? 111 before scheduled night dose! what do I do?

Mimis mom

Member Since 2019
I don't know what to do, Im trying to get Mimi back on her normal schedule and every time I try and do that right before her shot she's too low.. she hasn't eaten in 2 and a half hours.
 
I don't have to be anywhere besides sleeping so Im good.
You don’t have enough data yet to shoot that 111.
I recommend stalling and retesting until you see a rise in the BG.

Knowing that your AM shot will be 12 hours from when you shoot tonight, bow long can you stall without it negatively impacting your morning?
 
You don’t have enough data yet to shoot that 111.
I recommend stalling and retesting until you see a rise in the BG.

Knowing that your AM shot will be 12 hours from when you shoot tonight, bow long can you stall without it negatively impacting your morning?
its not that its trying to get back on a normal schedule for shooting, because right now its very late in the morning and evening
do these numbers seem like she could be going into remission? is it too soon?
 
(from catinfo.org)

"If you do not read any further on this webpage, please understand the following principles. Your cat’s life literally depends on your understanding of these issues.

Many cats that are in a diabetic state no longer need any insulin when they are finally fed an appropriate low-carbohydrate diet.

Others will always need some insulin but the amount necessary to maintain proper blood glucose levels is nearly always significantly reduced once the patient is on a low carbohydrate diet."
Dr Lisa Pierson.

(I have switched her to a raw diet made entirely of turkey, turkey heart, liver, goats milk, herring oil.
 
Please remove the “911” since this is not a life threatening situation.

hi so i just retested and its 112
Keep stalling.
the vet did a fructosamine. she was also DKA recently.
What prompted the vet to run s fructosamine test?

Regarding remission based on changing to all wet low carb food, it definitely is possible.

With the recent DKA you must be cautious of maintaining the balance of enough calories, enough insulin and addressing any infection/inflammation/systemic stress.

eta- is she on antibiotics?
 
she had pancreatitis and was treated with antibiotics for it, which she finished about a week ago.

I brought her into the vet because she was eating a ton and actually lost a pound in a week... is it possible she doesn't have diabetes?
 
@Sandy and Black Kitty
If Mimi does not come up high enough to shoot.... because Rosa was 2 1/2 hours late last night with shot and it looks like it’s almost +13 now....one possibility is she skips ( not ideal I know with recent DKA) and then shots back at her normal schedule which would be in about maybe 7 1/2 hours time. Not quite sure with timing.
She does 9.30 am and pm I think. Maybe she could move it a bit earlier than that.
I think she said no ketones this morning.
Just a thought. .....
Sorry I can’t stay on now but can be here in about 1 1/2 hours time.
 
What prompted the increase from 1u to 1.5u on 10/16/PM ?
because it was a Lantus pen- and the vet told to drop her from 2 when she had numbers in the 30s. They also told me to skip that dose for the night and resume in th morning.
Then everyone on here told me to get a syringe and draw up 1.5 because 2 to 1 is a huge jump and the pen can't do half numbers
 
should I feed her and then give half a shot? or just feed her, test again in an hour or two?
she's glaring at me licking her lips, I don't want her to mistake me for food.. ;)
 
because it was a Lantus pen- and the vet told to drop her from 2 when she had numbers in the 30s. They also told me to skip that dose for the night and resume in th morning.
Then everyone on here told me to get a syringe and draw up 1.5 because 2 to 1 is a huge jump and the pen can't do half numbers
I see.

What is the Whole Cat Report (WCR)?

How has her appetite been?

Has she regained her lost weight?

Are all “Ps” in place?

(peeing, pooping, playing, preening, purring?
 
I see.

What is the Whole Cat Report (WCR)?

How has her appetite been?

Has she regained her lost weight?

Are all “Ps” in place?

(peeing, pooping, playing, preening, purring?
Appetite has been good, i don't think she's regained any weight but she was over weight before. yes, yes, yes, yes yes.
 
should I feed her and then give half a shot? or just feed her, test again in an hour or two?
she's glaring at me licking her lips, I don't want her to mistake me for food.. ;)
If ketones are negative and the answers to the questions in my previous message are all positive, and if the 13.5 is still blue, I’m inclined to recommend you feed her, skip and resume with 1.25u at your desired shot time in the AM.
 
It’s important to be able to find a dose that you can shoot consistently every 12 hours. Sometimes however it’s not easy. If you can string together 6 consecutive cycles at the same dose and get in as much testing as possible, the numbers will truly be your guide.
 
like 3 hours away... why do you think she spiked like that??

I gave her a couple of Sardines with her food, could that have done it?

They said at the vet that she bounces all over the place
 
like 3 hours away... why do you think she spiked like that??

I gave her a couple of Sardines with her food, could that have done it?

They said at the vet that she bounces all over the place
She's gone up high because she didn't have any insulin. It's nothing to worry about.
Are you happy with 9 am and 9pm or would you rather do it earlier like 7am and 7 pm or
8 am and 8 pm?
Because you skipped you can do it earlier this once if you want to change the times.
 
