? 12/04 Seta AMPS 287, +4 311

Ilaria_88

Member Since 2023
Hello!

Is this behavior normal for diabetic cats?
I mean having hypoglycemia numbers then for 2-3 days she has bounces around 300 and then an hypo again. When will she start having more blue and green numbers throughout the day without bouncing?:confused:
This diabetes is putting a strain on me...:arghh:

Happy monday everyone from me and Seta!

IMG_8659.jpg



https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-02-seta-amps-357-4-352-8-5-298.284190/#post-3128777
 

Attachments

  • IMG_8659.jpg
    IMG_8659.jpg
    123.6 KB · Views: 110
Good morning, it looks like Seta is definitely bouncing and she is definitely seeing some Lows on your spreadsheet. It’s normal and Seta is still new to FD. It dues take time to improve their condition so we must be patient.

It’s good you are taking the appropriate reductions when she earns them.
She’s probably still going low from a larger depot with the previous doses, which takes up to 6 cycles to reduce. So please watch her closely. She could drop low from that depot.
Let’s try to get some more expert eyes on Seta to help.
Good job watching your beautiful kitty closely! :bighug::bighug:
@Angela & Cleo @tiffmaxee @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Wendy&Neko
 
It’s draining and frustrating to see the bounces but it’s quite common with fd, especially with newly diagnosed cats. Seta seems to be going down the dosing scale which is great. Are you giving snacks until nadir? The more time you can keep Seta in blue and green the more healing time for the pancreas.
 
Thank you @Staci & Ivy ,I try to do my best:) I will definitely keep an eye on her these days.

@tiffmaxee Yes,I give her 2 main meals and 4 snacks. She eats roughly every 4 hours.

The more time you can keep Seta in blue and green the more healing time for the pancreas.

I'd like Seta to have those good numbers but for now there seems to be no way to keep her there.:(
 
Thank you @Staci & Ivy ,I try to do my best:) I will definitely keep an eye on her these days.

@tiffmaxee Yes,I give her 2 main meals and 4 snacks. She eats roughly every 4 hours.



I'd like Seta to have those good numbers but for now there seems to be no way to keep her there.:(
I understand, you must be patient. It's hard for the parents for sure. I'm in the same situation as you are.
 
When the +1 or +2 is lower than the preshot try a snack at +2 and even again at +3 rather than waiting until +4. Give the same daily amount of food but divide it up. A snack can be just a teaspoon or two. You can also add a tiny amount of mc to keep her surfing. In other words, feed the curve.
 
When the +1 or +2 is lower than the preshot try a snack at +2 and even again at +3 rather than waiting until +4. Give the same daily amount of food but divide it up. A snack can be just a teaspoon or two. You can also add a tiny amount of mc to keep her surfing. In other words, feed the curve.

She snacks every 4 hours because it’s more practical. As much as I love my kitty it’s unbearable for me to take care of her every hour of the day. I’m doing my best but I also have to work, take care of the house, etc.:(:arghh:
 
She snacks every 4 hours because it’s more practical. As much as I love my kitty it’s unbearable for me to take care of her every hour of the day. I’m doing my best but I also have to work, take care of the house, etc.:(:arghh:
Please be patient with your beautiful kitty. It takes time to have their bodies adjust to this condition and the insulin etc.
Perhaps you could get an auto feeder to help set up timers to open so Seta could have the snacks and that could help with your scheduled feedings. :):bighug:
 
Staci took the words out of my mouth. An auto feeder really helps prevent some of the bounces as big drops in bg can cause a bounce just like having lower bg that the cat’s body feels to be normal.
 
Back
Top