies (like when the blood glucose is too low), so if you have a question, please use the ? icon instead of the 911. You edit that first post and add the ? icon and then people scanning the forum will know you have a question, but that it's not a medical emergency
 
Re: Diagnosed TODAY..I'm more than overwhelmed!

After reading..I'm going to start on 1 unit...He has been on ft fir over a year..so I am taking this into my hands...I will need your help when I get my BG
Meter and start testing..THANK YOU ALL!..BETH ANNE
 
Re: Diagnosed TODAY..I'm more than overwhelmed!

And thanks for informing me about the #signals...felt like I needed 911 for myself...THANK YOU ALL!!..
 
Re: Diagnosed TODAY..I'm more than overwhelmed!

That's what we're here for...we're all paying it forward from when we were new, scared and overwhelmed!

Good that you're going to start lower, but still think you should wait a few days and learn how to test first..it's just safer that way

Here's a "getting started" shopping list of things you'll need

Getting started shopping list
1. Meter ie Walmart Relion Confirm or Micro.
2. Matching strips
3. Lancets - little sticks to poke the ear to get blood . new members usually start with a larger gauge lancet such as 28g or 29g until the ear learns to bleed. Optional - lancing tool.
4. Cotton balls to stem the blood
5. Neosporin or Polysporin ointment with pain relief to heal the wound
6. Mini flashlight (optional) - useful to help see the ear veins in dark cats, and to press against
7. Ketone urine test strips ie ketodiastix - Important to check ketones when blood is high
8. Sharps container - to dispose of waste syringes and lancets.
9. Treats for the cat - like freeze dried chicken
10. Karo syrup/corn syrup or honey if you dont have it at home - for hypo emergencies to bring blood sugar up fast
11. A couple of cans of fancy feast gravy lovers or other high carb gravy food- for hypo emergencies to bring blood sugar up fast
 
Re: Diagnosed TODAY..I'm more than overwhelmed!

All my cats are on fancy feast pates..Thank god...He eats well...but his back leg weakness is what brought my attention to it..so thanks do much..just need guidance..haven't gotten to the big testing yet..
 
Re: Diagnosed TODAY..I'm more than overwhelmed!

All my cats are on fancy feast pates..Thank god...He eats well...but his back leg weakness is what brought my attention to it..so thanks do much..just need guidance..haven't gotten to the big testing yet..
 
Re: ?????Just need some help...I edited this from 911..thank

Big thank you to Cyn..However my skills are a bit/a lot delayed in the computer arena. .lol..so that great S'S info..like ARABIC to me..no offense to anyone!..I will have my daughter help..got meter..will try in AM...wish me luck!! :-))
 
Re: ?????Just need some help...I edited this from 911..thank

There are quite a few people here who can set up a spreadsheet for you....
I'm not one of them... someone did it for me. I set up a google account and they got my password from me and set it up and then I later changed my password again.
If you want that, just ask. I can send a private message to someone to come help or someone might send you a pm and offer to help after seeing
me say this.
 
Re: ?????Just need some help...I edited this from 911..thank

Hi all...still haven't tested yet...I'm so unsure.....I have watched the videos..my lancets seem so LONG..I DON'T WANT TO HURT HIM and scare him...I bought some and some came with meter..along with lancet device..I think I'm more comfy doing it freehand...I'll get it done..I DO NEED A SPREADSHEET...If anyone can help..I'd be grateful...Beth Anne and Sonny
 
Re: ?????Just need some help...I edited this from 911..thank

Remember, there aren't many pain receptors in their ears, so it doesn't really hurt. Most cats just don't like having their ears touched...once you get him used to you fooling around with his ears, the poking is really not as bad as you're thinking it is

Decide where you want to test..could be a particular place on a counter, certain place on the floor..wherever. As often as possible, take Sonny there and just rub his ears..even only for a second..whatever he'll let you do and then give him a yummy treat, like freeze dried chicken or plain chicken, boiled and chopped up into bite sized pieces (I buy chicken on sale and then boil one piece, freeze the rest)

Sooner than you think, he'll be associating that place with the food and will willingly let you rub his ears so he gets his treat. When he's letting you fool with his ears, move on to poking. Try no more than 3 times...if you haven't gotten it by then, give the treat and try again later.

He really will get used to it..we hear the same things from pretty much everyone when they first come here and after a few days to weeks, their cats are coming when they're called to get tested..or even going to their test spot and reminding US that it's time to test (YES it does happen!!)
 
Re: ?????Just need some help...I edited this from 911..thank

Sorry I've been absentee all day... cleaning out /organizing closets....
I sent someone a pm to come help you with your ss. She who helped me. :-D

You might want to take your email off....
I gave Marje your email.
you could get all kinds of spam if some lurker happens to find it..... not that likely but just in case.....
 
GOT TEST..FIRST TRY..260...3 HOURS SINCE LAST MEAL...NO INSU

Hey everyone..first try..got blood. .and been 3 hrs since last meal....He had a 260..no insulin at all yet. .how do I stand?
 
