11/8 Sootie Amps/229,+3.5/210,+9/160&161(@vet),pmps/285,289,274,+4/112 ,+7.5/140

Status
Not open for further replies.

HWright

Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-7-sootie-amps-284-5-177-pmps-217.167848/

Good morning all and on this sun shiny but brrrr...day. 30 degrees at sunrise...

Sootie's Amps 229 and she was right on cue at top of stairs cheerleading me on my slow ascent with fud dishes for Sootie, Bella (dancer always barges in even though she insists on having her own dish downstairs) and sweet Azalea. And of course Sootie's insulin ready to dose 0.25u soon as she gets a little more nibbles in her tummy.

Hoping all a gentle day full of vines for kitties and beans. :bighug::bighug::bighug:Whatever the Election Day outcome, I think I can safely wager that our kitties will be 'business as usual' (other than perhaps being a bit miffed that Larry, Paddy and Gladstone weren't on the ballot).;)
 
Glad Sootie's appy is good. Slide down safely Sootie.
Hope so. Sootie's recheck is later this afternoon, too. Good thing it's later in the day.
Kicking self for not voting absentee...have feeling will be too much standing in line for these iffy legs!
 
It's good to hear Sootie was begging for food. I hope she eats good today. How is Azalea's eye doing? Sending prayers.
Hi Carla,
Yep, hope Sootie's appy moving up in her priorities scale.
Thanks for asking about Azalea. I've been intending to update. Her eye looks about the same (her recheck is on Friday), her appetite pretty good. still doing eye drops and started new oral remedies.
This morning, with a little planning so that Dancer would not be upstairs, I left open the door that goes to Azalea's room. Even though DH showers her with lots of tlc time and I do much as I can, I was worried about her being separated too long. I left the door open, azalea came out, I offered her breakfast, then she turned back to her room, did her"follow me" routine, then up on the bed and gobbled up breakfast when I placed dish right where she likes it to be.
I'll try to upload photo of her from the past few days. I'd be interested in observations about her injured eye. It still protrudes, is very deeply cloudy but has not "hardened". She definitely doesn't have sight in that eye.
image.jpeg
 
It sounds like Azalea is doing pretty good. I hope her eye continues to heal so it doesn't bother her. Sending good vetty vines for Sootie today.
 
ugh! That's got to be painful.........
She doesn't seem to be in pain now (ok with eye drops and sunlight). But that eye still protrudes, not sure if it's swelling that will eventually subside or other reason. Whatever the reason, the protrusion and with no vision in that eye adds to vulnerability concerns. I guess she was confirming that this morning when she opted to return to her safety net zone on her own (or maybe she's gotten used to eating without others around).
 
Sootie's +3.5@210. Ate a bit more. She was back in a closet again but came out for treats, bg and fud. Oh my....Sootie! Eat fuds and bask in sunbeams!!!

We're heading out soon to vote and eat b'fast out (a real treat for me!) or vice versa depending on DH's ready to head out meter. DH rhythms today make for some jostling to avoid the Lunch break crowd at the polls. Grrrr! And be back home in time to bring Sootie to vet for her recheck.
At least the sun's out and warmer than 30 degrees!
 
Poor Azalea! I hope it eventually clears for her.

If Sootie were my little sweetie, I’d start thinking about another dose increase to 0.5u. You could leave her a couple more cycles if you wish but her nadirs are just so-so.

Good luck out voting today and hope you feel better. I also hope Sootie’s vet visit goes well.
 
Sending hold up vines for your legs...:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Good for you for voting!!
Thanks, Les. we got there just before the noontime rush. Already quite a line but was made quicker by two check-in lines (streets A-L and M-Z...maybe should have brought a pot luck side dish!). interesting that there were tons of signs outside the 75' line but all were under ticket and local referendum signs. Not a single presidential candidate sign. Maybe the local parties figured minds were made up one way t'other in that voting district so why spend the money? Actually I felt relieved!
 
But I do miss the lever machines. The sound and the act of pulling the lever....
I never voted on a machine with a lever. When I started voting we had punch ballots. I kind of liked those. We've been voting absentee for years. We started back when we were both mega commuters and just could not make it to the polling place, and we liked it so much we never stopped. Much easier to do it all in the comfort and privacy of your home, at your leisure.

I hope all went well with Sootie's vet visit. I agree with Marje about it being time to think about an increase.

Sending vines for Azalea's eye. That does look bad. :( I don't blame her for being skittish, but I'm sure she'll adjust, even if she never regains sight in it.

 
Poor Azalea! I hope it eventually clears for her.

If Sootie were my little sweetie, I’d start thinking about another dose increase to 0.5u. You could leave her a couple more cycles if you wish but her nadirs are just so-so.

Good luck out voting today and hope you feel better. I also hope Sootie’s vet visit goes well.
Thanks Marje,
I hope Azalea's eye continues to heal and crossing paws that maybe some vision will restore in that eye. Will probably take a long time. She's quite a resilient 18-year old.

