12/03, SAM, AMPS 72, +3.5 67 ,+6 81, PMPS 157, +2 85, +3 67, +7.5 51, +8 101

chuckstables

Member Since 2022
Hey folks,

So sam was at a 72 this morning. I fed him, tested him, and he was back up to a 92. I reduced the dose as per the SLGS protocol to 2.5 units. I just tested him again at +3.5 and he was at a 66. Not sure what to do at this point. He has eaten today as well. Kinda freaking out here.
 
Hey folks,

So sam was at a 72 this morning. I fed him, tested him, and he was back up to a 92. I reduced the dose as per the SLGS protocol to 2.5 units. I just tested him again at +3.5 and he was at a 66. Not sure what to do at this point. He has eaten today as well. Kinda freaking out here.
You have replys on your last post. He's in safe numbers but you might want to feed a tsp of food. You actually increased his dose from 2 units to 2.75 then down to 2.5. I'm not allowed to give dosing advise but he earned another reduction with that 72. I have a 911 up too, there's no experienced members on good luck.
 
Hey folks,

So sam was at a 72 this morning. I fed him, tested him, and he was back up to a 92. I reduced the dose as per the SLGS protocol to 2.5 units. I just tested him again at +3.5 and he was at a 66. Not sure what to do at this point. He has eaten today as well. Kinda freaking out here.
Hi there, just checking in on you as I don’t see a response yet. I am not an expert, so dont want to advise much, but those are still safe numbers on a human meter. If it were me, I would keep feeding him his regular snacks and keep checking BG . If really worried or still dropping you could give some medium carb.
In meantime until an expert chimes in re dosing etc, here is the sticky for handling low numbers (under 50) as a refresher. https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dont-panic-or-how-to-handle-low-numbers.210109/
 
He’s perked up since i fed him, so thats good.
I would continue to test to make sure he's coming back up.

My boy got a hold of some advil last night & it's deadly, he's been puking which he needs to to get the advil out of his system. We skipped insulin tonight because if he keeps puking there's nothing for the insulin to work with.
 
He’s perked up since i fed him, so thats good.
I’m glad he’s a more stable but please stay on top of his BG and post here if you need help.

Here is the “duplicate” post from Health but which has more info. I’m also taking the 911 down since there is no current emergency but if he drops low again and you need help, please put it back up.

Remember that the high carb dry food takes longer to affect the BG and stay in the system longer so it is not the best option. I would suggest you get a high carb wet food or a lower carb one and add syrup when he’s low.

IMHO, I think Sam still has too much insulin so I agree with Sienne that you can try 2.5u but I wouldn’t be surprised if you’ll have to drop him back to 2.25u soon.
 
Yesterday I suggested 2.75 units based on yesterday's 90. With SLGS, you reduce the dose by 0.25 units immediately, whenever you get an under 90. Reducing to 2.5 units was earned this morning. However, SLGS also suggests not shooting if they are under 90. Here's that link to yesterday's post for Sam. It turns out today is a great day for a curve.

I also agree with Marje that 2.5 units will likely be too much insulin. I had actually disagreed previously with the vet's suggestion to increase to 3 units from 2 units.
 
Yesterday I suggested 2.75 units based on yesterday's 90. With SLGS, you reduce the dose by 0.25 units immediately, whenever you get an under 90. Reducing to 2.5 units was earned this morning. However, SLGS also suggests not shooting if they are under 90. Here's that link to yesterday's post for Sam. It turns out today is a great day for a curve.

I also agree with Marje that 2.5 units will likely be too much insulin. I had actually disagreed previously with the vet's suggestion to increase to 3 units from 2 units.

Yeah, fair enough. It's 5pm over here right now; I can keep testing him if need be every couple of hours. Should probably do another one shortly here. I can do a full blood glucose curve tomorrow. I remember you disagreeing actually. The high carb wet food didn't work; he won't eat it unless it's a pate. He doesn't seem to know what to do with the skillets.
 
To get high carb food, you can add a drop of corn syrup or honey to his regular low carb wet food.

The fact that Sam barely bounced at all from the 90 yesterday, means that he's used to lower numbers, more than we knew he was seeing. Cats bounce when they see lower numbers than they are used to. Clearly he's been seeing more normal numbers under 100 so his body isn't freaking out as much from them.
 
Just tested again; he is now at 81. I have given him a decent amount of the dry food, cooked chicken breast (probably 1/4 of one breast, i had 3 in the pack and they're 0.6 kg's, so 0.2 kg's each, he had maybe 1/4 of one, so 50 grams of chicken), and at this point close to a full can of friskies wet food today.

I decided to post here because it's probably the better section than the health forum.
 
To get high carb food, you can add a drop of corn syrup or honey to his regular low carb wet food.

The fact that Sam barely bounced at all from the 90 yesterday, means that he's used to lower numbers, more than we knew he was seeing. Cats bounce when they see lower numbers than they are used to. Clearly he's been seeing more normal numbers under 100 so his body isn't freaking out as much from them.

Just musing here, but the first test I did on him might've been so high because of a bounce from the night before? It was over 300. Then you see it gradually go down throughout the day/next day. Then he was at a 90, and I gave him a lesser dose plus a very VERY large amount of dry food. By the time I went to bed yesterday he had started to drop, and the reason he didn't bounce is because he didn't go too low during the night?
 
