11/9 Mowgli AMPS 394 PMPS 396 +3 223

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/9 Mowgli AMPS 394

Morning guys, glad to hear the pokes are going better for you ... I hope mowgli comes down off that pink floor .. I think all the kitties are hanging out on the lower levels today, if you want to pass that bit of information along to him! Have a great day!
 
Re: 11/9 Mowgli AMPS 394

Wonderful news on the pokeys!!! A little vodka goes a long way :lol: :lol: Have a great day and I hope you see some good numbers from Mowgli today!
 
Re: 11/9 Mowgli AMPS 394

I'm so glad the testing is going better, Keri! Good job with sticking with it...I know we keep saying this, but it's true....it WILL get easier! Hopefully Mowgli will start seeing some better numbers very soon. Have you been able to test for ketones yet? Please let us know if you need help with that, ok? Have a good day!
 
Re: 11/9 Mowgli AMPS 394

Good morning Keri!!! Happy Tuesday! So glad that today is starting out well for you two. I was just wondering...are you approaching him from behind? I think that it is better if you place him in a way that you are behind him when you test. Where do you do the testing? Do you work at the same spot all the time?
I think it's better to discuss things when it is a calm time...like now. :razz:
So many have given you good pointers about what works for them and their kitty. I think that once our kitties understand that this is part of the routine, they accept it. At first, I think we are all upset at the thought of doing this to them. On the other hand, you know how bad you felt when you shot blindly. It is important to test and now, I am hoping that you and Mowgli will settle in to a nice routine for yourselves. You are doing a GREAT job!!!
Hoping you both have a wonderful day today...and that you will see some nice lower numbers soon.... :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/9 Mowgli AMPS 394

Ah yes, the so far "calmer" version of keri today... ~O)
Again Hi everyone and thank you for the continuing support!
To answer some questions..
I have not tested for ketones yet, I was hoping to do so this weekend, i do not imagine this is going to be an easy task by anymeans.....Suggestions would be appreciated of course! I will have to be aware of his potty breaks, as I don't want to be testing the civvies urine and not his...
I have not been testing in the same place, however, at the +6 in the pm and the AMPS they are in the same place.... I also try to do his PMPS and +3in the pm in the same place. But those two places are different... perhaps I should be more uniformed and make sure it is done in the same place all the time?
I generally call him to me, I don't need to pick him up from wherever he is and bring him to testing location..he will usually come on his own accord....
I do sit with him between my legs facing away from me....sometimes i am kneeling but he is between my legs, and either way, there is not usually any restraint, i try to give him love and snuggles from above, and let him see everything I am doing.... I am going to start incorporating words though, testing time, etc... i do try to talk in a calming voice (at the beginning all is good, he even purrs) I have found these 30gauge BD lancets "dreamy"...they do not fit in the lancet device I have so I am still free handing... (will look at purchasing a lancing device that will work with them)
I have eliminated treats from the process as they prvide more of a distraction than anything...he gets his treats once successful. OR if it isn't successful and we getting frustrated I give a treat...
He is a little funny when he gets ticked, because he starts smacking the BG meter....or the strip vile, whatever is within smacking distance.....and he has pretty big paws so those things can go a good distance....
I truly know the importance of the numbers, and it still baffles me how veterinarians, or pet owners can ALWAYS shoot without knowing what the numbers are.... How would one even know IF the insulin is regulating their diabetic cat? I hated shooting him blind, but i KNEW i would DEFINETLY be getting a BG after the shot! Their is NO WAY i would be able to sleep not knowing his numbers..... It boggles my mind really, to not track your kitties bg....
I am concerned about his numbers remaining high... But I will hang onto this dose for the required amount of time... He is STILL on his anti biotics, I do not know if this would increase his numbers? But obviously I won't want to increase his dose or think about increasing it until he has been off his antibiotics for awhile..... He should be done (will double check tonite) his anti biotics on thursday morning....
and yes, the drinking09 helped me to relax last night....
i find that mowgli and i have the most success when I am half asleep!! LOL ( when i set my alarm to get a night BG or first thing in the AM, well except for yesterday, but yesterday i am chalking up as HELL day!)
Ok...i think I have answered some things, maybe that will provide some insights to someone as to his high numbers??? also generate some ketone testing advice....
Talk to you all soon, and have a good Tuesday!
 