She's gone up high because she didn't have any insulin. It's nothing to worry about.
Are you happy with 9 am and 9pm or would you rather do it earlier like 7am and 7 pm or
8 am and 8 pm?
Because you skipped you can do it earlier this once if you want to change the times.


No I need to do 9 pm or later... I work till then.
 
Rosa, I would give Mimi something to eat now. It's important she keeps eating well.
i didn't feed her, I passed out... I feel like I have a newborn. So tired. she's so worth it though.

updated the spreadsheet with today.
lets see how it goes. Do you think perhaps 1.25 is proving to be too many units? why is she so high in the morning?
 
I was also reading on some threads that some carbohydrates might benefit the cat?
I had her on a raw diet with 8-9% fruits and vegetables (from May until diagnosed) and I figured the carb content of that brand was too high for her which could be why she got diabetes?

I keep reading negative things about the RX diets- they are all marketing right???
 
I was also reading on some threads that some carbohydrates might benefit the cat?
I had her on a raw diet with 8-9% fruits and vegetables (from May until diagnosed) and I figured the carb content of that brand was too high for her which could be why she got diabetes?

I keep reading negative things about the RX diets- they are all marketing right???

Diabetic cats (and cats in general) should NOT have carbohydrates in their diet. What threads are you reading this information from?

There are many reasons why a cat may get diabetes but yes, one of the reasons is a high carb diet, mostly on dry food. I don't think a raw diet would be too high in carbs but it's also unnecessary for cats to have fruits and vegetables in their diet. But raw is a great food for cats if you can find one with zero to minimal fruits and vegetables.

In regards to prescription diets, the wet food version of DM is in an acceptable range of carb content. Not the dry food. RX diets are just too expensive and aren't any better than the more affordable foods like Fancy Feast or Friskies. I would even argue Fancy Feast has less filler ingredients than Purina DM.
 
Good morning,

A few important housekeeping items:

New day-time for a new condo (thread)

Please always include the hours since the last shot whenever a shot is stalled or skipped. It makes it easier for folks trying to help to quickly and accurately size up the situation.

.25 = 15 minutes
.5 = 30 minutes
.75 = 45 minutes

Some examples-

Stalling-

4E9AAB42-F34D-4902-B134-F02A34C68407.jpeg

Skipped shot/-

1BE2791F-1030-436D-A1FB-70531704A35A.jpeg

Tests after skipping -

95BA19E9-6A19-4284-A22A-F8D65669F793.png

AMPS (or PMPS) after skipped shot-

2705BB83-BB41-4475-A7D2-E047FE04416D.jpeg

So being that you last shot at 12:05 pm on 10/21, with the next shot at 8:30an today the AMPS was at + 20.5.
 
Diabetic cats (and cats in general) should NOT have carbohydrates in their diet. What threads are you reading this information from?

There are many reasons why a cat may get diabetes but yes, one of the reasons is a high carb diet, mostly on dry food. I don't think a raw diet would be too high in carbs but it's also unnecessary for cats to have fruits and vegetables in their diet. But raw is a great food for cats if you can find one with zero to minimal fruits and vegetables.

In regards to prescription diets, the wet food version of DM is in an acceptable range of carb content. Not the dry food. RX diets are just too expensive and aren't any better than the more affordable foods like Fancy Feast or Friskies. I would even argue Fancy Feast has less filler ingredients than Purina DM.
Iw
Good morning,

A few important housekeeping items:

New day-time for a new condo (thread)

Please always include the hours since the last shot whenever a shot is stalled or skipped. It makes it easier for folks trying to help to quickly and accurately size up the situation.

.25 = 15 minutes
.5 = 30 minutes
.75 = 45 minutes

Some examples-

Stalling-

View attachment 48577

Skipped shot/-

View attachment 48580

Tests after skipping -

View attachment 48581

AMPS (or PMPS) after skipped shot-

View attachment 48579

So being that you last shot at 12:05 pm on 10/21, with the next shot at 8:30an today the AMPS was at + 20.5.
the way I mark it in now was shown to me by marje who set up my spread sheet (the @)
 
I’ll start a new thread after this one last question because staying on the same thread has just been easier for me. (I’m ADHD.. lol)

Ok so I got home at 7:30 and fed them some food knowing that at around 9 I will give her her insulin (back on schedule) but they also haven’t eaten in 4 hours before.. I have to test her BG now- because her shot is due but will it be higher because of the food right?
 
I’ll start a new thread after this one last question because staying on the same thread has just been easier for me. (I’m ADHD.. lol)

Ok so I got home at 7:30 and fed them some food knowing that at around 9 I will give her her insulin (back on schedule) but they also haven’t eaten in 4 hours before.. I have to test her BG now- because her shot is due but will it be higher because of the food right?
Just wondering what to dose her at.
 
Going to test right now. Also the automatic feeders came- so those will be a huge help during the day
 
Back
Top