11/9 milo amps HI, +3 408, +6 199, +8 135

Ava-and-Milo

Member Since 2021
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-8-milo-amps-492-5-hi.255225/#post-2874473

Hi.. i am so mad right now. the last few shots milo has been unusually upset with me, and this morning he pulled away as soon as the needle was in. so a fur shot happened.. the second in a few days. Im so mad, i need him to get his insulin so bad, his numbers are so high. I feel like i read somewhere that with a fur shot you can still give a fraction of a dose? Can i still give him .5 so he has SOME insulin? he is so high :(
 
We don’t advise giving more insulin after a fur shot. You have no idea how much in. In this case I’m going to see if you should. For now don’t. If I reach anyone I would get back to you.
 
We don’t advise giving more insulin after a fur shot. You have no idea how much in. In this case I’m going to see if you should. For now don’t. If I reach anyone I would get back to you.
thank you, i will wait till further notice
 
Hi Ava, welcome to the forum. Most of us have shot fur shots, many of us doing them back to back, and we understand your frustration and desire to see good numbers. I started Bama Kitty on Semglee--a bio-equivalent of Lantus--around the same time as Milo got started on Lantus, had lots of high numbers--reds and blacks to overcome. He is doing much better now. I am confident you'll get Milo's numbers down, too, once you find the right dose and the fur shots will be fewer as well. Hang in there.

I noticed on your earlier condo that you are finding Fancy Feast hard to find at your local stores, I guess. Have you ever shopped Chewy.com? You may be able to find some of the classics line available for shipping or get notified when they get a supply in.
 
Hi Ava, welcome to the forum. Most of us have shot fur shots, many of us doing them back to back, and we understand your frustration and desire to see good numbers. I started Bama Kitty on Semglee--a bio-equivalent of Lantus--around the same time as Milo got started on Lantus, had lots of high numbers--reds and blacks to overcome. He is doing much better now. I am confident you'll get Milo's numbers down, too, once you find the right dose and the fur shots will be fewer as well. Hang in there.

I noticed on your earlier condo that you are finding Fancy Feast hard to find at your local stores, I guess. Have you ever shopped Chewy.com? You may be able to find some of the classics line available for shipping or get notified when they get a supply in.
Hi.. yes I ended up finding fancy feast yesterday at target actually so last nights meal, snack and this morning were all fancy feast.
 
Perfect. BTW increases can take a few cycles to show progress. Some even go higher, called new dose wonkiness.
 
Just put in .50 in the dosing box. In comments you can write suspected fur shot so partial. The count until the next increase starts now. You start over.
 
I will! Are we thinking if it goes lower then where it is now? I have never had a low enough number to have to stall so what number is am i looking for?
 
I will! Are we thinking if it goes lower then where it is now? I have never had a low enough number to have to stall so what number is am i looking for?
It’s possible he could continue down. I’d feed a little lc now. No food two hours before pmps unless under 50 and that’s not likely but possible.
 
Change your title to reflect current bg numbers. Add a question mark and dosing advice if in doubt about tonight’s shot. Thanks.
 
Change your title to reflect current bg numbers. Add a question mark and dosing advice if in doubt about tonight’s shot. Thanks.
i am trying to figure out how to change title.. currently struggling to figure it out but i will change asap.. he is currently eating his FF dinner
 
He’s on the way up. You should be good to shoot tonight.
You’re so on it!! I was just about to come send you the same message ha! Yes he is.. I’ll give him his 1.25 tonight! Do you think his fur shot + token dose of .5 had any impact on him being lower today or was that also from last nights 1.25 carting him through? Or a mix of all of it?
 
Do you think his fur shot + token dose of .5 had any impact on him being lower today or was that also from last nights 1.25 carting him through? Or a mix of all of it?

I think you probably got more insulin in him than you thought this morning, plus the extra .5 so a mix of everything. Looks like he's going to bounce from dropping so quickly as well as dropping into numbers his body isn't used to so don't get discouraged if you see more black numbers tonight or in the morning.
 
You’re so on it!! I was just about to come send you the same message ha! Yes he is.. I’ll give him his 1.25 tonight! Do you think his fur shot + token dose of .5 had any impact on him being lower today or was that also from last nights 1.25 carting him through? Or a mix of all of it?
Yes. I do think so. Because you said it was the second fur shot and all that black and you have the Libre and could monitor I suggested the token but that was risky. Never again shoot a second time even if a fur shot. I also saw that a 1.5 dose had been suggested and never saw the correction. So that all went into the suggestion s a one time never to be repeated or copied by any lurkers.
 
Yes. I do think so. Because you said it was the second fur shot and all that black and you have the Libre and could monitor I suggested the token but that was risky. Never again shoot a second time even if a fur shot. I also saw that a 1.5 dose had been suggested and never saw the correction. So that all went into the suggestion s a one time never to be repeated or copied by any lurkers.
I will not do it again.! You’ve been a huge help to me today I can’t thank you enough
 
I think you probably got more insulin in him than you thought this morning, plus the extra .5 so a mix of everything. Looks like he's going to bounce from dropping so quickly as well as dropping into numbers his body isn't used to so don't get discouraged if you see more black numbers tonight or in the morning.
Okay I’ll prepare myself for the black numbers / hate to see them but at least I know why it’s happening.
 
So Milo has gone down now that we are at +3 .. do you guys think he will continue to drop? And I’m sorry if this is an obvious question, but If it does keep lowering - maybe to the 100-200 range does this mean he had too much Insulin or the right amount?
 
He’s still quite high. He’s bouncing from being lower than he’s used to. Bounces can take 4-6 cycles to clear. Some cats clear faster. His body thinks it needs to protect itself so releases glucose. It’s to be expected. As he gets used to better and better numbers he will bounce less.
 
He’s still quite high. He’s bouncing from being lower than he’s used to. Bounces can take 4-6 cycles to clear. Some cats clear faster. His body thinks it needs to protect itself so releases glucose. It’s to be expected. As he gets used to better and better numbers he will bounce less.
dang I guess I’m just so used to “hi” that these numbers seem decent to me .. but okay good to know - Thank you for all your help again! It’s easing my anxieties about all of this!
 
Happy to help. It is improvement. Normal numbers on a human meter are 50-100. It takes time to get there.
 
Back
Top