11/9 Dante update.....appt w/AC **UPDATED**

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sheri & Spyder (GA)

Member Since 2009
I have upped his dose to 4u, as of last night. He MAY have dipped into blue today, but has remained in the yellows.

We have an appt w/Dawn Allen tomorrow morning.......short story- he still attacks Bonsai. I did talk to Beth, an animal behaviorist, and she suggested an AC. We need to determine whether or not Dante needs a new home, and also what the 2 of them are really thinking about this "situation". And also, maybe we can find out what happened to him when he was "younger" and why he ended up on the streets.
I hope I can find out what his real name is, 'cause Dante just ain't it....lol

Anyways, I hope to have some time tomorrow to let you all know what was said.
 
Re: 11/9 Dante update.....appt w/AC tomorrow

Good luck with the AC communicator .. I love hearing those stories, always so interesting! But I do really hope it works out, with dante staying with you guys ..
 
Re: 11/9 Dante update.....appt w/AC tomorrow

Sheri: I was so hoping and praying that Dante's numbers would go down and you'd be able to decrease his dose once he was off the ear stuff.

Good luck with the AC today!

Suze
 
Re: 11/9 Dante update.....appt w/AC tomorrow

You may also want to speak with your vet. Medications, such as Prozac, can help with aggressive behavior.
 
Re: 11/9 Dante update.....appt w/AC **UPDATED**

Well, Dawn had some very interesting things to say. In a nutshell, he and Bonsai are NOT a good match, because of him. He wants to be the only cat, so we will be addressing that issue (more later on that)

He does not like the name Dante. It's too harsh. His name might have been Tiger, but he likes soft "M" names/words, so I will try and see what he responds to.

He feels great (even though his numbers are still too high) and loves his kitty food. He has been diabetic for ~2yrs. His owners moved away and left him. He has always had people feeding him though.

Today, he bounced
AMPS = 306
+8 = 234


Almost wondering if Levemir IS the right one for him (any thoughts on this??)
 
I think you'll get to a break through dose eventually. I see a lot more yellows now, than before. I would keep with the Levemir for now.

How about Mario, or Maurice, or Majic? There are lots of nice "M" names. Manuel, Merlin, Milo, Mickey, Mikey, Morgan, Mister, Max, Major, Mooche, Murphy, Maverick, Macbeth, Marcello :razz:
Hope you figure out the name he wants to be called.

I know lots of people who have two cats and they don't get along. Wishing you the best with keeping the two cats.
 
what a neat update on Dante! (for now anyways :-D ) I'm sorry to hear he wants to be the only cat .. hopefully something can be worked out there .. I'm happy to hear he feels good and that people fed him after his owners left .. Got any names in mind?
 
What interesting insights from the AC! Do you plan any follow up session with her? Glad he is feeling good. Did she share any approach to get Dante "Mellow" with not being the only cat? Our cats dont get along and we have been unable to figure out their grievance(s) that lead to the hissys and fights, maybe someone wants to be an only cat :sad: .
 
Sheri: That's too bad that "Dante" wants to be an only child. But I'm glad to hear that he's feeling good, even though his numbers are high!

As for whether the Levemir is the right insulin for "Dante", I can't say, and ECID so I would say, if you have any doubts, you could get one pen of Lantus and switch him and test it out, but then you lose momentum by having to pretty much start over with the dosing. All I know is that Pumbaa is much happier on the Levemir (due to a lack of sting during the injections), and is much more loving now than he was on the Lantus. He still bounces, but he doesn't dive like he did regularly on the Lantus. He's still Mr. Wiggle-Butt during testing, and still a juvenile delinquent, but that's what he was like before the FD diagnosis and I'm happy that he's acting much more like his old self. He still runs from me when it's testing or testing/feeding/shooting time, but it's a game now. And now, on the Levemir, right after I test him, he goes right to his food dish on the counter, even though he knows it's injection time!

Suze
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top