11/9 Clyde PMPS 62 +1 60 +2 48 +2.5 51 +3 57 +3.5 58 +4 62

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/9 Clyde AMPS 91 +2 61 +3 69 +11 77 PMPS 62

It's been an interesting day. Clyde has been up and down. At +11 he was at 77 and had a PMPS at 62. It's going to be an interesting night. I'm going to check him in an hour.
 
Re: 11/9 Clyde AMPS 91 +2 61 +3 69 +11 77 PMPS 62 +1 60

he's looking great, will. hopefully he will just surf along tonight, but if i were you, i'd keep testing to make sure he stays flat and doesn't give you any surprises.

are you off tomorrow too? i'm looking at that pmps of 62 and +1 of 60 and wondering if it's time to try shaving his dose a little more. the protocol suggests holding the dose for 7 days before reducing further, and he's only been 5 days on this dose. what are your thoughts on it?

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.
 
Re: 11/9 Clyde AMPS 91 +2 61 +3 69 +11 77 PMPS 62 +1 60 +2 4

At +2 he dropped to 48. I gave him 1 tsp of HC food and will recheck in 30min.

Seeing this I was going to reduce to .1u in the morning :-D unless everyone tells me my understanding of the protocol is off.

I am off tomorrow and my only plans were to go to church but depending on what he's like in the morning I may not make it there.
 
Re: 11/9 Clyde AMPS 91 +2 61 +3 69 +11 77 PMPS 62 +1 60 +2 4

hehe no you are right on. i wondered when i saw that +1 didn't have any food bump at all. see i was afraid that Clyde hadn't read up on the protocol and didn't know he was supposed to stay at that dose for a week. :-D

good call, Will. you're going to be a pro at feline diabetes, although you're sure not going to be needing the info for long. :lol:
 
Re: 11/9 Clyde AMPS 91 +2 61 +3 69 +11 77 PMPS 62 +1 60 +2 4

julie & punkin (ga) said:
hehe no you are right on. i wondered when i saw that +1 didn't have any food bump at all.

good call, Will. you're going to be a pro at feline diabetes, although you're sure not going to be needing the info for long. :lol:

Thanks but hopefully I can use what I've learned to help other people. :smile: Not seeing a food bump made me want to check more frequently. I think he just wants me to stop pricking his ears and is in a hurry to get to a point where I can do it less frequently. :-D

If he keeps up the current rate of reductions he should start an OTJ trial sometime this week. Please keep your fingers and paws crossed that he keeps up his current progress.

Now I just need to figure out how to draw .1u :smile:
 
Re: 11/9 Clyde PMPS 62 +1 60 +2 48 +2.5 51

julie & punkin (ga) said:
if you need the pictures of those tiny doses, they are on the New to the Group sticky, right here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18139

my fingers are crossed and i'll go cross some kitty paws for you right now! :lol: Clyde's ss could inspire jealousy in the most generous person's soul . . :lol: :lol:

Thank you. I saw the pictures...I'm just hoping at 6 in the morning I can see clearly enough and (more importantly) remember to use the very first line :-D

I credit the knowledgeable people on this board for helping him get to this point as quickly as he did and providing the guidance I needed to make sure I kept him safe. For that, I am eternally grateful.

I'm going to check again at +3.5.
 
Re: 11/9 Clyde PMPS 62 +1 60 +2 48 +2.5 51 +3 57 +3.5 58 +4

At +4 he's up to 62. It's been two hours since the HC food so I think i'm in the clear for tonight.
 
Re: 11/9 Clyde PMPS 62 +1 60 +2 48 +2.5 51 +3 57 +3.5 58 +4

Congrats on the reduction! Great news :-D

Looks like he's in a nice surf...as usual.
 
Re: 11/9 Clyde PMPS 62 +1 60 +2 48 +2.5 51 +3 57 +3.5 58 +4

HI Will,
Congratulation on the reduction!
Clyde is looking guuud!
 
Re: 11/9 Clyde PMPS 62 +1 60 +2 48 +2.5 51 +3 57 +3.5 58 +4

Beautiful beautiful beautiful SS for Clyde! Great job on the reduction Will! Looks like you guys are on a mission to get outta here! :lol: :lol: Have a wonderful day you two :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top