? 11/9 - Wally - another hypo overnight, AMPS=309,+3=504,+6=501,PMPS=526,+2=487

Ginger Cat

Member Since 2017
It seems to be Wally's tendency to go very low/hypo range overnight, even if his PMPS numbers are above normal range. Does anyone ever shoot a varied dosage AM vs PM? Unless I decide to give up sleeping and continue to monitor him overnight every night to see the pattern, I don't know what else to do...

He tested at 57 PMPS +8 and this is with an AlphaTrak2 so anything below 68 is hypo range.

I'm again lowering his dose from 1.75 units to 1.5. And he's not all that hungry this morning but he did eat quite a bit between 4 and 5:30 a.m. so it's not surprising.

Thoughts????
 
Last edited:
Lantus likes consistency. Shooting different doses day and night doesn’t work with depot insulin. Max dropped low often at night too. You are seeing bounces. As he gets more used to normal numbers the cycles will flatten out. I’d get a test at +4 and feed to slow the drop or try to level him out. Had you gotten a test between +2 and the low green you might have prevented him dropping so low and gotten him to surf instead. When he gets that low he bounces again. I know it’s hard to have all those pj parties. :bighug:
 
not surprised by his high numbers today but he did eat more of his breakfast before his +2 test and finally finished it before his +6 test so the food could have influenced the readings.
 
so the food could have influenced the readings.

Only if it was birthday cake - LOL!

Elise is correct, he's not used to those lower numbers and is having himself a sugar buzz from his liver reacting and dumping the load of stored up glycogen. It's a normal response - that's why we encourage frequent testing to prevent kitties from going too low...and when that happens, they always bounce up high...so just try to test as often as you can...especially when the downhill slide begins...so you can 'feed the curve'....just slow that drop when he starts to slide down and prevent him from going below the line.

Hang in there!
 
Tonight is probably not the night to check his nadir with the high bounce. If there’s a big drop at +2 he may come down but I would not set an alarm tonight.
 
Last edited:
Tonight is probably not the night to check his nadir was the high bounce. If there’s a big drop at +2 he may come down but I would not set an alarm tonight.
From your voice to Wally's pancreas :) He's at 483 PMPS+2 so I think he'll be okay tonight.
Fingers and paws crossed.
 
Last edited:
By the way, we don't usually call it a hypo unless kitty saw hypo symptoms.

As for the ick numbers today, a thought for you the next time you see a low number and that's a technique we call "shooting through the bounce". If you are follow TR as you are, then when they drop low and it's obvious they are going to bounce next cycle, as it was this morning, you can shoot his older higher dose for one more time, before taking the reduction.

Speaking of reductions, since Wally was considered a long term diabetic - first diagnosed over a year ago - the guidelines for reductions change. For long term diabetics we change to 1 drop under 40 on the human meter, three drops between 40 and 49 on the human meter if they don't hold reductions well, or a week in normal numbers. The goal is to make them work harder for that reduction, and as a result spend more time in green and get used to it.
 
By the way, we don't usually call it a hypo unless kitty saw hypo symptoms.

As for the ick numbers today, a thought for you the next time you see a low number and that's a technique we call "shooting through the bounce". If you are follow TR as you are, then when they drop low and it's obvious they are going to bounce next cycle, as it was this morning, you can shoot his older higher dose for one more time, before taking the reduction.

Speaking of reductions, since Wally was considered a long term diabetic - first diagnosed over a year ago - the guidelines for reductions change. For long term diabetics we change to 1 drop under 40 on the human meter, three drops between 40 and 49 on the human meter if they don't hold reductions well, or a week in normal numbers. The goal is to make them work harder for that reduction, and as a result spend more time in green and get used to it.
Wendy - I read that before on the guideline and I'm not sure I totally understand. Can you explain it a bit better? Thanks.
 
Which part do you want me to expand on? The reductions or shooting through the bounce?
Can you explain this more: For long term diabetics we change to 1 drop under 40 on the human meter, three drops between 40 and 49 on the human meter if they don't hold reductions well, or a week in normal numbers.

Does it mean:
- after 1 reading below 40 (in my case 68) he gets a reduction
- if he doesn't hold the reduction well, I wait to see if he has 3 drops under 68 and then give a reduction or
- a week in normal numbers earns him a reduction
 
Last edited:
I'll see if I can help out.

There are a variety of ways a dose reduction can be earned. For a longer term diabetic (i.e., a cat more than a year past diagnosis), a reduction is given if your kitty's BG drops below 40. This makes it harder for the cat to warrant a dose reduction. The alternatives are to allow for 3 drops into the 40 - 49 range. These should be in separate cycles. This is often an option for cats that don't seem to hold dose reductions well or bounces and then drops into low numbers again. The 3rd option is a week in numbers between 50 - 120 (on a human meter). These latter two options are not only for longer term diabetic cats.

In part, we make it tougher for a long term diabetic to earn a reduction because the pancreas may need more time to heal. If the pancreas was bouncing back more quickly, the cat would have been in remission/tightly regulated more quickly.
 
Back
Top