Re: 11/9 Mowgli AMPS 394

Keri, You and Mowgli are doing great. See, it does get easier. Just try to stay calm and think "success"!

Have a great day!
Ella
 
Re: 11/9 Mowgli AMPS 394

I'm very glad to hear that the testing is going better. Blackie is up on the pink floor with Mowgli this morning, so he's not alone up there. When I have to catch urine, I use a shallow bowl and stick it under Blackie's rear when he's in the litter box. The hard part is catching him in the litter box because you have to watch him all the time. I know others use a ladle. And others put something in the litter box to catch the pee.

Have a good day, Keri.
 
Re: 11/9 Mowgli AMPS 394

Just checking to see how things are going today. I'm glad you and Mowgli are feeling calmer. Sorry, no advice on ketone testing. Tess was so offended the first time her butt has been firmly planted on the litter ever since. No chance of getting a strip under. :lol: I have switched to a Tidy Cats Breeze box w/ non absorbent litter. The urine goes into a reservoir underneath. But w/ multiple cats I'm not sure how well that would work.

Hang in there, it's getting better already.
 
Re: 11/9 Mowgli AMPS 394

You are doing a great job w/Mowgli. Keep it up. Yeah for successful pokies. You are now an official member of the Vampire Club. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/9 Mowgli AMPS 394

Keri

So glad to hear things are so much better!!! I am totally with you on shooting blind or not home testing...I just don't understand why any vet would send someone home with Lantus and say "shoot twice a day and come back in two weeks". ARRGGHHH!!! All vets need Lantus training!

I check ketones on Gracie every day unless she is running blue/green for long periods. If you use a bowl or dipper spoon, be sure that it's never be used
for anything else because if it has...it could have some residual sugar on it. I also worry that if I reuse a bowl or dipper, that it could still have sugar
from the last test so I make these little foil trays and as she is squatting, I just stick it under her bottom and she pees in the tray. Then I test the urine, toss the extra pee in the toilet, and toss the foil tray.

Hope this helps...have a great day!
 
Re: 11/9 Mowgli AMPS 394

What is he on antibiotics for? What are the A/B? Pills or liquid? Some A/B will affect BG, some liquids have sugar in them.

I wouldn't try to test from the same spot all of the time, it's not necessary and may make his ear sorer. I use only one ear, and go up and down the edge, poking in different spots each time. I discovered early on that different ears give me very different numbers...weird, but true!

I would try to test for ketones as soon as you can, since he does have pretty high numbers, and the A/B makes me wonder about infection...those are two risk factors for ketones. If he isn't the best eater, that's another risk factor. Don't panic about it, but it's important to know if he has ketones.

A few ideas....you can try to catch him peeing and stick the strip in his urine stream, that's the easiest way. Failing that, since you have civies too, it gets a little trickier. You could put him in a separate room with a litter box and water. If you have some idea of where he pees in the box, you can use saran wrap and put it over that area in the box, tuck the corners into the litter. When he pees, it will form a puddle and you can test from there. You can also test from the litter if you catch him coming out of the box and can stick a strip into the urine spot...but you will need to make sure the litter doesn't give you a false positive test. To do that, take a little of the clean litter and put it a cup with some water, then test the water. If it is negative, then you can test from the litter. Another option is to replace the litter with clean aquarium gravel and test from that.
 
Re: 11/9 Mowgli AMPS 394

Hi,
I really try not to test mowgli in the same spot all the time, but I am telling you this...BOTH of his ears are really bad right now... and it is specifically because I have been trying NOT to use the same spots all the time... I dunno how it got this bad, (other than it is my fault and I truly feel horrible about it) I know that in time they will heal, but due to the fact they are so sore and look horrible, yet i must continue to test I worry about how long it will take to heal and if I am causing any damage by continuing to poke.... I mean, they are both really bruised and look horrible......I have done my best NOT to repeat spots, but chances are there have been some repeat pokes.... I feel even horrible telling this, i feel like I have done wrong terribly wrong...how will i get his ears to heal????????? HOW???? I am sure this is part of the reason that the blood getting is not going so well....it is actually HURTING him........I think I have probably done worse than any of you have, and have no idea how to reverse it, how to get his precious ears to heal......I don't even want a visitor for fear they will think I am harming him......
The a/b are pills, and they are for what the doctor believed was an underlying infection of a tooth... (which makes me think he has more issues with his mouth, and this is why his BG is so high) Clinacin is what he is on...
Food isn't an issue, he loves to eat! loves his food...

