? 12/02 Maggie PMPS 352, +2 235, +4 103, +5 94, +6 92

hellen_maggie

Member Since 2025
? - 10/02 Maggie AMPS 349, +2,45 168, +4 119, +5,5 98 / 6th day on Lantus, Huge Drop

Hi everyone,
i really need some guidance with Maggie΄s numbers. For the second night in a row, we are seeing a massive and very fast dive.
Tonight: PMPS 321, +2 235, +4 103, +5 94, +6 92
Last night: PMPS 389, +2 110

I ΄ve been steering with her regular dry food ((we are in a very slow transition to low carb food) to stop the dive, but the numbers are a roller coaster. I really don t know how to handle these drops. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
 
Last edited:
Looks like she's not getting into dangerous numbers, at least. My best guess is that her depot filled, and her body started really working the dose - but it "scared" her liver, and she bounced. The fact that it keeps happening, though, I'm less sure about ... parceling out small amounts of food at intervals is generally the recommended method, but it sounds like you're doing that already. Hopefully someone with more experience will be of more help: @Wendy&Neko @Christie & Maverick @tiffmaxee @Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
Looks like she's not getting into dangerous numbers, at least. My best guess is that her depot filled, and her body started really working the dose - but it "scared" her liver, and she bounced. The fact that it keeps happening, though, I'm less sure about ... parceling out small amounts of food at intervals is generally the recommended method, but it sounds like you're doing that already. Hopefully someone with more experience will be of more help: @Wendy&Neko @Christie & Maverick @tiffmaxee @Sienne and Gabby (GA)
Hi Allie,
Thank you so much! You’re right, it seems like at least for today she isn’t dropping into dangerous numbers. Still, it’s really scary thinking about what this could mean going forward.

I’m wondering whether I should reduce the dose slightly to try to prevent these sudden drops. On the other hand, her preshot numbers are still staying high, so I’m not sure how that would affect things. According to the protocol, a reduction isn’t technically earned yet since we haven’t gone below 90, although we’ve come very close...

I’m just not sure what the best next step would be.
 
Some cats are more bouncy than others. The longer they spend time in more normal bg the less they bounce. It looks like now the nadir is at +5. Try a snack at +4.
 
Some cats are more bouncy than others. The longer they spend time in more normal bg the less they bounce. It looks like now the nadir is at +5. Try a snack at +4.
Thank you so much for your input.

If I understand correctly, could the large drops be related to bouncing? I thought that when a cat bounces, it mainly affects the numbers upward, not causing the big drops themselves..I just want to make sure I’m understanding this properly.

Just tested at +6 and she’s at 92. Do you think I should change anything with the dose, or continue with 1 unit for now? Should I test her again, or is it safe for us to go to sleep?
 
When the bg is lower than usual it leads to a bounce and the bg goes up. It bounces up from the lower bg. As the lower bg feels normal to the cat you will see less bouncing.
. It looks like you are starting to see progress on 1 unit the last few days so I would not increase right now. I’d feed a spoon of lc now so a reduction is not earned.
 
Last edited:
I wouldn't change the dose yet. It's good for her body to get used to these normal numbers and will help reduce the bouncing.

How late in the cycle are you typically feeding her? Is there still dry food or any other food around that she can much on after +6? If so, that can cause loss of duration (insulin wears off faster) resulting in higher preshots, and often big drops the following cycle when the insulin takes effect (onset).

Rather than giving her dry food at +1.5, try some medium carb wet food. Dry food can take longer to metabolize and may not be doing the job to slow down those drops. And you can also dry moving that meal to +1 to see if that works better.
 
I wouldn't change the dose yet. It's good for her body to get used to these normal numbers and will help reduce the bouncing.

How late in the cycle are you typically feeding her? Is there still dry food or any other food around that she can much on after +6? If so, that can cause loss of duration (insulin wears off faster) resulting in higher preshots, and often big drops the following cycle when the insulin takes effect (onset).

Rather than giving her dry food at +1.5, try some medium carb wet food. Dry food can take longer to metabolize and may not be doing the job to slow down those drops. And you can also dry moving that meal to +1 to see if that works better.
Maggie doesn’t eat anything after +6. Starting from today, I moved her meals to +1, +2, +3, and +4.5 to see if that might help. Unfortunately, her PMPS was very high again (381). I’m wondering whether this is a bounce or these high numbers are actually her true values, since her preshots are high even when she hasn’t had steep drops… 😔
 
She's definitely bouncing today. But that's because last night she had a nice run of low blues and greens. That's progress.
 
She's definitely bouncing today. But that's because last night she had a nice run of low blues and greens. That's progress.
Wendy, your message came at exactly the right moment! I was feeling really discouraged. Honestly, thank you so much for that. I had been very disappointed with her nighttime readings, and your words really helped me see things more positively. Let’s hope she continues with better numbers ❤️
 
Back
Top