I don't have to be anywhere besides sleeping so Im good.Do you have to be anywhere tonight?
Can you stall? (Don’t feed and retest in 30 minutes)
You don’t have enough data yet to shoot that 111.I don't have to be anywhere besides sleeping so Im good.
its not that its trying to get back on a normal schedule for shooting, because right now its very late in the morning and eveningYou don’t have enough data yet to shoot that 111.
I recommend stalling and retesting until you see a rise in the BG.
Knowing that your AM shot will be 12 hours from when you shoot tonight, bow long can you stall without it negatively impacting your morning?
How did you find out Mimi was diabetic?its not that its trying to get back on a normal schedule for shooting, because right now its very late in the morning and evening
do these numbers seem like she could be going into remission? is it too soon?
the vet did a fructosamine. she was also DKA recently.How did you find out Mimi was diabetic?
Keep stalling.hi so i just retested and its 112
What prompted the vet to run s fructosamine test?the vet did a fructosamine. she was also DKA recently.
Don’t feed and grab another test at +13 (13 hours since last shot)should I not feed her? she's due to eat
Don’t feed and grab another test at +13 (13 hours since last shot)
Hopefully she’s not chewing on your ankles.
What prompted the increase from 1u to 1.5u on 10/16/PM ?and what number would be good to feed and shoot her at?
because it was a Lantus pen- and the vet told to drop her from 2 when she had numbers in the 30s. They also told me to skip that dose for the night and resume in th morning.What prompted the increase from 1u to 1.5u on 10/16/PM ?
I see.because it was a Lantus pen- and the vet told to drop her from 2 when she had numbers in the 30s. They also told me to skip that dose for the night and resume in th morning.
Then everyone on here told me to get a syringe and draw up 1.5 because 2 to 1 is a huge jump and the pen can't do half numbers
Appetite has been good, i don't think she's regained any weight but she was over weight before. yes, yes, yes, yes yes.I see.
What is the Whole Cat Report (WCR)?
How has her appetite been?
Has she regained her lost weight?
Are all “Ps” in place?
(peeing, pooping, playing, preening, purring?
If ketones are negative and the answers to the questions in my previous message are all positive, and if the 13.5 is still blue, I’m inclined to recommend you feed her, skip and resume with 1.25u at your desired shot time in the AM.should I feed her and then give half a shot? or just feed her, test again in an hour or two?
she's glaring at me licking her lips, I don't want her to mistake me for food..![]()
just awoke to test her and she's 482, hasn't eaten in 4 hours
How long now until you are due to give the AMPS dose of insulin?oh sorry, yes I skipped the dose.
She's gone up high because she didn't have any insulin. It's nothing to worry about.like 3 hours away... why do you think she spiked like that??
I gave her a couple of Sardines with her food, could that have done it?
They said at the vet that she bounces all over the place
She's gone up high because she didn't have any insulin. It's nothing to worry about.
Are you happy with 9 am and 9pm or would you rather do it earlier like 7am and 7 pm or
8 am and 8 pm?
Because you skipped you can do it earlier this once if you want to change the times.
OkNo I need to do 9 pm or later... I work till then.
i didn't feed her, I passed out... I feel like I have a newborn. So tired. she's so worth it though.Rosa, I would give Mimi something to eat now. It's important she keeps eating well.
I was also reading on some threads that some carbohydrates might benefit the cat?
I had her on a raw diet with 8-9% fruits and vegetables (from May until diagnosed) and I figured the carb content of that brand was too high for her which could be why she got diabetes?
I keep reading negative things about the RX diets- they are all marketing right???




IwDiabetic cats (and cats in general) should NOT have carbohydrates in their diet. What threads are you reading this information from?
There are many reasons why a cat may get diabetes but yes, one of the reasons is a high carb diet, mostly on dry food. I don't think a raw diet would be too high in carbs but it's also unnecessary for cats to have fruits and vegetables in their diet. But raw is a great food for cats if you can find one with zero to minimal fruits and vegetables.
In regards to prescription diets, the wet food version of DM is in an acceptable range of carb content. Not the dry food. RX diets are just too expensive and aren't any better than the more affordable foods like Fancy Feast or Friskies. I would even argue Fancy Feast has less filler ingredients than Purina DM.
the way I mark it in now was shown to me by marje who set up my spread sheet (the @)Good morning,
A few important housekeeping items:
New day-time for a new condo (thread)
Please always include the hours since the last shot whenever a shot is stalled or skipped. It makes it easier for folks trying to help to quickly and accurately size up the situation.
.25 = 15 minutes
.5 = 30 minutes
.75 = 45 minutes
Some examples-
Stalling-
View attachment 48577
Skipped shot/-
View attachment 48580
Tests after skipping -
View attachment 48581
AMPS (or PMPS) after skipped shot-
View attachment 48579
So being that you last shot at 12:05 pm on 10/21, with the next shot at 8:30an today the AMPS was at + 20.5.
We link the previous thread to the current thread for continuity.Will starting a new thread lose everyone’s attention in the new thread? There are so many rules
Just wondering what to dose her at.I’ll start a new thread after this one last question because staying on the same thread has just been easier for me. (I’m ADHD.. lol)
Ok so I got home at 7:30 and fed them some food knowing that at around 9 I will give her her insulin (back on schedule) but they also haven’t eaten in 4 hours before.. I have to test her BG now- because her shot is due but will it be higher because of the food right?
Just tested her- 266Just wondering what to dose her at.
Just wondering what to dose her at.
Sorry no one got back to you about dosing.Just tested her- 266