11/9 Dosing advice please Chester & Perty

Sharlyn

Member Since 2020
Both of my cats are getting some low numbers lately and I am unsure of how to adjust their insulin. We have skipped a few shots because of not being sure what we should do. I am really excited that they are getting lower numbers but I’m afraid I am messing them up with skipping shots. Chester’s AMPS was 134 and I had to leave so we skipped his shot this morning and now he is at 352 at +4. Perty was at 118 at her PMPS so we skipped hers last night. She was at 161 this morning so we gave her .25 instead of her full 1 unit dose. I know it’s confusing with me having two but if someone could advise me on how to go forward from here I would really appreciate it.
 
I wouod probably reduce Chester's dose to 1 unit and then increase if needed. I wouod reduce Perty's to 1/2. It is likely that Perty may have to increase to 3/4.

I myself are not a fan of skipping doses even if using a depot insulin like Levemir or Lantus. I reduce the dose since skipping messes up the depot. I have three cats on Levemir and two in remission.
 
Thank you! I will make the adjustments tonight. Unfortunately they haven’t been eating very good for me today either so that has me a little concerned. They ate some canned tuna and that’s all
 
Sharlyn -- Have you given any thought to the dosing method you want to use?

On Chester's spreadsheet you noted SLGS but there's nothing on Perthy's SS. Whether you opt for TR or SLGS, could you put the information in your signature? Part of why it's important to know is that with TR, the goal is to shoot lower numbers. Ultimately, with SLGS you'd be shooting as low as 90 and you can shoot anything above 50 with TR once you're data ready.

That said, you work your way down to shooting progressively lower numbers. It's also important that you start getting at minimum, one test during the PM cycle. Looking at Chester's SS, he starting in the pinks at PMPS yesterday and was in blue numbers today at AMPS. You don't have any idea how low his numbers dropped last night. Many cats tend to experience lower numbers at night so getting those tests can be very important for safety reasons. In addition, without PM tests, you're missing half of your data.
 
Sharlyn -- Have you given any thought to the dosing method you want to use?

On Chester's spreadsheet you noted SLGS but there's nothing on Perthy's SS. Whether you opt for TR or SLGS, could you put the information in your signature? Part of why it's important to know is that with TR, the goal is to shoot lower numbers. Ultimately, with SLGS you'd be shooting as low as 90 and you can shoot anything above 50 with TR once you're data ready.

That said, you work your way down to shooting progressively lower numbers. It's also important that you start getting at minimum, one test during the PM cycle. Looking at Chester's SS, he starting in the pinks at PMPS yesterday and was in blue numbers today at AMPS. You don't have any idea how low his numbers dropped last night. Many cats tend to experience lower numbers at night so getting those tests can be very important for safety reasons. In addition, without PM tests, you're missing half of your data.
I was going to do the SLGS method for both of them. I am too nervous to do the TR. My only problem with getting the PM tests is that I go to bed early. I am usually in bed about an hour after their pm shots so I didn’t know if that would even do any good to test then. I have fibromyalgia and chronic fatigue so I have a lot of trouble staying awake at night. Do you have any suggestions?
 
Any chance you can move your shot time up an hour, so you can get a +2 before you go to bed? A +2 is often a good indicator of what will happen in the cycle, and will let you know if you need to leave then some higher carb food out overnight.
 
I was going to make the same suggestion as Wendy. I ended up moving Gabby's shot time to 5:00 so I could deal with any night time drama. (She was a bit of a diva.) It did mean I was getting up disgustingly early but it allowed for the PM testing.
 
Back
Top