12/04 Pepper AMPS 349, +4 397, +6 403, PMPS 419

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nancy&Pepper (GA)

Member Since 2012
yesterday

Still having a hard time getting Pepper's numbers down.

I'm really starting to feel like crying when I see these numbers. I ran out of sub-q fluids and just got some more today, but I'm not sure if they're making much difference. Why did he go down to 68 when I raised him to 5 units but I can't get him down again? (He got sub-qs that afternoon, but there were other days when he got sub-qs that he didn't drop much)
 
Re: 12/04 Pepper AMPS 349, +4 397

hi there

Its great that you are giving him fluids, even if it doesnt influence his BG levels, it is helping support his kidneys etc while his numbers are high. In terms of the 68.. it looks like occasionally he does drop down low.. could be intermittent pancreatic action ( a good thing), or maybe he ate less that day, or exercised more.. who knows.

I have been lurking and watching and keeping everything crossed (paws and fingers) that his numbers will come down now that you are treating the UTI. And I do think you are seeing a little more yellows than before. You just had 5 days in a row with some yellow in.. progress.. Might even see yellow today.

But the kibble the other day didnt help his numbers though.. its amazing how little kibble or high carb can make a big difference... Also what kind of pill pockets are you giving him? Some have sugar in them but I think I heard the allergenic ones arent as bad. I only give my guys 1/3 at a time, enough to wrap the pill and keep the rest for later.. which is good too cos they aint cheap.

Maybe you just haven't reached your breakthrough dose yet.
 
Re: 12/04 Pepper AMPS 349, +4 397

Hi Wendy, Thanks for stopping by.
I'm giving him the duck and pea allergy formula that Sienne recommended. I only use just enough to cover the pill, which I cut in half, so he gets two little "treats".
 
Re: 12/04 Pepper AMPS 349, +4 397

I knew there was an allergy formula. Anyway I reckon he just hasnt reached his breakthrough dose yet. Hopefully soon!

Did you ever find another vet? Once he gets to a certain level we start looking at insulin resistance but I dont think he is there yet.
 
Re: 12/04 Pepper AMPS 349, +4 397

Hi Nancy, Try not to get too discouraged about Pepper's numbers. The dry kibble he ate on the same day as his last dosecrease may delay when you see the effect of the extra juice. As his meds relieve his UTI, paws crossed that also helps him get lower numbers. Being a cat, he will do things in his own unknowable Pepper time :cool: , all we can do is get used to patience pants. cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top