I will try to get some urine this evening as well....or somehow test his urine...he pees anywhere any of the boxes...not particular...

did you read about his "fudge like" loose stool? could this be a ketone issue too, i was reading about glucoseria.....
appreciate your feedback....


OMG!!! this just occurred to me!! COULD I HAVE HARMED HIS EARS ENOUGH THAT THEY ARE INFECTED????????? OMG!!!!
------I SUCK!! I AM THE WORST MOM!--------- :cry:
 
Re: 11/9 Mowgli AMPS 394

Keri, Don't bash yourself. It will be OK. His ears are not infected. Please try the Neosporin creme with pain-killer. Put it on his ears after the last poke of the evening. It will help them to heal overnight. (You can also use Neosporin ointment to put on his ear just before you use the lancet; it works like vaseline to help the blood drop to bead up.) After you poke and get the blood drop onto the strip and into the meter, fold the gauze pad (or tissue) down over his ear and apply gentle pressure for about 20 seconds. This will really cut down on bruising.
And don't worry!! Someone on this board (can't remember who) once made the comment that cat's ears have evolved so that they don't feel much pain if injured. The reason is that ancestor cats often got into fights, and the ears were in the first line of battle!

Hang in there!

Ella
 
Re: 11/9 Mowgli AMPS 394

ok..i am trying not to freak out about ketones now....(sorry Laurie i know that wasn't your intention, lol)
But I know right, with his consistently high levels...
I have been putting the polysporin creme on every time after i poke...I honestly have not been able to find the neoporin..maybe it isn't available here???
I have been applying pressure after his pokes, at this point it probably isn't helping but will be good for future use...

Man, my other critters are so ticked at me..the dogs haven't had their long walks and the other kitties are getting minimal pets in... (however the other kitties now have delicious LC FF to enjoy) I believe it will be the same tonite as I try to get some urine from mowgli...
I will not be trying the spoon under the bum technique, i am SURE that would completely backfire on me....i will try the other techniques mentioned....
~~breathe keri breathe~~ don't get stressed now~~
i have covered boxes too..maybe I should grab just a tray tonite...he may be inclined to give it a whirl being all new and fresh and everything..
drinking09
 
Re: 11/9 Mowgli AMPS 394

Keri,

Relax, Breath and welcome to the club. I took a look at today's and yesterday's condos. I agree, multiple sticks for a test really suck. Unless you see obvious signs of infection, I wouldn't worry about it too much though - I only poke 2X with each lancet. There are times (like this morning) that I poke Buddy upwards of 20X to get enough blood for a test. Some day's he just doesn't want to bleed. I keep at it. Other days are a breeze, single stick, beautiful drop not too big, not too small. This all with the same technique, sometimes mid ear is better, sometimes tip is better, sometimes when I get desperate, I go inboard of the vein for blood instead of towards the edge. Sometimes that works, sometimes that doesn't. Rubbing and heat help, but if you have radiators, it might help to put Mowlgi on it for 5 min before testing to warm up the entire cat (assuming a safe temp for your cat). When Buddy warms himself on a radiator and is calm and not stressed for food, that's when I have the most luck.

As for blind shooting, at the beginning I did it out of ignorance. My vet suggested I might be able to test at home, but didn't say it was necessary or something I might want to do regularly. I got a meter just to try it out and did some spot checks here and there. Then I found this site, and now I won't shoot blind in the morning cause I won't be around to check him later during the day. Evening is a different story. I would have done exactly what you did last night but get the insulin in him on time. Inject and test later, keeping a close eye. Not always the best method, but better than skipping a dose of Lantus. Do you have a hypo kit? Karo, strips, high carb - gravy type food, instructions and vet and emergency vet numbers and addresses? There is a sticky with all that around here somewhere, if you can't find it, let me know.

