? 11/9, Spot, Amps401, 4 units. Getting very worried, help

Darnell & Sprocket (GA)

Member Since 2015
Hi, 3rd time posting for AnnetteStewart as she doesn’t know how to use fdmb.
This cat stays in same numbers even with dose increases. I am baffled & in territory I don’t understand. I never went over 3 units. I dont know what to do anymore. I have asked all the questions to make sure this kitty has all right to drop. We have discussed dose lines, she feeds fancy feast or friskies pate with occasional dr elseys clean protein, she picks up other pets food dishes, i told her to look for spare kibble around food dish areas of the dogs.
Am I missing something?
Last time we went up half unit from 3.5 to 4units. Her vets are sadly clueless.
I am worried about this cat.
Help, I am out of my comfort zone. Can someone keep an eye on spreadsheet & advise me?
Her spreadsheet

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1SF96F9mHVKPW1YyyLa0PcMDU8rbxxDLtMRfy_IGVmBc/edit?usp=sharing

Can’t seem to tag whom advised last time.
Can someone tag@Wendy&Neko please?
Thanks
 
He needs to be fast tracked. Any chance that they can feed all wet or raw and switch to TR?

previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/need-experienced-eyes-for-advice.283119/#post-3119468

The dose is being held too long. Another .50 increase is needed to 4.5. . Any chance you can teach the caregiver how to post here? I know it can be intimidating but we have had people post daily for others before as well.

Reply:
they do mostly feed all wet, Wendy mentioned doing the TR thats why we went up half unit last time. Annette was just trying to get cat in safe bg as she new remission is harder & I understand that as my mom did that with her cat as my mom is older & was unable to home test & cat was well controlled for over 10 yrs. Spot seems to not want to go down much. Unless that cat is stealing snacks from some unknown place as they do have a farm but the cat is inside. I am starting to worry if the cat has the other conditions that need higher dosing. I know there is still time for that but i am unfamiliar with going above 3 units.
i was thinking of trying to make a video for her on how to use the fdmb, that might make it easier to learn.
In meantime I am posting & I do pay attention to my phone & I have same name on Facebook too.
I will have her go up on dose to 4.5units.
Please keep an eye out for Spot now. I will keep posting.
Please tag anyone that may be able to help or thinks of anything I am missing that this cat could be sneaking.
I cant tag today not sure if its the site or not. i have tagged in past.
 
Hi, 3rd time posting for AnnetteStewart as she doesn’t know how to use fdmb.
This cat stays in same numbers even with dose increases. I am baffled & in territory I don’t understand. I never went over 3 units. I dont know what to do anymore. I have asked all the questions to make sure this kitty has all right to drop. We have discussed dose lines, she feeds fancy feast or friskies pate with occasional dr elseys clean protein, she picks up other pets food dishes, i told her to look for spare kibble around food dish areas of the dogs.
Am I missing something?
Last time we went up half unit from 3.5 to 4units. Her vets are sadly clueless.
I am worried about this cat.
Help, I am out of my comfort zone. Can someone keep an eye on spreadsheet & advise me?
Her spreadsheet

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1SF96F9mHVKPW1YyyLa0PcMDU8rbxxDLtMRfy_IGVmBc/edit?usp=sharing

Can’t seem to tag whom advised last time.
Can someone tag@Wendy&Neko please?
Thanks
@Wendy&Neko
 
I agree with Elise. Doses are being held too long, he needs an increase. Holding a dose that keeps him in high numbers can lead to glucose toxicity, the solution to which is more insulin.

Don’t get fixated on 3 units just cause that’s all your cat needed. Every Cat is Different, including what dose is needed to move them. You want to get him out of high numbers as fast as is safely possible. TR is how to do that, if she can stick to low carb wet or raw. If he needs crunch, there is freeze dried raw or air dried food. Not all cats react to Dr.Elsey as low carb draw. We have one cat here, Jack, who refuses wet and Dr. Elsey causes his numbers to go up. He is currently on 7-8 units. Been tested for acromegaly and is negative.
 
