11/9 Simon 338 AMPS (Increasing Dose Today!) +3 333 +6 326

Alexandra & Simon

Member Since 2026
Of course the rascal managed to get under his shirt and get his Libre off this morning right before feeding and injection time 😅

He did keep his Libre on for enough days that I was able to see a pattern of when it appears his insulin would hit (+6 to +7) he'd get down into the high 200s.

I had one of my best friend's bridal showers to attend yesterday out of town so I waited to hold increasing his dose until today when I am home full time to monitor him. My brother came over yesterday while I was gone to do his small meal feedings during the day and just keep his eye on him.

The vet called at the end of last week and recommended bumping him up to 2 units from his 1 unit but in my other posts with this group I'm going to go smaller.

We did 1.25 units this morning and also did his first injection of b12 this morning (.25). He ate a full breakfast and manual BG check before breakfast was at 338. He is currently cuddled up with me on the couch while I'm working. Will be doing additional manual checks throughout the day to see his numbers. We've got his repeat ultrasound on Thursday so will try and get another Libre back on him as well.

Fingers crossed he manages the increase well ❤️
 
Of course the rascal managed to get under his shirt and get his Libre off this morning right before feeding and injection time 😅

He did keep his Libre on for enough days that I was able to see a pattern of when it appears his insulin would hit (+6 to +7) he'd get down into the high 200s.

I had one of my best friend's bridal showers to attend yesterday out of town so I waited to hold increasing his dose until today when I am home full time to monitor him. My brother came over yesterday while I was gone to do his small meal feedings during the day and just keep his eye on him.

The vet called at the end of last week and recommended bumping him up to 2 units from his 1 unit but in my other posts with this group I'm going to go smaller.

We did 1.25 units this morning and also did his first injection of b12 this morning (.25). He ate a full breakfast and manual BG check before breakfast was at 338. He is currently cuddled up with me on the couch while I'm working. Will be doing additional manual checks throughout the day to see his numbers. We've got his repeat ultrasound on Thursday so will try and get another Libre back on him as well.

Fingers crossed he manages the increase well ❤️
I hope the increased dose brings Simon to some nicer numbers soon.
Sorry to hear he pulled off the Libre 😢
I hope tht B12 works well.
Will you be giving it weekly? Or on another schedule?
Are you following SLGS or TR for a dosing method (have you decided?)
That will help us to guide you with dosing advice.
Are you familiar with the dosing methods yet? The information is in the stickies.
If you need help with that let us know and we can guide you to the information.

Hope you both have a safe surf today 🥰🌊🏄‍♂️
 
I hope the increased dose brings Simon to some nicer numbers soon.
Sorry to hear he pulled off the Libre 😢
I hope tht B12 works well.
Will you be giving it weekly? Or on another schedule?
Are you following SLGS or TR for a dosing method (have you decided?)
That will help us to guide you with dosing advice.
Are you familiar with the dosing methods yet? The information is in the stickies.
If you need help with that let us know and we can guide you to the information.

Hope you both have a safe surf today 🥰🌊🏄‍♂️
Yes on giving the b12 weekly. It will be a once weekly shot for 6 weeks and then one month later.

I think I want to go with the TR method. I work from home so I can usually be around to test him. I read the stickies but it seems like with TR there is a shorter cycle period for increasing the dose (if the numbers determine that is appropriate?) But would be helpful for a summary to decide!
 
Good luck with the dose increase today!

TR has been researched and published in a highly reputable veterinary journal and has an established track record of getting newly diagnosed cats into remission. Cats go into remission under SLGS too, but it’s an approach that is backed by caregiver experience rather than fact based research.

TR will typically allow the cat to get into good numbers faster since it’s a more aggressive protocol that allows you to make dosing changes as quickly as 3 days (vs 7 days for SLGS). But it requires more testing (minimum of 4x a day but often more) and your cat needs to be on an all wet food diet (nutritionally complete freeze dried is ok).

The key benefit of SLGS is that it’s more flexible if you’re not able to test as often or your cat is a lifelong kibble addict.

You can also go back and forth between the two methods over time, to see what works best for you and your cat. You’re not locked in either way :)
 
Good luck with the dose increase today!

TR has been researched and published in a highly reputable veterinary journal and has an established track record of getting newly diagnosed cats into remission. Cats go into remission under SLGS too, but it’s an approach that is backed by caregiver experience rather than fact based research.

TR will typically allow the cat to get into good numbers faster since it’s a more aggressive protocol that allows you to make dosing changes as quickly as 3 days (vs 7 days for SLGS). But it requires more testing (minimum of 4x a day but often more) and your cat needs to be on an all wet food diet (nutritionally complete freeze dried is ok).

The key benefit of SLGS is that it’s more flexible if you’re not able to test as often or your cat is a lifelong kibble addict.

You can also go back and forth between the two methods over time, to see what works best for you and your cat. You’re not locked in either way :)
We migrated him to a full wet food diet after he got diagnosed! I guess the exception to that was I did boil some chicken and would shred that and give it to him during the day as a snack or a Churu (are those things both okay with TR?)
 
Yep! The boiled chicken is all protein and Churu is a LC treat. We use both for our testing treats too :)
Okay, yay! I like to give him a little mix of his daytime small meals/treats so thought boiled chicken was good and he really seems to enjoy it!

So far he has seemed good since the injection! Napped next to mom and then went outside for a little fresh air on the patio and has shown some interest in playing with his stuffed fish!

Going to shoot for our +3 glucose check before my meeting starts at 10:30. 10:30 seems to be when the Libre was showing his first lowest surf of the day.
 
Okay, yay! I like to give him a little mix of his daytime small meals/treats so thought boiled chicken was good and he really seems to enjoy it!

So far he has seemed good since the injection! Napped him mom and then went outside for a little fresh air on the patio and has shown some interest in playing with his stuffed fish!

Going to shoot for our +3 glucose check before my meeting starts at 10:30. 10:30 seems to be when the Libre was showing his first lowest surf of the day.

Aww Simon sounds like such a happy boy! Good luck with your meeting and +3 :)
 
Aww Simon sounds like such a happy boy! Good luck with your meeting and +3 :)
I'm not sure if maybe I'm just not seeing it because he doesn't have the Libre on but so far really no change in his glucose since this morning. No changes to his little personality either, if anything he seems to be more like his old self pre-diagnosis, so he seems to have tolerated the .25 increase this morning
 
I'm not sure if maybe I'm just not seeing it because he doesn't have the Libre on but so far really no change in his glucose since this morning. No changes to his little personality either, if anything he seems to be more like his old self pre-diagnosis, so he seems to have tolerated the .25 increase this morning
It's good to be vigilant after the dose increase, but sometimes it takes some time to impact the blood glucose because the depot needs time to build (which could take up to 6 cycles).
 
Yes on giving the b12 weekly. It will be a once weekly shot for 6 weeks and then one month later.

I think I want to go with the TR method. I work from home so I can usually be around to test him. I read the stickies but it seems like with TR there is a shorter cycle period for increasing the dose (if the numbers determine that is appropriate?) But would be helpful for a summary to decide!
Great! Hope those shots help quickly!
And to ad to Connie's excellent post, with SLGS reductions are taken immediately if he drops below 90 on a handheld meter and if he drops below 50 with TR.
 
Back
Top