12/04 OliverTwist(PMPS-217,+1 173, +2.5 128,+4 97, +5.5 131

Status
Not open for further replies.

ecurie

Member Since 2012
Good morning All
We let Ollie sleep a half hour past his usual test and shoot because he can't have breffis or insulin today. We are off for a 2nd walk, hoping to distract him from being hungry.
Prayers to all of us to have a happy, healthy, calm day
mary and oliver
 
Re: 12/04 OliverTwist AM(12.5)-268

Prayers for a great day for you two, is it dental day? Hope he gets distracted enough to not hear the rumble in his belly, lol. Nice to sleep in a little extra this morning. Have a great day!
 
Re: 12/04 OliverTwist AM(12.5)-268

Good luck today Ollie, hope you and your momma bean have a great day,

Hugs,
Kathie
 
Re: 12/04 OliverTwist AM(12.5)-268

Mary, good luck today. Hope all goes well with the Dental and Oliver doesn't get too upset or too hungry. ((hugs))

Jo
 
Re: 12/04 OliverTwist AM(12.5)-268

Mary, is this Ollie's dental day? By now he must already be at the Vetty. Sending many good dental vines. The hardest part is the morning when we can't feed them, and they don't understand. Keep us posted.
 
Re: 12/04 OliverTwist AM(12.5)-268

Hi Mary. Thank you for taking time from what I'm sure is a very busy and stressful day for you today to visit our condo.

We're thinking of Oliver and his dental procedure today. Have a great day and tell Oliver that PurrFace said Hi.
 
Re: 12/04 OliverTwist Vet Update - GOOD!

yeah!!
Thanks for all the good wishes and prayers!!!
His Dr. just called - he's awake, alert, grumpy, but got petted.
He lost one tooth. They said the gum had grown over it.. i don't understand that but - ok. He's teeth are all shiny and they took off a bump he had on the top of his head.
We can't pick him up until 4pm.. 3 more hours. He's going to be one hungry little bugger by then.
Thank heavens no issues.
xoxo
mary and oliver
 
Re: 12/04 OliverTwist Vet Update - GOOD!

Good Mews! Glad things went well. Ouch on losing the toof! Hopefully he will feel better soon!
 
Re: 12/04 OliverTwist Vet Update - GOOD!

I'm glad to hear about the good news. Sorry about the toofie, but good they got the bump. It sounds like Ollie has FORL feline odontoclastic resorptive lesion. Wow, what a mouthful! Not uncommon.

Give him lots of pats from us when you pick him up. The hard part will be giving him just little bits of food so he doesn't do the scarf and barf. After Neko's dental she was desperate for food - even wanted to snack on the corn based litter. ohmygod_smile I LOVE the new pic of Ollie BTW.
 
Re: 12/04 OliverTwist Vet Update - GOOD! Onsior 6mg?

they gave him 3 days of Onsior (robenacoxib) 6mg. 1 pill/24hrs. His dr. says it's an anti-inflamatory and should help with his soreness from his tooth extraction.
Does anyone have any experience with this? .Are there are any side effects to watch for.?.. is this a good thing for his sore mouth?
He took his first one in a piece of shrimp.

12.5- 297 at home
14.5- 480 at vet

His tooth had 2 holes. one was so bad that the crown of his tooth broke off when they tried to pull it. one root came out easily, the other broke off and had to be drilled out. OWIE.

His eyes are a little droopy looking but all in all heseems ok. used LB and is eating little bits at a time... Thanks Wendy for the heads up on scarf and barf :lol:

Thank you all so very much for keeping ollie in your thoughts and prayers today..
mary and oliver
 
Re: 12/04 OliverTwist Vet Update - GOOD! Onsior 6mg?

Hi Mary, so glad oliver is okay. They do look a little loopy after the anesthesia. :-D I've not heard of the med for the inflammation bit good it will help and only needed for 24 hours. Give Ollie some hugs from Mags and me.
 
Re: 12/04 OliverTwist Vet Update - GOOD! Onsior 6mg?

Hi Mary and tell Oliver welcome home. So glad all went well. Good thing they found the tooth with holes. That could have turned into something real bad.

Have a good night.
 
Re: 12/04 OliverTwist Vet Update - GOOD! Onsior 6mg?

I'm glad everything went well with Ollie's dental. I've not heard of the medicine. I hope he doesn't have any side effects from it.
 
Re: 12/04 OliverTwist Vet Update - GOOD! Onsior 6mg?

Hi Mary, Glad Ollie's dental went well and they removed his bad tooth. I hope the grogginess wears off soon and he feels like himself again cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 12/04 OliverTwist Vet Update - GOOD! Onsior 6mg?

HI Mary, I'm glad Oliver is awake and had to have only one extracton.
My vet discussed Onsior with me about Check's back pain. It was new at the time, but he had high hopes for it.
As you know, there are precious few pain relievers for cats, and to have a safe NSAID would be wonderful.
I'll be interested to see how Ollie reacts to it. I hope he feels good tonight. :smile:
 
Re: 12/04 OliverTwist Vet Update - GOOD! Onsior 6mg?

Onsior is a drug that is recently being prescribed for cats. It is for short term use only, and can be hard on the kidneys, so recent bloodwork is recommended. I've heard it can be hard on the tummy too. Here is a post for more details on Onsior.
 
