11/9 Sue OTJ Trial Day 1 PMBG+10=73

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: +23=99, +24=79 (45 min. post-eating)

Good luck!

Just so you don't make yourself crazy by trying to count hours over the next 2 weeks, you can count the days and use AMBG and PMBG and +hours.

Here are the instructions for an OTJ trial (thank you Libby!):

  • Test at your normal AMPS and PMPS times. Feed multiple small meals throughout the day as much as possible (small meals are less likely to overwhelm a newly functioning pancreas).
  • If he is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If he is blue, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If his number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then his pancreas is working!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give him the support he needs. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on
 
Re: 11/9 Sue +23=99, +24=79 (45 min. post-eating)

oh, man...being somewhat absent the last cpl days...i didn't realize!

BEST OF LUCK to you and Sue...this is wonderful!

Celi & Binks
 
Re: 11/9 Sue +23=99, +24=79 (45 min. post-eating)

Congratulations on your OTJ Trial...go, go, go!!! Super numbers today!!
 
Re: 11/9 Sue +23=99, +24=79 (45 min. post-eating)

Wow I'm so impressed. We are fairly new into this. I noticed you joined last month so I wasn't expecting all the colours on your SS. Some reds and even a few blacks.

Did you also do a food change to help her numbers?

Congratulations. I'm very excited for you both :)
 
Re: 11/9 Sue +23=99, +24=79 (45 min. post-eating)

I am so excited, too! In the beginning 10-7-10 to 10-18-10 he was on a really crappy version of PZI and his vet had no idea what he was doing. He had Sue eating dry Royal Canin DS which was basically fueling the diabetic fire.

Then, I found Dr. Pierson online (catinfo.org) and hired her as a consultant. So, I immediately asked my vet to switch to Lantus and started a food change. I followed Dr. Lisa's protocol (which is very similar to the protocol used here--except she might switch doses a little more quickly *sometimes*). Sue eats exclusively only low carb foods (0-5 carbs on Janet and Binky's list).

Merrick BG (Before Grain):
chicken
beef
turkey

Wellness:
beef and chicken
chicken
turkey

Merrick:
Cowboy Cookout

I feel the Lantus + low carb diet has helped Sue tremendously! Hopefully, he stays off the juice! This board is fantastic and so helpful.

Those reds and blacks were from when Sue was on the PZI. We did have some reds on the Lantus from him bouncing from Symogi Rebound, most likely.

Good luck!
 
Re: 11/9 Sue +23=99, +24=79 (45 min. post-eating)

I should note that Sue is FREE FED low carb food all day long. He had lost 3 lbs from the diabetes. He weighed 8 lbs when diagnosed. He was not fat to begin with (11 lbs) so I'm sure that also helped him.
 
Re: 11/9 Sue +23=99, +24=79 (45 min. post-eating)

Congratulations and paws crossed for more days like this.
 
Re: 11/9 Sue AMBG=79, +8.5=53

Thanks so much for replying. I'm so happy for you guys that go OTJ and explaining what you guys did to get there.

Maverick just started on - wellness/evo/cowboy cookout from Binky's list and hoping he will find one he actually eats. Its already making a difference in his numbers vs the grocery store brands that were supposed to be low carb on binky's list (canadian).

I will be watching your updates. Keep it up Sue!!!!
 
Re: 11/9 Sue AMBG=79, +8.5=53

klkelly,

Sue was just diagnosed with diabetes on Oct. 7, 2010. We were on PZI until Oct. 18. So, we achieved "OTJ" in 3 weeks with Lantus + LC food. Hopefully it holds. I hope you get the same results!
 
Re: 11/9 Sue AMBG=79, +8.5=53

Jenny and Sue said:
I am so excited, too! In the beginning 10-7-10 to 10-18-10 he was on a really crappy version of PZI and his vet had no idea what he was doing. He had Sue eating dry Royal Canin DS which was basically fueling the diabetic fire.

Then, I found Dr. Pierson online (catinfo.org) and hired her as a consultant. So, I immediately asked my vet to switch to Lantus and started a food change. I followed Dr. Lisa's protocol (which is very similar to the protocol used here--except she might switch doses a little more quickly *sometimes*). Sue eats exclusively only low carb foods (0-5 carbs on Janet and Binky's list).

Merrick BG (Before Grain):
chicken
beef
turkey

Wellness:
beef and chicken
chicken
turkey

Merrick:
Cowboy Cookout

I feel the Lantus + low carb diet has helped Sue tremendously! Hopefully, he stays off the juice! This board is fantastic and so helpful.

Those reds and blacks were from when Sue was on the PZI. We did have some reds on the Lantus from him bouncing from Symogi Rebound, most likely.

Good luck!
Jenny, I wish you lots of luck on your trial! I do want to address one thing that you said in this post....about being put on a "really crappy version of PZI"...while you may not have had good results with ProZinc, that doesn't make it a crappy insulin. It actually is one of the better insulins out there. We used it for 3 months, and while I did choose to switch to Lantus, I was pretty happy with the ProZinc and I would never say it was "crappy". I am happier with Lantus, but I would hate for anyone to think that ProZinc is not a good option if Lantus isn't an option for them!

ECID...that's why there are choices. Not everyone can do Lantus or Levemir.
 
Re: 11/9 Sue OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG=79, +8.5=53

When I said a crappy version of PZI, I should have clarified. I don't mean that PZI is "crappy" but the PZI that I was given was a no name brand insulin that was mixed in a pharmacy that no one seemed to have ever heard of. I should have said that in the post. I didn't mean PZI in general!!! My apologies! :smile:
 
Re: 11/9 Sue OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG=79, +8.5=53

Jenny and Sue said:
When I said a crappy version of PZI, I should have clarified. I don't mean that PZI is "crappy" but the PZI that I was given was a no name brand insulin that was mixed in a pharmacy that no one seemed to have ever heard of. I should have said that in the post. I didn't mean PZI in general!!! My apologies! :smile:
Well, if that's the case, then can you please correct the info in your signature? Because it says you used ProZinc, which is a brand name manufactured insulin....not a locally compounded (I assume that's what you mean by "mixed") PZI. I wouldn't want someone to read your posts and think you were referring to ProZinc.

Thank you! :smile:
 
Re: 11/9 Sue OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG=79, +8.5=53

That is the case and I changed the signature. Didn't even realize I had written ProZinc. Probably did it with one eye open... a feeling we all know from being up all night every night watching kitties and testing! :)
 
Re: 11/9 Sue OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG=79, +8.5=53

hi Jenny

just wanted to publicly ;-) congratulate you and kitty Sue for starting trial!
All the best and happy countdown!
Will be watching your progress!
:mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/9 Sue OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG=79, +8.5=53

Congratulations on day one!
Good Luck! I'll be checking back with you in a day or two. :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top