11/9 Mary Grace AMPS 409 +4 237

Status
Not open for further replies.
OK, Mary Grace - you heard it - DOSE THREAT is on for tomorrow! That is quite a drop, though to +4, I agree with Ann!
 
were you able to get another afternoon test in today? whenever you can get one, another mid-cycle test helps fill in the ss so we can see better what's going on in her little body, especially as we're trying to figure her out. later you won't need so many tests, but at this point we'd like to be able to see what her "normal" cycle will look like.

some cats have a later nadir (low point) to their cycle. i'm looking at Mary Grace's 190 on 11/5 at am +7 and thinking it's possible she's having lower numbers later in the cycle. hard to say - every cat is so very different. some cats will hit their low at +3, some at +8. if only she would tell us! ;-) :lol:

hope you're having a good weekend, elizabeth!
 
I am thinking that she is hitting her peak about 6 hours out. I am going to keep the dose the same since there are numbers under 200. I thought that maybe feeding her around the time she is going under 200 then it would stave off those high numbers pre shots. Not sure.. but her hunger is insatiable. Friday night I was eating a piece of pizza and before I knew it she had jumped up grabbed it from my plate and ran, like a wild animal with prey. My first thought was great..pizza..high carb, couldn't go for the cucumbers? I had to get it away from her. She growled and hissed and her brothers were confused and kept following her making her freak out even more. I ran and grabbed the jar that has the freeze dried chicken and shook it and it worked, she dropped it long enough for me to grab the pizza. She has never been so aggressive about eating and never taken anything off my plate before! -
 
when the nadir occurs can vary from cycle to cycle. as you keep getting spot checks we'll be able to see it more clearly. You're doing a great job of testing. well done!

She's had 11 cycles of 2.25 with nothing lower than 161.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.

when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

the guidelines would have you increasing by .25u at this point, so her new dose would be 2.50u.

i laughed at the pizza story! poor starving girl. :lol:
 
OK then I will increase AM shot to the 2.5. What do you think about the spot times I fed her additionally and it made her preshot numbers better? I was trying to feed a small amount pre low to avoid bounce.
She looks like she is losing more weight. The vet has not indicated a follow up..when should I go back?
 
you want to feed her enough that she's not losing weight. even if she is overweight, she needs to lose very slowly. cats can develop fatty liver if they lose weight too quickly.

do you mean that you fed her some each time you checked her today?

i found that punkin's cycles were best if he ate all of his food in the first 3ish hours of his cycle. in the second half of the cycle the insulin isn't as available to deal with the carbs in the food. so if you were feeding her in the second half of the cycle today, i think that i'd try giving her all of her food earlier. i usually gave punkin 1.5 cans of fancy feast at preshot, then another .5 can at +3, repeating in the evening.

we do tinker with feeding times sometimes to improve cat's cycles, but i think at this point, if i were you, i'd try feeding in the first 4ish hrs after each shot and minimizing any food in the second half of the cycle. that's just my thought. i know some cats graze and do fine with it - i'm just looking at the 345 pmps tonight and thinking it might help her.

most people just go to the vet when their cat is sick. as far as managing the diabetes, we can help you with that part.
 
Oh, a pizza lover!! A cat after Neko's heart - she loves bread products. That's how we figured something was wrong with her - she developed a taste for banana bread, muffins and a baguette. :lol: :lol: We are now very good at keeping the kitchen counters clean.

Elizabeth - it would help us read the SS if you could put an indication like a * in the cells where you feed her. Or in the comments section put the feedings in terms of + times so we can see when she was fed relative to shot times and the BG readings. Feeding early like Julie suggested is good. Fast drops can also cause bounces so feeding around onset can help that. My Neko insists on a +9 daytime snack, but what she gets is 0% food (freeze dried meat) or at most 1%.

It's probably a good idea to weight Mary Grace regularly (every week or so) at the beginning so you can see whether she is getting the right amount of food.
 
I feed Mary Grace 2 cans of ff a day (1 can at each test time) When I test her sugar I have been giving her freeze dried chicken. The times that I noted from Saturday that I fed her 1/3 can of ff was in addition to the 2 cans. I was hoping that would help level her out. I get up earlier for work to accommodate testing her at +2 before I leave (up at 5:30 to start shot/test/eat at 5:45am) and it is only occasional that I can come home during the work week during 8-5. I cannot use an automatic feeder because the other cats may eat it and then I wouldn't know what she is eating. But with how HUNGRY she is she would probably bully them so she could have it all : )
I was wondering about the vet because she still seems to be losing weight, and her hunger is CRAZY!! So with that being said, should I feed her 1 can at each shot time and then maybe make arrangements for someone to feed her some at lunchtime or should I feed her extra before bedtime?
Thanks!!
 
I can see how the other cats can be a problem and you have to work to buy kitteh fuds!

We can control fast drops w/ early in the cycle, but feeding later in the cycle when the insulin has been pretty much used up will increase the carbs in the system and thus the bounce. I'd feed her at the shot time and since you are home until +2 test and give her a little more just before you leave for work. On the evening, I think a little extra at bedtime would work.

Do you have any kind of scale you can weigh her on? Baby scales work well or an electronic kitchen scale. Put a big bowl on it before turning it on and put MG in the bowl w/ maybe a treat to keep her still. If you put the bowl on the scale before turning it on it should zero out the weight of the bowl. Try to weigh at the same time of day every time. It will be a little different from the vet's scale(every scale will be a little different) but fairly consistent reading to reading.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top