Glad to have met you, and remember that what you are doing for your cat make's you the world's best Mommy. It's a lot to handle/juggle especially when taking care of other cats/dogs in the house somedays I still feel pretty raw. Feedings/food/etc. can be a pain to keep straight and separate, but keep on keepin' on!

Tony Buddy and Jade(y)
 
Re: 11/9 Mowgli AMPS 394

Keri, I'm sending you a virtual vodka 'n tonic! drinking09

You're doing fine, please don't get stressed. The ears will get better, you'll get the ketone test when you can manage it. No panicking, ok? :YMHUG:
 
Re: 11/9 Mowgli AMPS 394

Oh and the fudge like stool, formed piles I'm guessing? Not flat pancakes. I've seen this associated with increased BG values and others have as well. Not necessarily associated with the cat throwing ketones. Good luck on getting a sample. My experience has been when Buddy stands up mid pee, he shoots it straight back up and over the side of the box, hits the cabinet behind and I get a drop before it hits the floor. He now has full covered boxes and this method will not work anymore. But if your cat has polyuria, the pee may pool for a bit in the litter when you can get a stick in it before being absorbed by the clay. You really don't need more than a drop for a ketostix. Just a thought.

Tony
 
Re: 11/9 Mowgli AMPS 394

:YMHUG: for the virtual V & T Laurie! and the hugs!
~~why why why do i get so stressed about this~~

I have been through some stressful things, bitter break up of a ten year relationship for one, and THAT didn't stress me like this! this stress is doing crazy things to MY body never mind Mowglis....
I am trying to breathe..... Deep breathes....
I guess its because I feel HIS health is in MY hands, and I can't fathom the thought of doing something wrong that leads to his being harmed......
Oh & Tony, thanks for the extra tips, he does still pee a mountain, so i may be able to get in there in time.. But beforehand I will check the litter and see if it will affect the reading...
And thank you EVERYONE else as well, for tips on urine trapping and other very useful tips....

Enjoying my V&T, thinking positive thoughts, exhaling stress so it does not travel home with me......
 
Re: 11/9 Mowgli AMPS 394 PMPS 396

All systems go for Ketone test...
saran wrap in the area he usually pees his mountain.... check
litter tested negative for ketone.....check
mowgli fed, injected and BG tested----check, check, check

Mowgli Pee
~~~tapping foot~~~ waiting.....

P.S when do they usually pee after eatting? lol

(i don't like his consistently high BG :? )
 
Re: 11/9 Mowgli AMPS 394 PMPS 396

I didn't like Buddy's consistently high BG either, good thing he doesn't throw ketones easily while on insulin, but ECID (every cat is different). Don't worry too much about it. Try to test, but worrying isn't going to help you or Mowgli. Good luck!

Buddy usually pees 5 min after eating. . .

Just my experience.
Tony
 
So i am not sure how accurate this BG is, maybe he is dropping, call me a skeptic, lol

i had to put it on my fingernail this time....soooooo???
anyway, he still has NOT pee'd...in fact NONE of the kitties have! LOL
WHAT is up with THAT!
 
Mowgli and Keri said:
So i am not sure how accurate this BG is, maybe he is dropping, call me a skeptic, lol

i had to put it on my fingernail this time....soooooo???
anyway, he still has NOT pee'd...in fact NONE of the kitties have! LOL
WHAT is up with THAT!

Nice +3...if you aren't sure it's accurate, you can always re-test. Sometimes I get an odd number, so I just test again. But it's a nice number! I would get another test for sure before bed.

Sheesh, he's a stubborn kitty! I know what's up, somebody's kitty gave Mowgli the URL for your condo and he's reading it! They always seem to know when we want them to do something, and they just won't do it! :lol:
 
oh these kitties!!!! always keeping one step ahead of us!!

Mowgli is really cat(2)_steam right now...at me & the innocent civvies!!. i will try n get another BG tonite but definetly no promises...
ps he snacked too...so if anything probably a +6
 
Keri - I can tell you - that neosporin pain relief cream is amazing. It took so much redness away, seemingly overnight. I was impressed! so score some of that the next time you are at the store. good stuff.

have a good night Keri
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top