Sootie's vet visit this afternoon:
She's gained 1/10 pound since last week: now 9.3#. Better than if she'd lost weight.
Her bg was 160 on his contour meter and 161 on my meter. :cool: I was surprised given the commotion of barking droolers there this afternoon. Sootie was pretty calm. Vet's attention with Sootie interspersed between loud droolers and a canine emergency. But housecat Martin stayed with Sootie and me; Sootie quite comfortable with Martin aka Mr. Mellow.

Vet suggests staying at .25u bid (instead of upping the bid dose) and bring Sootie back in next week. Noting that he hadn't taken good look at spreadsheet and thought that it's ok for Sootie to be in high 100's low 200's. I'm not taking much stock in his quickie observations of today.

Noting your suggestion to increase to .50u: how about I see what her pmps is (ca 7pm et here). My hunch is it may be higher bc of post-vet visit and nearing 12 hours since am shot. If she's still in blue, I'm considering staying with.25u tonight? Though risk is she'll probably be in 200's by tomorrow's amps? Or if she's in blue and I up the pm dose, I gamble that she might or might not dip too low (and I do think she runs lower at night cycle though I rarely manage to be awake enough to test/data at those hours). If her dips and spikes were more 'even' (less steep) I wouldn't worry as much. But the only thing I have control over is intake (food, insulin) and giving her lots of TLC.

Further thoughts? Thanks,
Sina
 
Bumping you up for more experienced eyes and advice from the Dose Gurus
E.D. Remember editing your thread title to include your question/need for advice will make sure the rightbeyes know you need assistance with something..
H.H.
 
Hi Carla,
Yep, hope Sootie's appy moving up in her priorities scale.
Thanks for asking about Azalea. I've been intending to update. Her eye looks about the same (her recheck is on Friday), her appetite pretty good. still doing eye drops and started new oral remedies.
This morning, with a little planning so that Dancer would not be upstairs, I left open the door that goes to Azalea's room. Even though DH showers her with lots of tlc time and I do much as I can, I was worried about her being separated too long. I left the door open, azalea came out, I offered her breakfast, then she turned back to her room, did her"follow me" routine, then up on the bed and gobbled up breakfast when I placed dish right where she likes it to be.
I'll try to upload photo of her from the past few days. I'd be interested in observations about her injured eye. It still protrudes, is very deeply cloudy but has not "hardened". She definitely doesn't have sight in that eye. View attachment 24224
Was that from a scratch injury? What did it look like before the injury?
 
If you feel you will be better able to monitor tomorrow, I think it's fine to wait to increase the dose. It also gives time for the vetty stress to wear off. I'm impressed that the droolers and other commotion didn't affect the BG more.

It's nice that your meter and vet's match, and that he's using a human meter. Much better for comparisons!

Was any bloodwork done this visit?

 
I never voted on a machine with a lever. When I started voting we had punch ballots. I kind of liked those. We've been voting absentee for years. We started back when we were both mega commuters and just could not make it to the polling place, and we liked it so much we never stopped. Much easier to do it all in the comfort and privacy of your home, at your leisure.

I hope all went well with Sootie's vet visit. I agree with Marje about it being time to think about an increase.

Sending vines for Azalea's eye. That does look bad. :( I don't blame her for being skittish, but I'm sure she'll adjust, even if she never regains sight in it.
Thanks Tricia. Azalea has always amazed me in these 16 some years we've been together. She's a tiny kitty (barely 6 pounds) but full of fortitude.

Thanks for weighing in on Marje's suggestion; hope you have a chance to read my reply.

I sound near-extinct when I mention that lever machines were what I voted on from the time I was eligible to vote until they were eliminated bc of the voting law changes. Our state I think was the last to let them go. But there was something so....definite...about pulling the lever to close the curtain, making your choices by pulling levers and then pulling the lever to open the curtain thereby casting your votes. And there was something joyful about it. It's all different now, maybe partly because it's become harder for me to get around.
I've voted absentee only once but, like you, I'm thinking it's the way to do it from now on. My mother and I always went to the polls together. One year she was too ill to go but refused to do an absentee unless I did one too! We had fun filling out our ballots, revisiting the issues and candidates. I sure do miss my mother.
 
Was that from a scratch injury? What did it look like before the injury?
Claw puncture ...somebody's darn claw. Don't know how or why...but I suspect Dancer.
I'll look for an earlier photo of Azalea but if you look at the photo I posted her left eye, which wasn't injured is pretty much how her right eye was before the claw puncture injury (her left eye still does have a bit of Corneal scarring from years ago when she was an indoor/outdoor kitty and came home with a messed up left eye. Had to have eye flaps stitched shut for a few weeks and eye drops/ointment, then herbal eye drops for months).
 
