11/9: Cliff|AMPS=510, PMPS=501

Status
Not open for further replies.

MiCo

Active Member
Quickie post, because I haven't slept much.

Cats woke us up early-
Stella at 3:20A and Dave gave her her denamarin.
Cliff woke us up around 4:30A and I started the routine. He was such a good boy today... I think he knew I was exhausted, but also maybe knew he needed the insulin.

Test/feed/shoot remarks:
  • Black # on ss. This AM marks first week completed at 1u bid. (We started in the PM on 11/2.) I might email the vet today with my chart & see if she wants me to go up in dose before our visit Saturday.
  • Both ate good, Cliff a little more aggressively.
  • Shot-easy peasy. :)
See ya later for pm update.
---------------------------------
Pm test/feed/shoot remarks:
  • Another black #.
  • Cliff very hungry tonight/eating aggressively.
  • Shot was easy/2 people-hubs helped.
Waiting to hear from vet. Might do 1.25 tomorrow AM. Gonna sleep on it.

Thankful for:
  1. Kind people
  2. Peace
  3. Unity
 
Last edited:
Quickie post, because I haven't slept much.

Cats woke us up early-
Stella at 3:20A and Dave gave her her denamarin.
Cliff woke us up around 4:30A and I started the routine. He was such a good boy today... I think he knew I was exhausted, but also maybe knew he needed the insulin.

Test/feed/shoot remarks:
  • Black # on ss. This AM marks first week completed at 1u bid. (We started in the PM on 11/2.) I might email the vet today with my chart & see if she wants me to go up in dose before our visit Saturday.
  • Both ate good, Cliff a little more aggressively.
  • Shot-easy peasy. :)
See ya later for pm update.

I expect the vet will recommend a dose increase. Hope it's not 0.5 u because that's probably too much in one step up. Do your syringes have half unit marks? You might have to practice eyeballing between them and there's always the option of U100 syringes with the conversion chart for later on.

Glad that you and Cliff are finding your way through this so well. :smuggrin:
 
I expect the vet will recommend a dose increase. Hope it's not 0.5 u because that's probably too much in one step up. Do your syringes have half unit marks? You might have to practice eyeballing between them and there's always the option of U100 syringes with the conversion chart for later on.

Glad that you and Cliff are finding your way through this so well. :smuggrin:
Thanks! We are using U40 syringes right now (no half-unit marks), but I have been drawing back to 5 and then pushing up to the current 1u dose. I've been practicing eye-balling the 1/2 and 1/4 increments, for when the time comes. It will be tricky, but I think I can do it. Might need a pair of reading glasses for the AM though. :)

I just remember the vet isn't in on Wednesdays, so I might not get a reply today.
 
Hey, that black number is a bummer :blackeye::(

Have you thought about increasing the dose a little? Cliff is high enough to get a little bit more insulin from the numbers I see on the sheet.
 
Hi @Ruby&Baco ! thanks for the comment. I emailed my vet this morning to share my first week of #s and ask her about a small increase in dose. I am really nervous to jump off the deep end in terms of making insulin adjustments on my own right now.

Also, I haven't mentioned this anywhere else--but we have a quick weekend trip this weekend (home to where I grew up, which is about 5 hours away) for my mother's birthday/retirement party. Cliff will be going on a retreat to the vet's for two days of pampering (aka diabetic boarding at the vet's office.) They will complete a 12-hour BG monitoring while he's there, and then he will get to spend one more relaxing night on vacation until we pick him up first thing Monday morning. To say that I am nervous about having to board him this early in his diagnosis is an understatement. But he seems to love the vet's office, the vet and all of the techs...so...

Any advice you all have on boarding him is appreciated! I'm trying not to be a wreck about it. We have a really great cat-sitter/next door neighbor that will watch our other cat Stella at-home.

Believe me--I have gone back and forth on canceling the trip/telling my brother and parents that I can't come, or asking my husband to stay back and take care of the cats!
 
I get that it is scary to increase all by yourself, then just wait on what the vet things indeed! You will get the hang off it eventually and feel secure enough to make your own decisions! We all do, but we've all been were you are now so don't feel pressured!

Oh sorry didn't know about the trip. It is maybe a good idea to (if you are going to increase) do it after your mini holiday! It gives you a safe feeling right?
Have fun this weekend :)

I have no experience with boarding a cat so I can't help you with that but a lot of other people here do! So they will come around soon to help you with some advise on that ;)
 
I'd suggest taking some of your food with a note so they won't forget and feed him high carb. And a tee shirt (unwashed so it has your scent) can be comforting.
 
I'd suggest taking some of your food with a note so they won't forget and feed him high carb. And a tee shirt (unwashed so it has your scent) can be comforting.
Thanks! Stinky tee from Hubs was on my list-to leave one for each cat. As well as food, treats, insulin for Cliff. I will include a note though.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top