Re: 11/9 Mowgli AMPS 394
Ah yes, the so far "calmer" version of keri today...
Again Hi everyone and thank you for the continuing support!
To answer some questions..
I have not tested for ketones yet, I was hoping to do so this weekend, i do not imagine this is going to be an easy task by anymeans.....Suggestions would be appreciated of course! I will have to be aware of his potty breaks, as I don't want to be testing the civvies urine and not his...
I have not been testing in the same place, however, at the +6 in the pm and the AMPS they are in the same place.... I also try to do his PMPS and +3in the pm in the same place. But those two places are different... perhaps I should be more uniformed and make sure it is done in the same place all the time?
I generally call him to me, I don't need to pick him up from wherever he is and bring him to testing location..he will usually come on his own accord....
I do sit with him between my legs facing away from me....sometimes i am kneeling but he is between my legs, and either way, there is not usually any restraint, i try to give him love and snuggles from above, and let him see everything I am doing.... I am going to start incorporating words though, testing time, etc... i do try to talk in a calming voice (at the beginning all is good, he even purrs) I have found these 30gauge BD lancets "dreamy"...they do not fit in the lancet device I have so I am still free handing... (will look at purchasing a lancing device that will work with them)
I have eliminated treats from the process as they prvide more of a distraction than anything...he gets his treats once successful. OR if it isn't successful and we getting frustrated I give a treat...
He is a little funny when he gets ticked, because he starts smacking the BG meter....or the strip vile, whatever is within smacking distance.....and he has pretty big paws so those things can go a good distance....
I truly know the importance of the numbers, and it still baffles me how veterinarians, or pet owners can ALWAYS shoot without knowing what the numbers are.... How would one even know IF the insulin is regulating their diabetic cat? I hated shooting him blind, but i KNEW i would DEFINETLY be getting a BG after the shot! Their is NO WAY i would be able to sleep not knowing his numbers..... It boggles my mind really, to not track your kitties bg....
I am concerned about his numbers remaining high... But I will hang onto this dose for the required amount of time... He is STILL on his anti biotics, I do not know if this would increase his numbers? But obviously I won't want to increase his dose or think about increasing it until he has been off his antibiotics for awhile..... He should be done (will double check tonite) his anti biotics on thursday morning....
and yes, the drinking09 helped me to relax last night....
i find that mowgli and i have the most success when I am half asleep!! LOL ( when i set my alarm to get a night BG or first thing in the AM, well except for yesterday, but yesterday i am chalking up as HELL day!)
Ok...i think I have answered some things, maybe that will provide some insights to someone as to his high numbers??? also generate some ketone testing advice....
Talk to you all soon, and have a good Tuesday!