11/9 Jackson AMPS 211 +2 337 +5 400 PMPS 485 +1 456 +3 407 +4 330 +6.5 237

Skye & Jackson

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-287-4-345-7-275-pmps-416-1-357-4-291.270561/

Jackson came home from the pawty last night with something for me: Cat Surprise!

Apparently after I fell asleep (passed out was more like it), he started to drop, and dropped far and fast enough that it’s probably good I didn’t see it, I would have freaked out. I recreated the numbers through the night on his spreadsheet from the Libre graph (I can estimate pretty well when I blow a picture I take of it up).

As of +15 minutes after his usual shot time, he’s still at 143, running a steady wavery line. I’d share a picture here but can’t seem to upload one. I added a tab with a graph pic to his SS. The gray area on the graph I customized to be between 150 and 100 (it’s designed for humans so won’t allow choices outside 75 or 200, so I hijacked the “desired numbers” area to be a “watch for low blood sugar” area awhile back).

What now? Obviously I do not want to shoot! He’s been feeding his own curve so to speak all night, munching on small amounts of kibble at a time. Was doing it when I woke up. Should I feed a wet meal (if he’s hungry enough to eat it) and try to drive the sugar back up? Or should I just hold the shot and see what he does, maybe see when the insulin naturally starts wearing off for him? I have 5 hours before I have to leave for work.
 
Last edited:
He is slowly rising from last night's lows. Since you have 5 hours and given his history of DKA, you do not want to skip.
You can shoot the full dose and monitor him and feed higher carb if needed.
 
I’m really kind of afraid to shoot the full dose, honestly… I can only watch him closely for the next now-not-quite 5 hours.

Although he’s definitely rising now, +1 211.

I guess I’ll do it. Gulp! I only have a few cans of HC, I didn’t expect to need it so soon… Nervous! :nailbiting:

I think I’ll feed his regular canned breakfast - as much as he’ll eat - too.
 
He will probably bounce from the lows of last night. Don't fill him up with breakfast. You might need him to eat a little more in an hour or two.
 
Well he didn’t actually eat much. He’s purry and snuggly. Seems happy.

To clarify, I’m glad he hit the low 100s - thrilled in fact although I didn’t expect it, and I’m very glad I wasn’t watching his initial dive. I would have panicked, fed him too soon, and counteracted him. And I’m very proud of him for feeding himself a nice steady surf last night. I’m just nervous about giving him a full dose when he was only at 211. Though I did, albeit an hour late. And he’s up to 259 now.
 
Last edited:
GAH got home from work and he’s been reading in the 400s all afternoon. Almost 500 at PMPS. He seriously bounced! Is that high a bounce normal? I’m assuming/hoping the bounces from hitting blues get better….??
 
Back
Top