If Annette ts willing to followTR I'm pretty certain no dry food allowed even if it's Dr Elsey's

How about giving freeze dried treats instead ,then she can follow TR
follow TR if you want to
Look at this post #64 there is a whole list
Post numbers are to the right
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-to-this-i-need-advice.269452/#post-3007262
Whole list of what? That is a long thread, i dont see the post numbers on the right but i am on a cell phone.
 
Whole list of what? That is a long thread, i dont see the post numbers on the right but i am on a cell phone.
A list of freeze dried treats, the post numbers are to the right of each post you see.
Do you see this post is #9

Here I copied it for you
You can give her any freeze dried treats for a snack
most members give freeze dried treats , they are low carb, you can probably find them in some local pet stores also
I did a search for you on here and copied what some members said they use,

When testing you can give them a treat so they will associate after testing they will get a reward, any freeze dried treats are ok such as
PureBites Freeze-Dried Cat Treats with Chicken Breast 2.3 oz ()https://www.amazon.com/dp/B071P





Also chewys has freeze dried treats also


The freeze dried treats you can get at petsmart, petco and order from chewy. Purebites is popular (cheaper if you buy the dog food ones). My crew like vital essentials it's dehydrated freeze dried raw comes in flavors

freeze dried minnows, made by Vital Essentials. I also buy the ones made for dogs. They're the same as the freeze dried minnows for cats. just cheaper. They also carry other freeze dried treats. I ordered mine through Amazon.

I think the vital essentials are more of a crunchy texture than the purebites

If you cat likes any of these you can buy the bigger bags for dogs they are the same ,you will get more for your money just break then up into smaller pieces
.

You can Google freeze dried treats and see what other ones there are and different flavors
Just make sure that is the only ingredient in them meaning turkey, chicken, minnows etc

Here is another one , I see you can get these in different flavors also just look
You may have to break any freeze dried treats in half if they are too big
https://www.amazon.com/Vital-Essent...ocphy=9003521&hvtargid=pla-630511512365&psc=1

Flavor Name: Duck Liver
Ahi Tuna
  • Chicken
  • Chicken Giblets
  • Chicken Hearts
  • Duck Liver
  • Minnows
  • Rabbit
Here is another one
You can give her any freeze dried treats for a snack
most members give freeze dried treats , they are low carb, you can probably find them in some local pet stores also
I did a search for you on here and copied what some members said they use,

When testing you can give them a treat so they will associate after testing they will get a reward, any freeze dried treats are ok such as
PureBites Freeze-Dried Cat Treats with Chicken Breast 2.3 oz ()https://www.amazon.com/dp/B071P

Also chewys has freeze dried treats also


The freeze dried treats you can get at petsmart, petco and order from chewy. Purebites is popular (cheaper if you buy the dog food ones). My crew like vital essentials it's dehydrated freeze dried raw comes in flavors

freeze dried minnows, made by Vital Essentials. I also buy the ones made for dogs. They're the same as the freeze dried minnows for cats. just cheaper. They also carry other freeze dried treats. I ordered mine through Amazon.

I think the vital essentials are more of a crunchy texture than the purebites

If you cat likes any of these you can buy the bigger bags for dogs they are the same ,you will get more for your money just break then up into smaller pieces
.

You can Google freeze dried treats and see what other ones there are and different flavors
Just make sure that is the only ingredient in them meaning turkey, chicken, minnows etc

Here is another one , I see you can get these in different flavors also just look
You may have to break any freeze dried treats in half if they are too big
https://www.amazon.com/Vital-Essent...ocphy=9003521&hvtargid=pla-630511512365&psc=1

Flavor Name: Duck Liver
Ahi Tuna
  • Chicken
  • Chicken Giblets
  • Chicken Hearts
  • Duck Liver
  • Minnows
  • Rabbit
Here is another one Halo Live A Littles
https://www.amazon.com/s?k=halo liv a littles&gclid=EAIaIQobChMIqM3npIiF-AIVEYnICh2PtQK6EAAYAyAAEgL--PD_BwE&hvadid=176944855419&hvdev=t&hvlocphy=9003521&hvnetw=g&hvqmt=e&he

https://www.amazon.com/Halo-Littles...ords=halo live a little&qid=1653847544&sr=8-1

