? 11/9 Nico amps-446,+4 -HI, pmps- 467

Tyleete

Member Since 2025
Well, at least it's not "high"?:/
For any that do the caliper readings -
Do you do this every time you measure the dose?
&
Say you thought you were giving 2.5u, but it turns out it was less like 2.25u? Do you suddenly change it to the caliper measured 2.5 or stay at the 2 25u?
I ask because we were at 2.5 and moved dosing up to 2.75. So.... What if what I was giving was slightly off?
Thanks!
 
Hello there! I was just checking in on Nico and you. I am sorry to see that hos spreadsheet looks the same as it was looking on ProZinc. But it’s early days yet, so I am hopeful! I hope all your kitties are well.
 
Hello there! I was just checking in on Nico and you. I am sorry to see that hos spreadsheet looks the same as it was looking on ProZinc. But it’s early days yet, so I am hopeful! I hope all your kitties are well.
Aw, thank you! He is having a few good ones, even in the 200's one night, which he'd never had that since this begun. That was just a couple nights ago. So I'm hoping it's just him bouncing and will eventually settle.
I'm so thankful we have so many caring people here to give their time and thoughts. It's so funny how I trust you guys more than my vet when it comes to his diabetes. My husband asked me yesterday.... Does the doctor know where he's at?
I just laughed and said..
Not yet. I plan to wait til he's stable and then let her know.😅 I have a girl that was also diagnosed with scl gi 2weeks ago now, and that's made things harder around here. But after a good week on Elura daily, she's finally eating without it. So here's to hoping.
Thank you so much for thinking of us, it really does bring some warmth to know we were on your mind, even after we switched to the other med & board. I'm still very hopeful. Hope all is well with you and yours.🥰
 
Regarding calipers, do you have ones that lock the arms in position? It's a little screw at top. I just adjusted the calipers when I went to a new dose, then locked it into position, Hubby would also sometimes shoot and I wanted him to be giving the same dose as me. We'd use the calipers each time.

What makes you think you were giving less insulin with calipers? Do you line it up against the syringe markings to see where it compares to what you were doing before starting calipers? Looking back, it looks like yesterday was the first day using calipers? 11/8 Nico amps - 344, +4 - HI, +7 -HI, +3 -436. meaning if out it would only be a few doses?

Not bad yet. He didn't even see below 300 on Prozinc, so I suspect his body is reacting strongly to that 234. It's possible that he's taking six cycles to clear his bounce from that 234 or better. Tonight would be cycle six, so maybe he'll come down tonight again or tomorrow AM. If not, you are clear to increase to 3.0 units.
 
Regarding calipers, do you have ones that lock the arms in position? It's a little screw at top. I just adjusted the calipers when I went to a new dose, then locked it into position, Hubby would also sometimes shoot and I wanted him to be giving the same dose as me. We'd use the calipers each time.

What makes you think you were giving less insulin with calipers? Do you line it up against the syringe markings to see where it compares to what you were doing before starting calipers? Looking back, it looks like yesterday was the first day using calipers? 11/8 Nico amps - 344, +4 - HI, +7 -HI, +3 -436. meaning if out it would only be a few doses?

Not bad yet. He didn't even see below 300 on Prozinc, so I suspect his body is reacting strongly to that 234. It's possible that he's taking six cycles to clear his bounce from that 234 or better. Tonight would be cycle six, so maybe he'll come down tonight again or tomorrow AM. If not, you are clear to increase to 3.0 units.
I think I may have misread the whole caliper thing. Cause in truth, I've looked many times tonight after calculating that mine is 1.25 to 1u.
I bought the exact one from harbor freight that was suggested, so it does have the screw to lock in and I do use that. I checked the 1 unit to make sure that's right. Then I looked at the 2.5 unit that I had been giving, and the dosing/marks on the syringe are all correct. Checked a couple different ones even from different bags. What the caliper says should be 2.75, it is on the syringe. And I'm the only one giving the meds & feed all the cats. So no worries there.
Should I give longer than the 6 cycles, or just 3u in the morning. And what is the number I should be looking at if you want me to move to the 3? Meaning, only go up if it's such & such a number or higher?
Thanks!
 
Not bad yet. He didn't even see below 300 on Prozinc, so I suspect his body is reacting strongly to that 234. It's possible that he's taking six cycles to clear his bounce from that 234 or better. Tonight would be cycle six, so maybe he'll come down tonight again or tomorrow AM. If not, you are clear to increase to 3.0 units.
His number just now at +3.5 was 391.
 
If you see under 200, stay with 2.75 units, otherwise increase. Your choice if you prefer to increase in the AM or PM. With TR, you hold the dose at most six cycles if seeing nothing below 200.
 
If you see under 200, stay with 2.75 units, otherwise increase. Your choice if you prefer to increase in the AM or PM. With TR, you hold the dose at most six cycles if seeing nothing below 200.
OK & got it!
Am I still doing right, feeding him before each shot, then at +2 & +4 am and pm? That's not having a bad effect on this, is it?
Here's to hoping!😁
And thank you.🥰
 
Several smaller meals is fine. It's a little early in Nico's FD journey on Lantus to see whether +2 and +4 are exactly the best times for him. We do know he onsets by +2, as your +2 tests have shown that he's down from PS then. When you've got some time, get some tests around +1 or +1.5. It'll give you an idea how much his dinner bumps up his numbers. That's a handy thing to know when you are facing a preshot much lower than you are used to.

Also, once you know when he onsets and if you see that he takes a bit drop then (some cats do), you would adjust the feeding time a bit earlier so he has fresh carbs in his system to slow down any big drop. Big drops also cause bounces. But we don't have enough data yet to see if he's one of those big droppers. I was just mentioning it as something to watch out for, and how we can use data to fine tune when we feed.
 
Several smaller meals is fine. It's a little early in Nico's FD journey on Lantus to see whether +2 and +4 are exactly the best times for him. We do know he onsets by +2, as your +2 tests have shown that he's down from PS then. When you've got some time, get some tests around +1 or +1.5. It'll give you an idea how much his dinner bumps up his numbers. That's a handy thing to know when you are facing a preshot much lower than you are used to.

Also, once you know when he onsets and if you see that he takes a bit drop then (some cats do), you would adjust the feeding time a bit earlier so he has fresh carbs in his system to slow down any big drop. Big drops also cause bounces. But we don't have enough data yet to see if he's one of those big droppers. I was just mentioning it as something to watch out for, and how we can use data to fine tune when we feed.
But he doesn't get any carbs at all. He only eats fresh cooked chicken and pork tenderloin. It cooks in water too give a natural broth + EZ Complete. It's that ok? I was told somewhere there are no carbs in that. Even his treats are just freezer dried meats.
 
Back
Top