? 11/9: Nova--amps 70; +6 53; +11 45; +11.5 47; +12 50--2/3 under 50--shooting 4u; +1 105

LindyNova

Member Since 2019
Last post

Nova is doing well, staying at the lagoon and at the beach with her food spikes. I think she wants a reduction, but I have been adding in MC food to her mid-cycle meals, and once even at +9.75 (MC only) to keep her from dropping below 50. Don't know if I should stop that and let her earn a full reducie (after 3<50) or not. I had fattened her 4U dose--seems like way back when---and have been getting closer to a real 4 by a drop or 2 these last 2 cycles. Her nadirs have crept closer to shot times.

Man, I really like her numbers lately. :cool::D:D:D
 
Nova is looking good. If she wants a reduction, she'll earn it whether you give her MC food or not. However, it may be a drastic drop if you are propping her numbers up with food.
 
Nova is looking good. If she wants a reduction, she'll earn it whether you give her MC food or not. However, it may be a drastic drop if you are propping her numbers up with food.
She has been known to go drastic.....usually at around +4/5.....so, you're right, if she wants it she'll get it. Trying to avoid the back to backs as in the past. :)
 
I decided not to intervene with MC added to Novie's food at mid-cycle. Let's see if she holds her own, or gets one step (2/3) closer to a reducie. :nailbiting::D
 
Well..I was afraid of this 45. Her nadir is so late, and this would be 2/3 for an earned reduction. Feed?, No food? definitely will test before shot & food time, but she has a habit of hitting her low near now to food at +11.5-11.75. Stall, until over 50?
 
Don't feed, retest in 15-20 minutes.
Did not feed--retested @ 11.5 = 47 (normal feed time) will re-test in another 15 mins. You would not believe the S%$@ I'm getting for not feeding and testing right now. It really blows how my family does not support me in this endeavor. :mad:
 
From the Handling Lower Preshots Sticky:

Some general rules when stalling (ECID):
  • 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
  • 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.
    • When 40s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
    • If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
      • Example: if kitty is 43 and you feed a whole meal, or feed some HC, and the number bumps up to 52, is that the cat’s natural end-of-cycle rise, or is it food spike? What if it is food spike? Then if you shoot the 52, when the food wears off he might drop back to the 40’s (and when insulin kicks in a couple of hours later, you might have a problem). If the 52 is the cat’s natural rise, then he will probably keep rising for the next few hours until insulin kicks in. If you can’t tell whether the number is food spike or natural rise, it’s safest to wait. Your data will help you here. Study the spreadsheet. How much food spike does the cat usually get? How many hours after the shot does the insulin’s onset usually occur in this cat? At what number is the cat likely to be when onset occurs? If the cat does drop, how easy/hard is it to regain control of the numbers? How carb sensitive is he?
  • Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes). You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.
 
Sorry about the family attitude. :rolleyes: If they aren't going to help, they should stay out of your hair. :mad:

Glad to see she's not continuing to drop. At the next test in the 40's, you can try part two and that tsp or two of LC. Do you know what her food spike from dinner is, when she's not bouncing?
 
From the Handling Lower Preshots Sticky:

Some general rules when stalling (ECID):
  • 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
  • 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.
    • When 40s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
    • If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
      • Example: if kitty is 43 and you feed a whole meal, or feed some HC, and the number bumps up to 52, is that the cat’s natural end-of-cycle rise, or is it food spike? What if it is food spike? Then if you shoot the 52, when the food wears off he might drop back to the 40’s (and when insulin kicks in a couple of hours later, you might have a problem). If the 52 is the cat’s natural rise, then he will probably keep rising for the next few hours until insulin kicks in. If you can’t tell whether the number is food spike or natural rise, it’s safest to wait. Your data will help you here. Study the spreadsheet. How much food spike does the cat usually get? How many hours after the shot does the insulin’s onset usually occur in this cat? At what number is the cat likely to be when onset occurs? If the cat does drop, how easy/hard is it to regain control of the numbers? How carb sensitive is he?
  • Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes). You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.
Thank you, I needed that reminder...I do know that stalling is best.....but, well, I get pressure from the family. So now I'm punishing the Grand kitty by not feeding right the heck now! SMH :facepalm:
 
Sorry about the family attitude. :rolleyes: If they aren't going to help, they should stay out of your hair. :mad:

Glad to see she's not continuing to drop. At the next test in the 40's, you can try part two and that tsp or two of LC. Do you know what her food spike from dinner is, when she's not bouncing?
the last time, with no bounce @ 1.5 was about 100 over pmps @ 11.25. Lately, from 30+ to 60+ @+2.5-3
 
+12 = 50. She's on the rise and will rise more with her food as usual. Shooting 4u instead of 4-ish. On schedule, thank goodness....one more day until I work from home until the day before Thanksgiving.
 
fed a 6% LC tonight as opposed to 3% lately. Did a 1-2 drop reducie back to 4U, was never really an increase from 4 (just fat) and I have been shaving as we go, drop by drop--as well as I can measure---until today. Reg 4U given.
 
Whoa!!!:nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting: That was a nail biter of a cycle. Nova is looking fantastic. :bighug: Sorry your family isn't as supportive, but I think you did a fabulous job handling her late nadir numbers. :bighug:
 
Good thing you shot! Well done, take a bow in front of family. :)
I have had no luck with skipping a shot, or for that matter doing a BCS. She always flys into the clouds when I do that. I may have even shot if below 50 (but not too much under). I did it once without thinking and had no repercussions. ** do not shoot under 50** for all you lurkers (me included) Nova is especially sensitive to carbs and most usually does not stay flat after pmps. :) I was lucky.
 
The only risk with those 40's is that she would go down if you stall too long without food. I was lucky that Neko always came up when she gave me a 40's before PS.
 
Back
Top