11/9 Tiki AMPS 310, PMPS 308, +6 263

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tonya and Tiki

Member Since 2011
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=56037

Gave him a can of cat food last night so he is high this morning but even worse is he wouldn't come to me, didn't want his treat, wanted nothing to do with being poked or getting his shot. I feel like I've lost him.

Guess I will have to keep him hungry! LOL
 
Re: 11/9 Tiki AMPS 310

Hi guys .. no, you haven't lost tiki .. it just takes time like anything else .. soon you'll have this routine set in stone and he won't remember different :-D have a great day guys!
 
Re: 11/9 Tiki AMPS 310

kismetttt said:
Guess I will have to keep him hungry! LOL

Not a bad idea to keep him a bit hungry.

You may find that dividing his food into smaller, more frequent meals will help keep his BG and appetite more even.
Many of us use programable timed feeders - I could not have made it witihout ours!
 
Re: 11/9 Tiki AMPS 310

:lol: :lol: :lol:
at your outlook on keeping him hungry!
good attitude for a tough dance :-D

celi & binks
 
Re: 11/9 Tiki AMPS 310

i think he hasn't got quite enough insulin yet, but you're doing these increases safely and by giving 6 cycles on each dose, if you hit the "sweet spot" in dosing it will show up.

seemed like it helped punkin's numbers when i gave him 98% of his food in the first 4 hours with and after each shot. if i feel too sorry for his piteous self after that, i give him either plain boiled or baked chicken or fish that has 0 carbs. with boy cats you don't want to give much fish because it can cause urinary tract problems, but i figure a little bit is probably ok.
 
Re: 11/9 Tiki AMPS 310, PMPS 308

Didn't make it home today to do any testing. PMPS is about the same as AM....why is it his numbers have increased since I have been giving him shots???

Food has been about the same as it was prior to the insulin.
 
Re: 11/9 Tiki AMPS 310, PMPS 308

It's not uncommon for a kitty's numbers to go up shortly after staring insulin.
They can go up shortly after a dose increase as well, we call it New Dose Wonkiness.
However, what goes up must come down. :-D

I saw you post over in Cini Minis condo - keep in mind every cat is different (ECID).

Be patient - follow the protocol and gather as much data as you can. It will get better.

Chin up!
 
Re: 11/9 Tiki AMPS 310, PMPS 308

I can't remember if I already mentioned this to you, but Donovan eyed me suspiciously and tried to avoid me when I first started testing and giving him insulin. His numbers were crap and he probably didn't feel good, and he likely picked up on my nerves. He'd mysteriously disappear around shot time :roll:. Things got easier and he got back to his old self. Like many here have said, you'll get to the point where your sugarcat comes and finds YOU at shot time. They know.

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 11/9 Tiki AMPS 310, PMPS 308

I finally figured out how to "shrink" his pic to be able to include it here on the boards. He is a really pretty kitty - tabby markings but they are swirled like a marble cake instead of stripes. He is actually bugging me right now as I type this - he must be hungry! LOL
 
Re: 11/9 Tiki AMPS 310, PMPS 308

He wiggles all around when I give him his shot - which makes it extremely difficult to be certain to get it ALL IN! A couple times now I removed the needle and noticed if I push really hard there is one tiny last drop still present so I stick it back in quick (when he gets so little to start with I dare not miss ANY).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top