11/8 Nico amps - 344, +4 - HI, +7 -HI, +3 -436

Tyleete

Member Since 2025
Yesterday.
Today was definitely a bounce. Nice to see he's coming down tonight.

There are pictures in the Sticky Note on Insulin Care & Syringe Info that include pictures of how to eye ball those in between doses. I did that for a long time before buying calipers.
*Question-
Since he went down to his lowest numbers the night before we increased by 0.25, how do we know it's not just the meds at 2.5 finally kicking in like someone had 0.25 suggested?
Granted, 234 & lower 300's is not what we're aiming for. So I'm not upset about raising it that tiny amount. I'm just curious.
Also, I ran out and bought both a headlamp with magnifying glasses attached (due to the video commenting about trying to hold everything) as well as the 4" Pittsburgh caliper. I have more trouble figuring that out really. I mean, I get what they're saying and mine is 1.25mm to 1 unit. But between trying to reconfigure and him finally starting to go down, is it ok to just eyeball between the 0.5ml settings on the syringe? I really don't want to start changing based on the calipers now that we're finally seeing some positive action. The lady in the video did mention consistency is most important.
Lastly, is it ok to leave today as it's only his 2nd day on new dose? It will be after what's believed to be his nadir and feedings. My son wants to take me out to a gun show. And no, I'm no hunter. Not with tending to 3 foxes, 3 possums, and over 20 raccoons. 😆
Thank you and have a lovely Saturday all!
Nico with his fuzzy sisters.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20251107_223509939_HDR.jpg
    IMG_20251107_223509939_HDR.jpg
    979.5 KB · Views: 26
My son wants to take me out to a gun show. And no, I'm no hunter. Not with tending to 3 foxes, 3 possums, and over 20 raccoons. 😆
One positive about FD - a new excuse to bail on plans.

We never used calipers. If your eyesight is good you can eyeball. No doubt it’s probably less consistent that way though. But there shouldn’t be much change if you do decide to incorporate calipers, just make sure your numbers make sense.
 
One positive about FD - a new excuse to bail on plans.

We never used calipers. If your eyesight is good you can eyeball. No doubt it’s probably less consistent that way though. But there shouldn’t be much change if you do decide to incorporate calipers, just make sure your numbers make sense.
Oh don't get me wrong, I love guns! My dad was a wmd designer and shared his live of weaponry with me. He's supposed to be buying me a new sight for my rifle there.😁
I just didn't want anyone thinking I was a hunter, as I'm a huge conservationist. I just didn't know if it was safe to leave him. My husband will still be here, but he's actually afraid to be left alone in case something happens. I'm the one that does ask the medications, shots, etc in the house. He's as afraid of the needles as he is my guns.😅
I've been under the weather last few days (cold) & felt an enlarged lymph node and got scared at first. Looked to the skies and said... 'Not yet. I'm not afraid of dying. Just please don't take me while they still need me' .🤣
 
Was also HI on the Relion meter at his +4. That's never happened, so guessing his numbers must really be astronomical right now. :(
 
I did use calipers and was happy that I did. Max was very sensitive to dose changes and the markings in the syringes were often so off. You can eyeball it though. Nico definitely needed the increase. You want to get him under renal threshold. Just continue to follow the dosing method. It was nice to see a yellow. Sometimes when they get to a bg they have not seen before they bounce higher. It’s perfectly normal but frustrating.
 
I did use calipers and was happy that I did. Max was very sensitive to dose changes and the markings in the syringes were often so off. You can eyeball it though. Nico definitely needed the increase. You want to get him under renal threshold. Just continue to follow the dosing method. It was nice to see a yellow. Sometimes when they get to a bg they have not seen before they bounce higher. It’s perfectly normal but frustrating.
Yeah, that's what I'm figuring is going on. And it makes sense. Luckily Wendy and others such as yourself have helped me understand it before the crazy numbers hit. So I wasn't freaked out when it happened.🥰
 
Numbers wobble around a lot during a bounce. I lost count of the number of times the meter greeted me ("Hi") in the morning. :rolleyes: Count today as a day to do something for you. Hope you are feeling better today.

I saw your post over on Blue's thread today. Lantus dose a great job at keeping low preshot cycles nice and flat. Not so much with the higher preshots.
 
Numbers wobble around a lot during a bounce. I lost count of the number of times the meter greeted me ("Hi") in the morning. :rolleyes: Count today as a day to do something for you. Hope you are feeling better today.

I saw your post over on Blue's thread today. Lantus dose a great job at keeping low preshot cycles nice and flat. Not so much with the higher preshots.
I don't understand what you meant by "Lantus does a great job at meeting low preshot cycles nice and flash. Not so much with higher preshot".
Meaning preshot numbers are typically higher?
He's still HI, but will take another test around the +3 tonight. He's giving me a much harder time with the ears the last few days. Doesn't want to sit once I get ready to poke and flinches, moves his head about.
I didn't get a 'Me' day, but nice to think it.😅 Both my son and I were stuck all day with bad colds. The most relaxing thing I get to do if I need a break from them inside, it's walk out back to the pond. We built a 22x15' pond for the raccoons out back. We have a bit of minnows in it along with a few Sarasa and goldfish. I can just sit out back, watch the fish and listen to our little waterfall. Gives be a much needed breather.🥰
Here's to hoping for better numbers tomorrow. If not? Might have to spend some time at the pond again. Here's some of my outside darlings.🤣
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20251108-203739.Photos.png
    Screenshot_20251108-203739.Photos.png
    2.5 MB · Views: 21
  • Screenshot_20251108-203555.Photos.png
    Screenshot_20251108-203555.Photos.png
    1.7 MB · Views: 22
  • PicsArt_04-30-04.43.38~3.jpg
    PicsArt_04-30-04.43.38~3.jpg
    339.8 KB · Views: 25
Lantus dose a great job at keeping low preshot cycles nice and flat
Meaning you start with a nice lower preshot and the numbers stay around that range the entire cycle. Look around at the other kitties with green or low blue preshots and see what happens during that cycle. The 80's was Neko's magic PS, she wouldn't move more than 10 points the entire cycle - except when she bounced of course. 🤣
 
Back
Top