? 12/03 Baby G AMPS 404 PMPS 353 Food Failure

babyg

Member Since 2019
Previous

Hi, guys, could use some help, please. :arghh:

So we were halfway transitioned to wet food and were doing really well. I thought we would finally make it and was super happy for her. She was starting to lose a little weight, her insulin needs were reducing, and her glucose numbers were more stable.

Then I think the Friskie's liver and chicken pate went against her because twice when she got that flavor, she seemed to get digestive upset but was fine with the other flavors. Since then, she started giving me issues with eating the wet food and briefly didn't even want to eat her dry food. Got real super gassy. As much as I didn't want to give her more dry food, when she did eventually start feeling better and eating more, that was what she wanted (of course). Now her glucose is skyrocketing and I feel like everything we worked hard for was all for nought. It's so discouraging.

I guess what I'm wondering your guys' opinions on is 1) do you think some cats are just a lost cause when it comes to getting off the dry? We've tried so many times and we always end up at this point where she starts refusing canned. I don't want to give up easily but I also can't have her not eating. I've even tried giving her other textures, even though they're higher in carbs, like shredded or filets, etc. And 2) I need to get the BGs back under control. My thought was to increase her by .25 units every 3 days until I start seeing some blues, but with how high she is, I wonder if I should go straight to a higher dose?

I'm just so burnt out. :(
 
What flavours of the Friskies were working for her? I see the liver and chicken pate has fish in it. :banghead: Which is a common allergen for cats. The DM only has poultry by products (and soy?) for protein. Maybe give her a break, then try wet foods that only have poultry (chicken, turkey) for proteins.

Do you think she'd eat a different dry food, maybe the Dr. Elsey's which is lower carb? Or have you tried all the tips in this post: Transitioning your cat from dry to wet food
 
Why do you have such a high reduction point? Even with SLGS it’s 90. Before you start increasing so fast while feeding dry food I would try following SLGS. With so much jumping around it’s hard to regulate. I wonder if she has IBD and that’s why the stomach upset.
 
What flavours of the Friskies were working for her? I see the liver and chicken pate has fish in it. :banghead: Which is a common allergen for cats. The DM only has poultry by products (and soy?) for protein. Maybe give her a break, then try wet foods that only have poultry (chicken, turkey) for proteins.

Do you think she'd eat a different dry food, maybe the Dr. Elsey's which is lower carb? Or have you tried all the tips in this post: Transitioning your cat from dry to wet food

Unfortunately I think all the Friskies pates have fish in them, if I'm remembering right. She seemed to really like the mixed grill so I was mostly giving her that one and sometimes the turkey or poultry. We did try the Dr. Elsey's dry once and that was a disaster. Flared up the pancreatitis. Vet said it was the food. She has always had a sensitive stomach ever since she was a baby. With the DM dry, at least she eats pretty consistently, save for an odd day once in a blue moon. The only reason I tried this wet food transition again was because I was trying to help her lose weight and the DM dry is not satiating enough. I know I've seen that article before on here but I'll take another look in case I've missed something.
 
Back
Top