Good to see he's come up some. Although that could have been due to the dry food.
Just musing here, but the first test I did on him might've been so high because of a bounce from the night before?
That's quite possible.
By the time I went to bed yesterday he had started to drop, and the reason he didn't bounce is because he didn't go too low during the night?
Or he's used to low numbers at a certain level and his body didn't freak out and bounce from it. The higher number you saw earlier might have been from an even lower numbers. Unfortunately, cats can't talk and without test data, we really are just guessing what happened. But the past is the past. Now you are testing and finding out he's going lower and appropriately lowering the dose to a safer one.
 
Good to see he's come up some. Although that could have been due to the dry food.

That's quite possible.

Or he's used to low numbers at a certain level and his body didn't freak out and bounce from it. The higher number you saw earlier might have been from an even lower numbers. Unfortunately, cats can't talk and without test data, we really are just guessing what happened. But the past is the past. Now you are testing and finding out he's going lower and appropriately lowering the dose to a safer one.


Good. Thanks for your help. Should i keep testing every 2 hours until his next shot? Gave it late this morning.
 
I'd test again 2 hours after the last test. If he's about the same or up from the previous test, you can stop testing until PMPS time. Your PM shot would be 12 hours after the morning shot. Though you can move shot times up 1/2 hour one time per day, or 15 minutes each shot time.
 
The high carb wet food didn't work; he won't eat it unless it's a pate. He doesn't seem to know what to do with the skillets.
Maybe get these and you can put them in a blender with a little water and make it into a pate

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Or any on the food chart. Doesn't have to be Fancy Feast just an example about the med and high carb foods, Friskies should have some too since you are feeding Friskies


https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

Between 11% and 17% is medium carbs.

18% and over is high carb.
 
So i couldnt get a test in before now; he’s at 157. Much better; will shoot 2.5 units now. He had his shot at 11:45 am; it’s 11:30pm now. To confirm; tmrw morning i can shoot at 11:15am, then 11pm, then 10:45 am, etc etc until i teach 7:00am (so i can get a +2 on in office work days)?
 
Maybe get these and you can put them in a blender with a little water and make it into a pate

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Or any on the food chart. Doesn't have to be Fancy Feast just an example about the med and high carb foods, Friskies should have some too since you are feeding Friskies


https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

Between 11% and 17% is medium carbs.

18% and over is high carb.


Thanks, I'll have to look on amazon for some because there's none in my local walmart or Bosleys (not that I'd go there; their prices are at least 50% higher than any other store). Could I always just drop some corn syrup into his friskies to turn it into a high carb food? I'm struggling with finances right now to be honest.

Of course if the answer is no I want to hear it; I'll buy him a few cans if I have to go and order it from amazon. I just need to be cost aware currently because this has pushed me from being afloat to reaching into my savings. If this continues (it won't; I've cut back on other areas like entertainment and discretionary spending, eating out, alcohol, etc) I'm going to run out of savings.
 
Other places you can get the Fancy Feast locally are Petsmart, Canadian Tire, Safeway, Superstore, Save on Foods. Another option is almost all of the First Mate products are high carb pates. I suggest them because they are locally made in the Fraser Valley. Adding that corn syrup or honey will also work to make food high carb.

Yes, you can shoot tomorrow AM at 11:15, then 11:00PM etc.
 
So he just tested 4.7 mmols, so 85 mg. That’s +2 post shot. I’m tempted to do a 2 cycle curve; i need to figure out WTH is going on.

I only started majority wet (2/3rds at least 2 weeks ago). Might that be why he’s testing so low? At this rate I'm gonna have to order more test strips now, I only have 90 left.
 
Last edited:
Other places you can get the Fancy Feast locally are Petsmart, Canadian Tire, Safeway, Superstore, Save on Foods. Another option is almost all of the First Mate products are high carb pates. I suggest them because they are locally made in the Fraser Valley. Adding that corn syrup or honey will also work to make food high carb.

Yes, you can shoot tomorrow AM at 11:15, then 11:00PM etc.


First mate? I’ll take a look. I live in Surrey, BC, so that’s great! Just scared. I can’t lose sam; it’d kill me right now. Already lost theo.
 
Just did a test +3, he's now down to a 67 again. What the F is going on????? Didn't give any food; he seems fine right now, will test again at +4. Gonna stay up for 24 hours if I have to save him.
 
Honestly I forget; I gave him some dry food and wet food.

I just fed him again as I resteted and he was at a 2.8, so 50.4. Kind of an emergency now; can someone please help?
 
Feed a little of his usual low carb food and test in 30 mins? This late in the cycle he might not need carbs to bring his numbers up.
 
K, I gave him some wet food with a few drops of corn syrup (he had maybe half; he's not a big wet food fan right now) and some temptations treats. Will retest in about 30 minutes. He's perfectly alert/awake.
 
No experience with Lantus, but just wanting to check in and see how Sam is doing. How is his behavior? Is he alert? He might feel sluggish if he's not used to having his numbers in this range.
 
Back up to 100.8, pretty sure he's fine now. What dose should he be on now? 2.25? Still got till 11:15 am before I give him his shot. He really didn't like the last test, I think I'll just monitor and test again in an hour to make sure he's still okay.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top