? 11/9 Xander AMPS 266 +2 180 +3 108 +4 88 +5 82 PMPS 166 - Soft poop question

Albert & Xander

Member Since 2025
Yesterday's post


As of last night, it has now been 2 days of giving s boulardii + MOS 1/4 capsule twice a day. He is still having mushy poops. It seems they may be a tad worse since starting s boulardii but that may just be coincidence that they were heading that way anyways. They sometimes have some loose form where you can still see the shape of a normal poop despite being very moist, but then like overnight he has a "cow pie" mushy poop. Should I increase the s boulardii dose or give it more time? I am also wondering whether I should give the s boulardii more time or reach out to the vet to see if we should try anything else such as B12? Softer poops are unusual for Xander.

Overall he doesn't seem too uncomfortable, makes the poop as usual. Its just much softer than normal
 
I asked the vet and she is still pushing a diet change. I am onboard to try it, but Xander is not a normal cat who eats a solid meal. He eats small portions, wastes a lot, and sometimes needs a "fresh" can to get inspired. Not to mention he periodically needs a completely new flavor. I'm afraid that switching him over to food that costs triple the price and the pace at which he wastes would bankrupt me. Then theres also the risk he won't even care for it, he has always been a poultry cat.

If it got him feeling and eating better, that would be great and I could definitely afford the increase. But with his current eating style, it would be unsustainable.

She did say the B12 can be started at any time, so I think I may ask if we could give that a go and start today.
 
I asked the vet and she is still pushing a diet change. I am onboard to try it, but Xander is not a normal cat who eats a solid meal. He eats small portions, wastes a lot, and sometimes needs a "fresh" can to get inspired. Not to mention he periodically needs a completely new flavor. I'm afraid that switching him over to food that costs triple the price and the pace at which he wastes would bankrupt me. Then theres also the risk he won't even care for it, he has always been a poultry cat.

If it got him feeling and eating better, that would be great and I could definitely afford the increase. But with his current eating style, it would be unsustainable.

She did say the B12 can be started at any time, so I think I may ask if we could give that a go and start today.
I would say start the B12 right away.

Has he been tested to find out what his B12 level is?
Perhaps they could test him to find out his B12 level, you know, draw the blood, and send it off, but meanwhile give him a shot today after drawing the blood.
That way you would know before you start in with the B12 where he is.
We have sent B12 labs to VDI lab and TAMU.

That link I sent you the other day talks about if their B12 levels are low, they wonโ€™t absorb the S. Boulardii.
Also, 1/4 of a capsule twice a day is a lower dose, I would definitely increase it to at least half capsule twice a day. I believe that document states that after each loose BM, you can give a dose of. S. Boulardii right away until things start to firm up.
Many vines for you and Xander ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒโค๏ธโ€๐Ÿฉนโค๏ธโ€๐Ÿฉนโค๏ธโ€๐Ÿฉนโค๏ธโ€๐Ÿฉน
 
I would say start the B12 right away.

Has he been tested to find out what his B12 level is?
Perhaps they could test him to find out his B12 level, you know, draw the blood, and send it off, but meanwhile give him a shot today after drawing the blood.
That way you would know before you start in with the B12 where he is.
We have sent B12 labs to VDI lab and TAMU.

That link I sent you the other day talks about if their B12 levels are low, they wonโ€™t absorb the S. Boulardii.
Also, 1/4 of a capsule twice a day is a lower dose, I would definitely increase it to at least half capsule twice a day. I believe that document states that after each loose BM, you can give a dose of. S. Boulardii right away until things start to firm up.
Many vines for you and Xander ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒโค๏ธโ€๐Ÿฉนโค๏ธโ€๐Ÿฉนโค๏ธโ€๐Ÿฉนโค๏ธโ€๐Ÿฉน
I messaged the vet to see if that's something I can pick up today and self administer at home but she hasn't replied back yet. Hopefully I hear back today. His levels haven't been tested but I think id rather see if it empiraclly makes a difference to avoid stressing him out with another visit already to test.

