? 12/04 Boomer AMPS 85,+3 50 +6 74, PMPS 85 question, photo

Judy and Boomer

Member Since 2014
Yesterday
Good morning!
AMPS 85 shooting 1.5u

Boomer seems to be feeling better! He spent the night on the bed with us, at least most of the night. He's discovered how cushy the duvet is (turned down at the end of the bed) and DH leaves his hoodie on it which Boomer really likes. I thought I heard him call me at 4:00; I couldn't see him so I got up and he was in his box in the living room. But eventually he came btb for a cuddle; got down when DH got up to start coffee, but then came back a little bit later. And he jumped right up on the bed instead of using the bench. I also noticed him walking much more comfortably this morning. So at the very least the bupre. has helped his arthritis.

He seemed to eat better yesterday during the day ....I did have a bit of trouble getting him to eat his PM+3. I don't think he ate anything overnight:( Today I'm using his old feeder which has only two compartments but does have room for an ice pack below the trays. The trays are bigger and flatter so he may like them better. Time will tell.

Hopefully I haven't posted this photo before! This is another shot of the Trumpeter Swan that is hanging out at our local pond. It's still there as of yesterday!
 

Attachments

  • Trumpeter Swan 01.jpg
    Trumpeter Swan 01.jpg
    276.3 KB · Views: 81
So we're coming up on 14 cycles at this 1.5u dose. Only a couple of blues....one just barely (101) and one a bit higher at 117. I've been very happy with his levels at this dose; he's green but quite safe and no 40s or 50s where he previously liked to hang out.

Should I reduce after cycle 14? Should I have started the count over when he hit the 117? Should I let him coast a while longer at this dose?

@LizzieInTexas @Wendy&Neko
 
Last edited:
And just as soon as I mention that he hasn't hit the 40s or 50s, +3 is 50:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes: And I had a heck of a time getting him to eat. Tried 5 or 6 foods. He was very suspicious of the new "old" auto feeder but I scooped the food and he still wouldn't eat it, even off of a fork. I finally moved him to a different location and got him to eat something.
 
I'd hold the course a bit longer - just saying what I'd do...I don't care to have to manage those hypo's...

Beautiful swan pic! Will he winter over there? Is that pond going to freeze over?
 
I'd hold the course a bit longer - just saying what I'd do...I don't care to have to manage those hypo's...

Beautiful swan pic! Will he winter over there? Is that pond going to freeze over?
Yup the pond will freeze over; it's almost totally frozen now. Hopefully the swan will move to the river and spend the winter here.
 
Boomer's appy was a bit better yesterday but is really bad today. He ate his AMPS meal ok but it's been a fight to get him to eat since then. The mirtz. was given 2 days ago mid morning but only seems to last a few hours. Could be that his appy is terrible because his BG is lower today. idk

If he starts giving me numbers in the 40s and 50s again I will go ahead with the reducie after 14 cycles on 1.5.
 
I'm sorry Boomer's appy is crappy today....it's so stressful when they won't eat well. I would ask Dr Larry about using Cypro instead of Mirtz for the appy stimulant. You can give Cypro more frequently (I believe up to twice a day), and it may work better for him since it's an ECID thing: some cats do better with Cypro, some do better with Mirtz.

Appy and safe surfing vines!
 
I'm sorry Boomer's appy is crappy today....it's so stressful when they won't eat well. I would ask Dr Larry about using Cypro instead of Mirtz for the appy stimulant. You can give Cypro more frequently (I believe up to twice a day), and it may work better for him since it's an ECID thing: some cats do better with Cypro, some do better with Mirtz.

Appy and safe surfing vines!
Thanks Amy.
 
Judy, I'm in the middle of something else so I can't go into detail but it's always at the top of my profile. Both Noah and now Andy hated oral bupe with a passion. I get the transdermal from a compounding pharmacy in Guelph. It's obscenely expensive.
 
So we're coming up on 14 cycles at this 1.5u dose. Only a couple of blues....one just barely (101) and one a bit higher at 117. I've been very happy with his levels at this dose; he's green but quite safe and no 40s or 50s where he previously liked to hang out.

Should I reduce after cycle 14? Should I have started the count over when he hit the 117? Should I let him coast a while longer at this dose?

@LizzieInTexas @Wendy&Neko
I would reduce the dose after 14 cycles if he stays in green or even if he has a blue below 120. We are looking for normal numbers mostly between 50-90 for a week before reducing. A couple of “stray” blues is not an issue.

You can shave the dose if you prefer. Good luck when you reduce!
 
Back
Top