Re: ?AGAIN12/04 OliverNO insulin today +14-480, PMPS 220 sho

Sorry to have so many questions.

Oliver got no insulin today. He was 268 this morning at 12.5 at the vet at 14.5 he was 480
am 12.5 - no insulin - 268
14.5 (vet) - 480
PMPS - -220

2 hrs. before PMPS he ate almost 3/4 can 9-lives 5%

PMPS - we did not feed... waiting 20 minutes testing again.

Is this the correct thing to do??? shoooooot?
 
Re: 12/04 OliverTwist NO insulin today +14-480, PMPS 220 sho

Did your vet give you any instructions on this? Anesthesia can take down BG. When Neko had her dental, my vet said 1/2 dose for the PM following. I've heard others say full dose.
 
Re: 12/04 OliverTwist NO insulin today +14-480, PMPS 220 sho

our vet said to go ahead and test and give him his entire dose. Waiting to make sure his numbers are going up not down. half a dose might make sense.
 
Re: 12/04 Oliver NO insulin +14-480, PMPS 220 +20 217shooot?

thanks so very much Wendy.
He was either staying the same... tested 20 min apart.. 220 and then 217 or dropping slightly.
We decided to go with what your vet said and shoot a reduced dose. he's at 2.75 and we gave him 1.5

Thanks again and again for helping the nervous nellie.

Today
no insulin am
+12.5 268
+14.5 480
23.8 220
24.2 217 (PMPS)
shot 1.5 instead of 2.75

xoxo
hugs to you
mary and oliver
 
Re: 12/04 Oliver Twist +14.5 -480, PMPS 220 +20 217 dose red

You will still want to keep a close eye on him tonight. What you give is a bit of ECID. When Neko went to CSU for her SRT, she had anesthesia for 4 days in a row, and had full dose (8.5 at the time!) at night and 1/2 dose in the AM. But I also knew she would eat. I've seen some cats after dental be not as willing to eat so that's another thing to consider. It sounds like Oliver has great appy!
 
Re: 12/04 Oliver Twist +14.5-480, 23.8 220, 24.2 217(PMPS)

Thanks again Wendy,
We will test often ... until he starts to go up again...
he is a big eater...and we've allowed it... hence his overweight state.. :sad:
again,,, thanks and big hugs to you and Neko
xoxo
mary and oliver


Today
no insulin am
+12.5 268
+14.5 480
23.8 220
24.2 = PMPS 217
+1 173
+2.5 128

ok, i'm really confused and i'm sure it shows in the confused numbers.
i'm thinking i should be posting his numbers in hours from his last shot which was 6:30 pm last night. I'm sorry in advance.. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 12/04 OliverTwist 23.8-220, 24.2(PMPS)-217,+1 173, +2.5

Hi Mary,

It's very good that the rotten tooth is gone. With all that root drilling I would think that Ollie might be in some pain tonight, so it's good that you have the pain killer/anti inflammatory. Did the vet also give you an antibiotic? I hope that you all will have a comfortable night.

Hugs from us,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/04 OliverTwist 23.8-220, 24.2(PMPS)-217,+1 173, +2.5

Just stopping in to say I'm glad to hear all went well with Ollie's dental today!
 
Re: 12/04 OliverTwist 23.8-220, 24.2(PMPS)-217,+1 173, +2.5

Hello Mary. It sounds like you've had a busy day and have a busy night ahead of you. I've learned a lot from your condo today. I never realized that the anesthesia makes the BG go down. I hope Oliver keeps his appetite and his numbers in the good range for you tonight.

Have a great evening.
 
Re: 12/04 OliverTwist 23.8-220, 24.2(PMPS)-217,+1 173, +2.5

To all of you who stopped by to say hi to Ollie and send him wishes for quick recovery from his little dental -

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Can I send you all hugs?

John and PurrFace :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
Amy and Trixie :YMHUG:
Ella and Rusty - thanks for the heads up on antibiotics.. i'm going to as about those tomorrow am. it sounds like it makes sense to me. :YMHUG:
Barb and Checkers.. no adverse reactions to the Onsior yet.. it's been 6.5hrs. he's just hanging out, purring, a little lethargic, so far no signs of tummy upset.:YMHUG:
Leslie and Jasper :YMHUG:
Carla and Furball :YMHUG:
Ann and Maggie :YMHUG:
Tara and Buster :YMHUG:
Scratchie's mom Jo :YMHUG:
Kathie, Zeus and Smokey :YMHUG:
Michelle and Scrabble :YMHUG:
And Wendy and Neko :YMHUG: :YMHUG: thanks again for the advice and holding my hand

I will get to condos tomorrow, but i wanted to tell you how sweet it is that you stopped by with good wishes. It's so very kind and very much appreciated. ok, gotta go get the cat for a little ear pokey. You put your right ear in, you pull your right ear out.. you put your right ear in and shake it all about... very cute.. from Tara

xoxo
mary and oliver
 
Re: 12/04 OliverTwist(PMPS-217,+1 173, +2.5 128,+4 97, +5.5

Hui Mary - I am sorry I missed dental day. It sounds like all went well - sorry for the extraction.... It is good you are checking him as often as you are - Anesthesia can affect BG, big time. Been there. With Mannie's last one I brought him home to a 50. Thanks goodness he could eat... thank goodness I shot a reduced dose, as it continued through the next cycle, when he wouldn't eat... Good luck! Surf Well Ollie!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top