Looks like they have other flavors also
If they like any of the treats you can buy the same ones for dogs more for your money, just break them up into smaller pieces

@Darnell & Sprocket (GA)
 
A list of freeze dried treats, the post numbers are to the right of each post you see.
Do you see this post is #9

Here I copied it for you
You can give her any freeze dried treats for a snack
most members give freeze dried treats , they are low carb, you can probably find them in some local pet stores also
I did a search for you on here and copied what some members said they use,

When testing you can give them a treat so they will associate after testing they will get a reward, any freeze dried treats are ok such as
PureBites Freeze-Dried Cat Treats with Chicken Breast 2.3 oz ()https://www.amazon.com/dp/B071P





Also chewys has freeze dried treats also


The freeze dried treats you can get at petsmart, petco and order from chewy. Purebites is popular (cheaper if you buy the dog food ones). My crew like vital essentials it's dehydrated freeze dried raw comes in flavors

freeze dried minnows, made by Vital Essentials. I also buy the ones made for dogs. They're the same as the freeze dried minnows for cats. just cheaper. They also carry other freeze dried treats. I ordered mine through Amazon.

I think the vital essentials are more of a crunchy texture than the purebites

If you cat likes any of these you can buy the bigger bags for dogs they are the same ,you will get more for your money just break then up into smaller pieces
.

You can Google freeze dried treats and see what other ones there are and different flavors
Just make sure that is the only ingredient in them meaning turkey, chicken, minnows etc

Here is another one , I see you can get these in different flavors also just look
You may have to break any freeze dried treats in half if they are too big
https://www.amazon.com/Vital-Essent...ocphy=9003521&hvtargid=pla-630511512365&psc=1

Flavor Name: Duck Liver
Ahi Tuna
  • Chicken
  • Chicken Giblets
  • Chicken Hearts
  • Duck Liver
  • Minnows
  • Rabbit
Here is another one
You can give her any freeze dried treats for a snack
most members give freeze dried treats , they are low carb, you can probably find them in some local pet stores also
I did a search for you on here and copied what some members said they use,

When testing you can give them a treat so they will associate after testing they will get a reward, any freeze dried treats are ok such as
PureBites Freeze-Dried Cat Treats with Chicken Breast 2.3 oz ()https://www.amazon.com/dp/B071P

Also chewys has freeze dried treats also


The freeze dried treats you can get at petsmart, petco and order from chewy. Purebites is popular (cheaper if you buy the dog food ones). My crew like vital essentials it's dehydrated freeze dried raw comes in flavors

freeze dried minnows, made by Vital Essentials. I also buy the ones made for dogs. They're the same as the freeze dried minnows for cats. just cheaper. They also carry other freeze dried treats. I ordered mine through Amazon.

I think the vital essentials are more of a crunchy texture than the purebites

If you cat likes any of these you can buy the bigger bags for dogs they are the same ,you will get more for your money just break then up into smaller pieces
.

You can Google freeze dried treats and see what other ones there are and different flavors
Just make sure that is the only ingredient in them meaning turkey, chicken, minnows etc

Here is another one , I see you can get these in different flavors also just look
You may have to break any freeze dried treats in half if they are too big
https://www.amazon.com/Vital-Essent...ocphy=9003521&hvtargid=pla-630511512365&psc=1

Flavor Name: Duck Liver
Ahi Tuna
  • Chicken
  • Chicken Giblets
  • Chicken Hearts
  • Duck Liver
  • Minnows
  • Rabbit
Here is another one Halo Live A Littles
https://www.amazon.com/s?k=halo liv a littles&gclid=EAIaIQobChMIqM3npIiF-AIVEYnICh2PtQK6EAAYAyAAEgL--PD_BwE&hvadid=176944855419&hvdev=t&hvlocphy=9003521&hvnetw=g&hvqmt=e&he

https://www.amazon.com/Halo-Littles...ords=halo live a little&qid=1653847544&sr=8-1

Looks like they have other flavors also
If they like any of the treats you can buy the same ones for dogs more for your money, just break them up into smaller pieces

@Darnell & Sprocket (GA)
Oh wow! Thanks alot.
 
Back
Top