12/04 Rhubarb AMPS=266 +2 205 +5.25 112 +10 113 PMPS=180 +2.5 247

majandra

Member Since 2018
Yesterday
I wasn't exactly hoping for a pj party, but I did want to see numbers in the blue at least. Good news is she didn't rise too much!
Working again today, but should be off of the highways. I will try to get some snow photos for those of you who don't get to see it every year :)
 
Not a bad start to the day. Who knows.....maybe Rhubarb snuck a little tiny bit of blue in after you turned in for the night! You know what these kitties are like.....mysterious! :rolleyes:
 
Not a bad start to the day. Who knows.....maybe Rhubarb snuck a little tiny bit of blue in after you turned in for the night! You know what these kitties are like.....mysterious! :rolleyes:

Lol ... yes
I was talking to my FIL the other day and describing everything about Rhubarb and her dx, new care etc. When I said that she surprised me by the untypical strong reaction to the first dose, he laughed and said so she is typical for a cat then ... by being untypical lol
 
Given her previous cycles, we wouldn't expect her to hit green during this cycle would we? I'm not sure how the depot will affect the numbers.
 
She has hit her lows at +6 and +7 on a couple of occasions and she hasn't got far to go to green. It won't be a low green but she could get there. Depot would be full now so who knows...it might help her drop that extra bit.
 
DH will be giving shot tonight- I will have him test 10 min before shot time, and if higher than +10 he can shoot. If same, test in 15 min, decide then shot or no shot? Does that sound right?
 
I'd make sure DH knows not to feed Rhubarb while he waits the 15 or 20 minutes to see if BG is rising on its own. Otherwise my question is whether you are able to monitor through the night if need be. I can't stay up with you tonight as I have an early morning appt. but Wendy and folks on the west coast are usually around to assist if need be. Can you leave DH your sign on and if there is any question about shoot or not, he can post for advice?

ETA We didn't have a PJ party last night but that doesn't mean it couldn't happen tonight.
 
Good for DH on testing and shooting. :)

Either Rhubarb is being really flat (watch out tonight!) or she's doing a Lantus double dip, where they do a second dip down at the end of the cycle, just not as low as the first cip.
 
Looks like I will be staying home. Bah.
So guess I don't have to subject dh to confusing directions
 
Everything is getting so overwhelming.
I can't skip shots all the time or it defeats the purpose of Lantus.

Why does being flat mean I need to watch out more?
 
It just means that her BG hasn't done the usual curve for the day but rather stayed somewhat linear. She dropped some by +3 but from +5 on she has stayed pretty much the same...flat. Sometimes that can happen before an active cycle.
 
Her pmps, 10 on my freestyle lite, but 15 and some on one touch ultra mini (brought out other meter for double check). That one always reads 5 pts higher or so.
 

Attachments

  • 20181204_192317.jpg
    20181204_192317.jpg
    66.5 KB · Views: 55
I used a Freestyle meter and a pet meter and I KNOW the Freestyle reads low at low ranges. Not sure what the difference is around 10 - 14 but I'd guesstimate BG is at least in the 12 range assuming the One Touch could be reading high. There is always that meter variance allowance of 15% to consider too but in any event, safe to shoot.
 
I used a Freestyle meter and a pet meter and I KNOW the Freestyle reads low at low ranges. Not sure what the difference is around 10 - 14 but I'd guesstimate BG is at least in the 12 range assuming the One Touch could be reading high. There is always that meter variance allowance of 15% to consider too but in any event, safe to shoot.

This all seems to me like trying to be exactly ... inexact lol
I would kill for a micro pipette with a needle attachment!

ETA- isn't my One Touch the prettiest shade of purple? :P
 
I'm starting to wonder if the new friskies recipe is higher carb than the original.
What other explanation is there for her higher than ps at +2? She originally was a fast dropper
 
BG is such a dynamic element that if you tested twice a minute apart, you'd probably get a different reading even using lab equipment. It wouldn't be much different unless something substantial happened between tests (walked into vet's office :rolleyes:) but it would likely not be exactly the same. A glucometer is meant to give you a good approximation of what BG is. I like your "trying to be exactly...inexact." That pretty much sums it up. The variance allowed on meters in the US is 20% but here it's 15%. So anytime you take a reading, it could be a bit higher or lower than what you see on the display. For that reason, there is a cushion built into numbers we use to signify some intervention is needed. At higher readings that variance really doesn't matter.

As for the Friskies, I don't know. I seem to recall someone suggesting they wondered if the formula had changed but I haven't found the post. There was a newer Friskies with extra gravy mentioned and it may have more carbs but yours is pate so I don't think that's the same thing. The higher BG after shot could just be that the AM dose wore off and the PM dose hadn't clicked in yet. My girl did that pretty much all the time so I just got used to it. Rhubarb does usually start to drop early but our kitties often change up the game just to make sure we are kept guessing! All you can do is watch to see if this is a consistent finding when feeding that food.
 
One more thing I had thought of- I should be keeping track of where I shoot and if there is any relationship to how fast she drops. Good to know and maybe something to take advantage of.
 
It's an interesting thought. I was told not to use the scruff because it didn't absorb as well or some such nonsense. I say that because I started using the flank and saw absolutely no difference. However others have found where they shoot can alter the effect so I'm inclined to think this is yet another one of those ECID things! Please let us know if you find there is a difference.
 
Back
Top