11/9 AMPS: 347, +5: 90 !!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele and Peeps

Active Member
I was gone most of the morning, and I have to leave again soon for most of the evening. I should be able to get a +6 & +7.

Perhaps go back down to 1u until I can figure this out?!
 
+6: 67

I dosed her with some karo. I'm going to test her in another 30 minutes and then at +7 to see if I need to give mom a crash course in blood testing, and if I have to come home from class directly after my test tonight or keep my cellphone on for emergency calls.

Might also skip tonight's dose and just monitor to see what she does.

All in all, she WAS in a great mood before I covered her (and myself) in karo syrup.
 
oh no, i did'nt even finish reading your post as soon as i saw you dosed her with karo.
i'm going to have to have an invitational lesson on how to steer lower numbers. this is not good. i know you did'nt know, i'm not saying you did bad..but it is not the right thing to do.
please look for hypo/low numbers thread i will start ok.
 
I realize she wasn't hypoing yet, but I have almost killed her with an insulin overdose in the past. At the rate she was falling, I couldn't just let her continue falling since I am leaving in less than an hour. I am totally not comfortable with a 280 point drop in 6 hours.
 
michele yes i see your point but the number at nadir or near was good. you could have just fed her low carb food. overprotecting against a hypo could take days to clear and you are going to see a very high number tonight. will you raise dose for it?
 
I am not fighting the typical diabetes here. I am fighting diabetes induced by prednisone. She could be not eating due to the fact her cancer is flaring up. I can't see inside of her to know if this is a cancer reaction or a too high dose reaction, or if it is a human over reaction.
 
awww, michele i hope i'm not being hard on you. in my opinion it was an overkill and it would be strange not to see high numbers tonight anyway.
i wish we could talk, phone call?
 
ok, no problem.
i would think you won't have to worry about hypo tonight.
 
i was just viewing your ss and i don't see a hypo anywhere. was it before you kept this record.
 
Yes. I didn't home test when she was on Vetsulin several years ago. I began home testing after her hypo. She didn't need insulin anymore after she had hypoed, until her cancer and the prednisone she receives.
 
Michele, I don't think you did anything 'bad' OK. I personally wouldn't so so far as to say it is the not right thing to do. You took action when you thought you needed to - I think you did the right thing. This Karo experiment will play out in her numbers and you can learn from the experiment. I've been here a while and I'm still learning!!! We live and we learn.

Now, we usually don't break out the Karo until there is a BIG problem - like numbers 40 or below. Karo is like the BIG gun here - we have smaller guns like high carb food that we like to try first. You should have a high carb food on hand that she perhaps has loved in the past. Lori has good suggestion about storing and labeling the HC. That you can start breaking out at say 50 or maybe even 60 if she is there early in the curve. A 60 at +6 or +7 is about as "perfect" as a nadir as one can get.

But when they do go lower and you are worried then you can test like every 30 min. A BG of 90 is awesome - not anything to generally get too excited about. And also the timing of the lower number is important too - are the dropping FAST or did they gradually get there type thing.

You're doing OK. Lori's rightly concerned and cares [very much] that everyone succeeds. :-D
 
beautifully put gator, thank you. i am so unelequent at times. forgive me michele for being so insensitive.
 
I wasn't going to be here for her after her +7, and I didn't want to come home to a potentially bad situation. I just don't like the way she has been dropping recently, and I have come up with many reasons for the drops.

She isn't eating as much as she used to. This can mean:
1. The cancer is slowly fighting the prednisone, and she can't eat because her intestines are blocked. (Unlikely, because when they were 100% blocked, she vomited constantly), but we may be experiencing new tumor growth that is curbing her hunger.

2. She has gained back muscle mass and weight she lost pre-cancer diagnoses. Maybe her system is "healthy" where she isn't fighting the starvation caused by cancer and her unregulated diabetes. Therefore, less food.

3. Her diabetes is as "regulated" as it is going to get, and in turn she is feeling better. Because she is feeling better (probably due to the lack of starvation stated above), she is eating less and enjoying life more.

4. I have no idea what I'm talking about, and this is all in my head, and I'm just watching her prepare me for her death.

I have decided not to shoot her at all tonight. I'm going to get in as much testing as I can. Tomorrow I'm going to reintroduce her to 1u (as I won't be here for her +4 through +7), and see what she throws at me.
 
What kind of cancer? Lymphoma?

There is some thought that tumors create appetite reducing hormones. You may get to a point that you might want to ask your vet about appetite stimulants like mirtazapine or cyproheptadine.

Pepcid is another thing that some IBD cats get benefit from [H did not but Bix apparent gets benefit from it].
 
I'm sorry but I don't have a name for the cancer.

Not really sure what to say about appetite suppressing hormones either. Like I said, she's gained weight and muscle mass since the insulin. Her coat is as soft and shiny as I can remember, and she isn't acting like she has any problems, she just isn't scarfing the food like she has been.
 
the prednisone is a likely cause for weight gain and muscle mass.
it does that, as a rule.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top