If you feel you will be better able to monitor tomorrow, I think it's fine to wait to increase the dose. It also gives time for the vetty stress to wear off. I'm impressed that the droolers and other commotion didn't affect the BG more.

It's nice that your meter and vet's match, and that he's using a human meter. Much better for comparisons!

Was any bloodwork done this visit?
I credit Martin the housecat entirely for embuing his mellow healing vibes around Sootie and me, too!
No bloodwork today, will see for next week.
 
Was wondering..could be that it looks dark because with the injury/lack of sight the pupil is wide open? It looks like a bit of cataract in both eyes?
 
Was wondering..could be that it looks dark because with the injury/lack of sight the pupil is wide open? It looks like a bit of cataract in both eyes?

Wow and thanks for taking close look.

I think the deep cloudiness of right eye is bc when the lens was punctured, lens fluid began to seep out. Also at the time of injury, the inside of her eye was almost black ..a blood red black...indicating Hyphema. That bloodiness has given way to what we see now. I'm not sure about cataract or inner scarring forming in that eye but it would make sense given the depth of the claw puncture injury. Azalea's left eye could very well have a cataract that's formed over time and resultant from the corneal tear (that was a scratch vs puncture) many years ago. One of the new remedies, crossing paws, is in effort to help strengthen the ocular healing process.
 
Sootie's pmps is.....285 and 289. I'm going to test with back up meter (I did drop mine when putting it back in the carrier pocket while at the vet...clumsy human trick?!). Giving Sootie a few minutes break to eat in between ear jabs.

Update: 274 a few minutes later with back up meter and in room without other cats hovering. Eating now. Just did 0.25u for tonight. With open mind to do .50u in am, seeing what am brings. ❤️
 
Last edited:
Hoping so. Have you seen this kind of condition before?
I have not. A friend of mine had a cat that had an eye injury caused by her other cat and had a full recovery but, that said, I don't not know what all was involved with the injury. Here is that Azuela will make a full recovery.
 
I have not. A friend of mine had a cat that had an eye injury caused by her other cat and had a full recovery but, that said, I don't not know what all was involved with the injury. Here is that Azuela will make a full recovery.

If the lens hadn't been punctured, situation would be much easier. Apparently the lens forms in utero before the rest of the eye. Immune system doesn't "know" the lens and its fluid or recognize the lens or lens fluid as friendly. So if the Lens fluid seeps out, immune system attacks it and the eye with it....resulting in need to remove eye. Vet thinks we caught it in time to prevent further damage or need remove eye. I'm hoping that with the antibiotic, the remedies and time, her eye will at least return to its normal size and maybe some vision (though the vet not optimistic about the latter).

I bring Azalea in on Friday for her one week recheck. She is also borderline renal (has been since a youngster) and for several months has been getting fluids and B12 weekly. She freaks at home about needles but is better about it at vet's. And has recurrent mouth infection that waxes and wanes. when she doesn't feel well has limited exam tolerance. It's a feat to be able to examine mouth, eye and do fluids all in one visit. Sometimes have to pick the priority of the day. And do the rest next day.
 
Sootie, ate pretty well tonight! Bella was uncharacteristically impatient about Sootie finishing her share. And omg I wasn't fast enough to spread the treats around. So.....Bella decided to make a statement (I hope that's what it was): Bella barfed up her supper right in front of Sootie who looked on in utter amazement.
 
If the lens hadn't been punctured, situation would be much easier. ApOhparently the lens forms in utero before the rest of the eye. Immune system doesn't "know" the lens and its fluid or recognize the lens or lens fluid as friendly. So if the Lens fluid seeps out, immune system attacks it and the eye with it....resulting in need to remove eye. Vet thinks we caught it in time to prevent further damage or need remove eye. I'm hoping that with the antibiotic, the remedies and time, her eye will at least return to its normal size and maybe some vision (though the vet not optimistic about the latter).

I bring Azalea in on Friday for her one week recheck. She is also borderline renal (has been since a youngster) and for several months has been getting fluids and B12 weekly. She freaks at home about needles but is better about it at vet's. And has recurrent mouth infection that waxes and wanes. when she doesn't feel well has limited exam tolerance. It's a feat to be able to examine mouth, eye and do fluids all in one visit. Sometimes have to pick the priority of the day. And do the rest next day.
Oh my! what a dance you have! Sending you lots of eye healing vines!
 
Bumping you up for more experienced eyes and advice from the Dose Gurus
E.D. Remember editing your thread title to include your question/need for advice will make sure the rightbeyes know you need assistance with something..
H.H.
Thanks HH. I think I'll hold off on the blue? for tonight...that is, unless something changes! Always good for HH to remind ED!

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: vines for all and thanks always from us here:):bighug::bighug:
 
Pm+4 Sootie gram: 112 :cool: and eating +4 wet fud snack! That's a big dip from pmps, hoping the snack helps keep her even.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top