11th July - Karre AMPS 4.7 / 85 (Lowest Pre-Shot So Far)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Good Morning, LL!

Karre's 10th July Condo

Karre's giving us beautiful green numbers. Yesterday's AM- and PM-cycles were all green. Fingers crossed that the trend continues!
Here's this morning's set of BGs:

AMPS 4.7/85
(+1) 4.3/77
(+2) 4.4/79
(+3) 4.1/74 (Lowest BG since relapse.)

Karre's sticking to his history of early onset and early nadir. We love consistency!

OT Question: There's a newbie on Facebook's FDMB whose kitty (Frostbite) was diagnosed just over a month ago. Frostbite ("Frosti") is a petite little girl (2.8kg). Her BGs were in the 20s/300s-400s. Starting dose was 4.5u caninsulin, which was then reduced to 2.5u by vet's recommendation. Frosti is fed wet at shot-stime but has access to dry during the day. Home-testing was not done, and a fructosamine test was planned to be done by the vet, but the newbie has now bought a meter (Accu-Chek Active) and is willing to start testing. She is also willing to try phasing out the dry food. She lives in South Africa too, though not close to me, alas, or I'd have helped learning to test - but she's on the opposite end of the country. She's been advised to keep reading here on the board and to please consider joining and posting, which I hope she will still do. She's been given lots of pointers (towards Dr. Lisa's site, of course, and the stickies here, and so on) and is doing well informing herself so far. I really hope she's going to come around to posting here herself.

Unfortunately, Frosti has now (this morning) been diagnosed with DKA, so she's in the clinic for treatment. The newbie would like to have some advice on what the vet should be focusing on right now in terms of tests and treament.

Whatever feedback you guys have, I'll relay to her. I'll keep encouraging her to post here herself also, starting on the Health Forum of course.

Thanks, and happy cycling!
Jane
 
Congratulations on the lowest numbers so far, Karre and Jane :-D Keep on keeping on.

As far as Frostbite in the hospital with DKA, I have seen vets not address inappetance quickly enough. If Frostie isn't eating in the hospital, then they should make sure she gets food. J.D. was hospitalized with DKA when first dx and came home with a feeding tube, because he refused to eat anything while in the hospital. She does not want Frostie to develop Fatty Liver Disease, too.

Hope you guys have a great day! It's nice to have someone else on in the early mornings with me :)
 
Morning Jane!
thanks for your input last night....
so what are you going todo with yor shooting today?
are you going to shoot?
 
Hi Jane! Lovely green for Karre!
As for DKA, Ive no experience on it. You can put down your question on the topic line for more attention.
 
Good point about the hepatic lipidosis, Dyana - thanks for that, I'm going to let the newbie know straight away! Yes, it's nice to have co-posters in the morning :-)

Denise, you're very welcome. In and out of your current condo too :-) Yes, we shot Karre's AMPS. But we've been through even lower pre-shots when he was first treated three and a half years ago and on his way to OTJ, so we're not too frazzled by low numbers. Back to see if you've update your condo!

Jane
 
Karre is rocking the juice :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Prior to receiving any treatment (thanks to a useless vet who told me Vyktor would die of old age before the diabetes got him) Vyktor went DKA and was hospitalised and put on Caninsulin. Thankfully I had found the board and was into the home testing so the (new) vet couldn't argue with me when I showed him that the caninsulin was not working well. I expect Frosti's beans will find the same. They are so lucky to have you advising and I'm sure you'll be telling them the same thing I am - start on the home testing immediately she comes home, get lantus or levemir instead of caninsulin, get off the dry food and sign up to the board for dosing (and any other) advice. Also get some ketostix so they can keep an eye on whether more ketones are developing. Hope she comes home soon.
 
Yes indeed, Serryn - all those point you make get a "check"! I hope she keeps responding so well to the advice given to her so far. I know that the Facebook FDMB-group isn't a bad place to start at all, but I know how easily a newbie there may get fixated on just one or two advice-givers, and especially in the beginning I feel it's so important to have lots of eyes on the situation, especially in a multiple-cat household with dry-food complicating matters further...

She's emailed me a while ago, and in response I will suggest to her that I just go ahead and open a condo for her on Health, and encourage her to register so that she can just check in once a day - I get the impression that she's fairly busy work-wise so she may not be able to do much more, but I've stressed to her that once a day is great and a wonderful chance for the folks here to get their feddback out to her in a daily condo.

I'm not so great with the technical stuff like setting up a new SS, but I know there lots of info here for newbies struggling with that, and I'm happy to help her look around for Tech help. Let's hope she agress to a daily condo on Health for starters. Then - next step, food and insulin optimisation :-)

I'll report back on her once I've had a response to my suggestion of opening her first Health-condo.
Jane
 
Hi and good morning! (I guess it's not morning for you. :)) Lovely numbers from Karre; he's making steady progress. Fingers crossed for Frostie - sounds like some vet mistakes were made, which is still all too common. For one thing that starting dose sounds way too high, assuming Caninsulin is dosed somewhat similar to Lantus. I hope her bean will come here for some more solid advice. Who knows, maybe she can educate her vet.
 
Camille and Cyclone said:
Hi and good morning! (I guess it's not morning for you. :)) Lovely numbers from Karre; he's making steady progress. Fingers crossed for Frostie - sounds like some vet mistakes were made, which is still all too common. For one thing that starting dose sounds way too high, assuming Caninsulin is dosed somewhat similar to Lantus. I hope her bean will come here for some more solid advice. Who knows, maybe she can educate her vet.

Thanks, Camille! Yes, Karre is doing beautifully, we're thrilled and grateful!

And yes, I'm not too heppy with the sound of this vet... Another one of those who talks about "diabetic dry food" and whatnot. I've emailed the newbie at length, given links to Janet and Binky's charts, catinfo.org, and so on. I've offered to help with consolidating background info to set up a profile, and offered to start up her first condo on Health. The email went out an hour ago, so I hope I hear back later or tomorrow. If she agrees to come over here, which I hope she does, I'm sure she'll be able to make good progress. She's very willing. She wants to home-test. She's willing to look into making raw food even though she's a vegetarian. She's willing to offer info to her vet about what she's doing in spite of what the vet has been saying. All good things. This cat (and her bean) have a really good shot. I hope they come here. I'm doing what I can. :-)
 
Hi guys .. yay for another all green cycle! This morning's amps looks so sweet! No DKA advice from me, but I will definitely send get well thoughts frosti's way .. have a great day!
 
(+6) 4.5/81
(+10) 5.2/94
(+11) 5.6/101
PMPS 6.0/108

Darn. *Just* over the green border. Jack thinks he may have inadvertently *slightly* skinnied the dose this morning, which may be the reason we're not seeing definite green right now. Darn darn darn.

Ah well. Patience is a virtue, so they say. :-)

Jane
 
Hi Jane, thanks for visiting us earlier! Karre is doing great. I bet it won't be long, anti-jynx. I sure hope your friend on FB either comes over to either Health or here. You've given her a good start with the support and help offered to her. Fingers crossed for her and Frostie.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top