12/04 Biggie AMPS 89 +3 87 +6 67 +7.5 65 PMPS 85

Jackie and Biggie

Member Since 2022
Yesterday

Happy Sunday!

@Bandit's Mom tomorrow and Tues. I won’t be home during the day at all to test. His numbers have been running higher the last few cycles after having a few cycles of no blue at all a few days before…not sure if he’s actually due for an increase or maybe he’s bouncing? I’m still thinking about not shooting at all in the morning since I won’t be around.
 
@Bandit's Mom tomorrow and Tues. I won’t be home during the day at all to test. His numbers have been running higher the last few cycles after having a few cycles of no blue at all a few days before…not sure if he’s actually due for an increase or maybe he’s bouncing? I’m still thinking about not shooting at all in the morning since I won’t be around.
He is seeing pretty comfortable nadirs on this dose. No reason why you can't shoot the next 2 days. Will there be someone at home to feed him or do you have an autofeeder?

And yes, he could use more juice to get rid of those blues but it can wait till Wednesday.
 
He is seeing pretty comfortable nadirs on this dose. No reason why you can't shoot the next 2 days. Will there be someone at home to feed him or do you have an autofeeder?

And yes, he could use more juice to get rid of those blues but it can wait till Wednesday.
Thanks, @Bandit's Mom. I don’t have an auto feeder yet. I should get one…He’s not that picky about eating leftover food though if he is hungry so I was just planning on leaving out a can for him. I might go skinny on his dose because I am a worrier.

He is going for a dental a week from Friday so hoping that will help. He just needs a cleaning and not expected to need extractions but he definitely has some inflammation in his mouth.

Btw, they want to give antibiotics for his dental. He doesn’t do well with clindamyacin (bad diarrhea) and I think clavamox also messes with his stomach. Do you know what other good antibiotics there are for dentals? If they just give an short acting injection the day of the dental I think that might be enough since they are cleaning out the cause of the inflammation. They want to give convenia and I’m not sure I’m on board with that. I guess since he’s diabetic and on budesonide and older they want to be safe and give something. But do you think he needs antibiotics if all they do is a cleaning?
 
Just speaking from experience getting 4 cats dentals every couple of years, two of which need extractions every single time: they have never gotten prophylactic antibiotics, and only twice did the same cat need them post-extraction for an infection. If it were me, I would refuse pre-dental antibiotics and ask that they send you home with a bottle of clavamox just in case IF they do an extraction. If all they do is clean, they are supposed to manage the debris during the procedure so it doesn’t end up in his system. The risk of infection from just a cleaning is extremely low, from my research into best practices. A bit of fun reading with documented references.
 
Just speaking from experience getting 4 cats dentals every couple of years, two of which need extractions every single time: they have never gotten prophylactic antibiotics, and only twice did the same cat need them post-extraction for an infection. If it were me, I would refuse pre-dental antibiotics and ask that they send you home with a bottle of clavamox just in case IF they do an extraction. If all they do is clean, they are supposed to manage the debris during the procedure so it doesn’t end up in his system. The risk of infection from just a cleaning is extremely low, from my research into best practices. A bit of fun reading with documented references.
Thanks for the article! It validates a lot of what I’ve been reading. She just said they want to do convenia the day of, and no pre-procedure antibiotics. I think she might consider his diabetes an EMC (existing medical condition) and the fact that he is on budesonide so his immune system might be a little less robust, and he’s older. I think she’d be open to reading this article and info so I’ll send it and see what she thinks. I think that’s a good idea though as far as just saying I’d take some antibiotics home if he has an extraction. I wonder if any other antibiotics he can try though b/c I think Clavamox wreaked havoc on his stomach (though I don’t think it was as bad as clinda).
 
You could also choose to wait and if he shows signs of infection, do a convenia shot. I’m not a fan of convenia because it’s long acting, and once it’s in the cat there’s nothing you can do to get it out, so if a cat has a bad reaction to it you can’t do much about it. That being said, if oral antibiotics mess him up, it could be a better option. It’s a matter of weighing pros and cons. Has he had convenia before?
 
You could also choose to wait and if he shows signs of infection, do a convenia shot. I’m not a fan of convenia because it’s long acting, and once it’s in the cat there’s nothing you can do to get it out, so if a cat has a bad reaction to it you can’t do much about it. That being said, if oral antibiotics mess him up, it could be a better option. It’s a matter of weighing pros and cons. Has he had convenia before?
That’s a good idea too. Yeah, He has had convenia before and did fine so I guess that is an option if he needs it. I don’t think it caused tummy issues for him.
 
Last edited:
@Bandit's Mom Now he is showing us what he’s really got- mid-60’s at +6 and +7.5

It just occurred to me that I didn’t plan properly and then overslept today, too…:blackeye:
so, I will have to skip tomorrow’s AM dose since I will be at work 1.5 hours prior to his normal shot time. Also, not sure how I feel about him dipping into the 60’s potentially when I’m not home…:eek:
 
Last edited:
Back
Top