Help me out?

Hey everyone..first try..got blood. .and been 3 hrs since last meal....He had a 260..no insulin at all yet. .how do I stand?
 
Help me out?

Hey everyone..first try..got blood. .and been 3 hrs since last meal....He had a 260..no insulin at all yet. .how do I stand?
 
Re: ?????Just need some help...I edited this from 911..thank

Rhiannon asked me to pop over and help you with the SS. I can do it for you but I need you to send me a private message so I can get some info from you. It will take me no time at all to do the SS. Just click on the "PM" button under my Gracie's picture, ok?

I would start him on insulin because if you've been feeding FF pates and he's got neuropathy, AND he's still at 260, I think he needs insulin.

The starting dose for lantus is calculated as .25 mg/kg of the cat's IDEAL weight unless kitty is underweight. You said he is 12 lbs....is that his ideal weight? If so, then the starting dose would be roughly 1.36u. I would start him at 1u every 12 hours just to be on the safe side. Does that sound ok with you?

Once you shoot, please get a +2 test and post it. Here is a post I wrote on Testing and Shooting TIps which might also help you.
 
Re: ?????Just need some help...I edited this from 911..thank

I did and I sent you a message back. Please check your private messages by user control panel so I can get the info from you to do the SS :-D

Did you shoot?
 
Re: ?????Just need some help...I edited this from 911..thank

I was helping Beth Anne get the SS set up and she PMd me this info:

Tested @3 hrs post eat...289...1 unit lantas..will retest at 11..see how it goes..what should I see?
Lower # I think?..or hopefully!...

Beth Anne...to respond to your PM:

I thought he was 260 and you were going to shoot 1u? I put 260 on his SS since I thought that was what you were shooting so you can change it if you shot a 289 instead.

We are all on different time zones and so we speak in terms of how many hours since you gave the insulin shot. So if you got a 260, fed him and tested 2 hours later, it would be his +2. When you say you will test at 11, that doesn't mean anything to me because I have no idea when you shot or whether you shot a 260 or 289. :-D :-D time zones :roll: :lol:

Steep learning curve here but you will get it. Generally, we hold the initial dose for 5-7 days so the depot can fill. The long duration insulins generally must fill the depot before you see numbers changing. If you get a number below 50, you need to reduce the dose. If you just post here as you get the numbers, there will generally be someone around to help.

Good job!
 
Re: ?????Just need some help...I edited this from 911..thank

Hi..I was going to shoot at 260 but I didnt..since it was my first test..so..at 9 Pacific time..I tested and it was 289..I am in Las vegas..that's when I gave 1 unit of Lantas...I 28 RE TEST at 11:00 pm...I look for a lower #..I think...I'm sorry if 8 confused..so the 260 was without A shot...9 pm was 289 and 1 unit ..I hope that clears it up...I have to go on My laptop to see SS..I am on mobile checking messages...THANK YOU..got my daughter to test and she is better than me..lol...BA
 
Re: ?????Just need some help...I edited this from 911..thank

Good. So you'll need to update the SS and put "289" where I have 260 and then put "1u" in the "Units" column. Can you also please add any tests you got after that in the correct column?

Also....we suggest you shoot every 12 hours so you shot at 9 am today?
 
Re: ## NEW #'S FINALLY POSTED ##

Hi...I have had low lows today..52..up to 68 just now...should I hold off the shoot..it was 9:30 am when I shot him this morn...or should I give 1 unit..I think it's too low..or getting in the target area..but don't want him to go too low again
 
Hi again. .I am now having my laptop NOT recognized as a device..I can't edit or do any of the things I want to do to my posts..how do I get them to SYNC or be recognized...I CAN...put in my numbers tho.....LOL...I feel so .....?? Ridiculous...it's my techno weeniedom...I'll learn..with your help...
Thank youuu!!
 
Tech tips.

1. When in doubt, reboot.
2. Log out, then log in again to services such as Google Docs or FDMB.
3. Be sure your antivirus software is up to date; do a full scan periodically.
4. Be sure the hardware is functioning well by running any utility programs with your computer (ex defragment hard drives in Windows.)
5. Make sure any software, especially the operating system, is up to date.
 
Those 52 and 68 BG numbers are too low to shoot with the amount of data you have. Hope you skipped the shot again with low numbers like that.

Looks to me like the 2U is too much for Sonny. Think you need to reduce. Even though you did not "officially" earn a reduction because you did not get a number <50, you probably did not test at the actual nadir or lowest point. Sonny probably went lower between +4 and +6 than that 52 at +8.
 
I agree. I think the dose increase was too much and too fast before the lantus had a chance to settle - usually we only increase by 0.25 units and thats after 3-5 days of holding the previous dose.

Do your syringes have half unit markings? I would drop him back to 1.5 or even 1.25 and hold that for a week unless you find he drops under 50, or you are getting pre shots under 200 in which case I would reduce by 0.25 immediately.

And when you get a chance you might want to read this protocol on dosing http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581 - let me know if you have questions


Wendy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top