I also saw that, I started with 1/4 dose because I saw it recommended in a lot of posts as a place to start but didn't know how long to wait to see if it made a difference before increasing. I'll increase tonight
 
I messaged the vet to see if that's something I can pick up today and self administer at home but she hasn't replied back yet. Hopefully I hear back today. His levels haven't been tested but I think id rather see if it empiraclly makes a difference to avoid stressing him out with another visit already to test.

I also saw that, I started with 1/4 dose because I saw it recommended in a lot of posts as a place to start but didn't know how long to wait to see if it made a difference before increasing. I'll increase tonight
I am giving the shots at home (I actually used an insulin needle first time last week and it was so much better than the larger needles they gave me (drew the 0.25 ml dose to the 25 unit line on U100 syringe). The thinner needle was so much better for Ivy!

I hope he feels much better!!! :bighug::bighug:
 
Second what Staci has said above! Itโ€™s been so helpful for both Binx and Ivy when theyโ€™ve had both loose stool and other symptoms surface. Plus, itโ€™s water soluble (from what Iโ€™ve seen) and so any excess gets flushed out. Definitely give with the insulin needle! And I wonder if itโ€™s the same for you, but I just found out from the vet that the B12 is an over the count human drug I can just pick up at the pharmacy whenever, no script (but this is in Canada). It was also 1/5 the price at least that way!

As for the food, you know Xander best and you have options to try still it seems. Iโ€™m on one of those expensive single protein foods now ($12/day ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿซ ) and thereโ€™s an odd time I have to throw away a bit and it breaks my soul a little. However, it has been great for Binx. Iโ€™m too afraid to try anything else right now but I do consider trying more affordable options again.

Good luck and keep us posted! Sending healing vines ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ
 
Theyre getting the B12 ready now, I hope this turns him around. Im scared to increase the s boulardii too much. I wonder if that could be making it worse or itโ€™s just coincidence?
Great news! Maybe give the B12 a day or two before increasing? If his B12 is low, the increase of s boulardii wonโ€™t make a difference anyways.
 
Yeahbthat makes sense. He has been having softer stools on and off for a while now, and it just started really progressing the past week. He also lost a little bit of weight so maybe itnis b12 deficiency. I hope it gets him more stable very soon and ill start switching his food ASAP. How quickly did you see improvement when starting B12?
 
Yeahbthat makes sense. He has been having softer stools on and off for a while now, and it just started really progressing the past week. He also lost a little bit of weight so maybe itnis b12 deficiency. I hope it gets him more stable very soon and ill start switching his food ASAP. How quickly did you see improvement when starting B12?
With Ivy, the B12 was like magic, it was within like 12 hours things started to improve from what I can remember.
And other times itโ€™s helped also within like 12 hours. (we did test and she was definitely low so it all made sense.)
Iโ€™ve been giving her weekly shots since August, which is not the normal protocol, but my vet feels that if itโ€™s working for her, weโ€™re just gonna keep it going.
I think youโ€™ll know if it starts to work for him very quickly then heโ€™s probably low in B12.

We are rooting here, team B12, for it to work as well for Xander ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป๐Ÿ“ฃ๐Ÿ˜ธ๐Ÿ™
 
Have you ever tried rabbit? Just asking because I had a poultry only IBD kitty and my vet suggested rabbit, and she was right.

Good luck with the B12, I hope it helps. Are you still giving psyllium husk fiber?
I haven't tried rabbit. I have a few cans of Koha and Rawz to try to see if he'll go for it. I'm just concerned of going with the expensive food given Xander's lovey eating habits of small meals and sometimes needing fresh cans and topper. Maybe if the inflammation gets better there will be less waste? Idk.

Thank you! I am, he has been taking 1/8 tsp every day for about 2 months now.
 
When I switched my IBD girl to rabbit, she started finishing her meals right away. You are right, it is a lot pricier. Lamb or pork are cheaper options to try.

He does love ham lol. I saw identity makes pork but could not find a way to source a single can to sample. The only options I could find locally are the rawz rabbit. I found duck as well but am assuming it would be too close to his current turkey/chicken.
 
Back
Top