12/04/14 Booger's First Hypo +3 36 +3.75 185

Status
Not open for further replies.

MartinJA527

Member Since 2014
Booger took a nose dive tonight at plus 3. She dropped a whopping 242 points down to 36! This was her (and my) first experience with Karo and thankfully she willfully scarfed it down. She was acting a bit differently this time.. she didn't want to be handled and it tipped me off to something being wrong. I'm just thankful she was able to eat.. She's better now but I'm on guard for any more drops as her insulin hasn't hit peak yet.. *sigh... she really doesn't like this dose.. this is the second time trying it and failing it..
 
Re: 12/04/14 Booger's First Hypo +3 36

Did you retest when you got that 36? That's the first thing you want to do anytime you get a test that seems out of the ordinary.

Have you retested since you gave her high carbs?
 
Re: 12/04/14 Booger's First Hypo +3 36

ah, i just saw the comments where you've retested after the 36.

It would be good to add those to your subject line, please, so people don't think you're in an immediate crisis right now.

It looks like she's up to 138 now. good.

fyi - if a cat has had a symptomatic hypo, which it sounds like what you think happened, the cat can be more sensitive to insulin afterwards. You'll want to monitor carefully after you shoot her in the morning.
 
Re: 12/04/14 Booger's First Hypo +3 36

Since she was acting differently I didn't immediately retest.. but I retested at +.25 (84) and +.5 (138). Now at +3.75 she's 185. I haven't fed her since the +3 feeding.
 
the 1.5oz of HC was probably enough that you didn't need to give more.

I'm just glad she's ok now. that must've been very scary. :YMHUG: Punkin hit the 30's early on after I registered here - people walked me through it. He didn't show any symptoms, though, and he was fine. It's a bit nerve-wracking, though.
 
Yes! It was very scary! I saw the number and dropped the meter. I won't say she was acting aggressively but she wasn't herself at all. I really didn't know what to feed her (in terms of amounts) so I hope I didn't over-correct... but like you said.. I'm just glad she's better now. So I'll decrease her insulin again tomorrow.. and you say she may have insulin sensitivity anyway.. so how long does that typically last if it happens.. she's a bouncy kitty too.. so I'm anticipating that at some point in time.
 
i'm not certain - i *think* it doesn't go away, but perhaps someone else knows more about it than me. And it may or may not have been significant enough to cause that extra sensitivity.

Fortunately, you're good at testing and you'll be able to monitor and keep her safe.

I see the bounce has begun. :shock:
 
Ok, thanks. I'll do some digging and see what I can find on the topic of it. Yes, thankfully I only have a meeting scheduled from 8-12 tomorrow and it's something that can be rescheduled. So I'll stay home with her to make sure she's going to be ok. Yes, it has begun. Hopefully she won't skyrocket now!
 
I'm sure that was very frightening. How cats respond to those low numbers depends on the cat. My Gracie has been down in the 30s more times than I care to remember but, thankfully, she's never had any symptoms and we've gotten her up right away. i've never noticed any insulin sensitivity in response to those low numbers and without symptoms, I can't say it was a hypo.

However, symptomatic hypos should be taken very seriously even if the symptom is just aggression. I don't know how long the insulin sensitivity can last but it's smart to reduce her dose and watch her closely. also, I strongly urge you to start getting a +2 test every single cycle that you can. If she's going to have a super active cycle like tonight, she will be down alot from PS by +2 and you can start the carbs to slow her down.
 
Yes, it was scary but thankfully she responded very quickly as well. I'm still skimming the boards for an idea of what to expect tomorrow but as always I know ECID so I guess it's best just to be on guard.. and accept that I'm not going to get a definite answer as for what tomorrow holds.

This is not the first time she has decided to take a long jump of a high dive.. I am definitely upping the testing times.. I had cut her back due to the high numbers and the fact that I thought I may be over-testing her.. but I see she likes to catch me off guard so back to increased testing we go.

So.. the game plan for tomorrow is cancel my meeting.. decrease her dose and monitor her closely. I have everything I need on hand ICE and luckily it's not the weekend yet... so the vet will be open if needed as well.

Thanks Ladies for your help and moral support.
 
How thought of Booger to keep you on your toes tonight...lol...he probably thought you might be bored, so he wanted to make sure you had something to do.

Skooter has only dropped into the 30s twice and he showed no symptoms that I could see. I about dropped my meter when I got those readings as well. I am really good at remembering to retest if the number is too high (mainly bc it irks me when he goes what I consider to be high and I want to prove him wrong lol)....the low ones I always forget to retest. I think mainly because I assume ECID and his cycle is just taking that turn. I mean, what would the fun be if they were predictable with their cycles? :lol:

I am glad that he seems to be doing better....I will be curious to see what kind of bounce happens from not only hitting the 30s but also with how quickly he dropped. Sounds like you did everything right though when you caught the 6, so that is great!

Hopefully Booger is a good boy tomorrow :smile:
 
Lol. Yes I am certain it was either that or her demanding more attention :lol: . Ahhh, I am thankful I can joke about it now... but I was terrified..

She has been at this dose before.. and it didn't take her long to drop below 50 with it the first time.. so I really don't think it was a wonky number at all.. but the real reason I don't believe it was is the difference in her demeanor.

You're absolutely right about them being unpredictable.. and even though I know that she's a bouncy kitty.. even THAT doesn't give me comfort about what she's going to do.. because that's not even a consistent thing with her.. she usually bounces in the mid-high 200's (like where she is right now) or the occasional low 300's.. but the length of time of the bounce and clearing is totally unpredictable from 1-2 cycles to 3-6.. so who knows what she'll do.

Thank you for the kind words of encouragement! I was very fortunate for her to react to the food/syrup I fed so quickly..
 
Max did that to me once and I was really scared as well. He wa growling and I didn't think I was going to be able to test him for fear he would bite me. I had gotten him into the bathroom sink where I test and I would have been okay without the test but didn't know how I was going to get him down to the ground. I did somehow and he did eat and came up with the food. I don't want a repeat of that either. I hope it is your first and last as well.
 
Ugh.. that's a scary thing when they act so differently.. but I guess that's how they communicate that something isn't right. I hope it's our last time as well. She caught me off guard tonight.. and she's bounced back up to 300 now.. :sad: .. I really don't like that getting ready to go into pre-shot.. as she likes to take those super straight down dives.. but I just called and cancelled my meeting, have plenty of strips and am ready for lots of testing today..
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top