11/8 Mugsy 7:30/7/45am 556

  • Thread starter Thread starter Anonymous
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Anonymous

Prior 5 readings: +500 & +600
11/7 recap: 1.5u
9am - 466
12:30- 248
2:30 - 106
5pm - 58
8pm - 142
11/8: pre AMPS - 556 (started testing 7:30am - succeeded 7:45am)

See his SS for further updates angry(2)_cat
 
Good morning Sally! It is so nice to see mugsy will bg tests during the day. I hope it is getting easier for you. I'm sure others will be along to look at Mugsy's SS too. I see he had a 54. Good luck!
 
oh my goodness, what a bouncy boy :shock:
I was very fortunate that Donovan didn't ricochet after hitting low greens. It appears you are not alone in the Bouncy Kitty Club here. I know it must be frustrating. I was incredibly frustrated when Donovan was on Vetsulin and his preshots were always high (note all the *badwords* on my SS comments :cool:). Changing to Levemir made all the difference, and I am hopeful that Lantus will make a big difference for Mugsy.

Patience. But feel free to vent here too.

MJ&Donovan
 
Here is the link to yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=29235
That 556 is not a surprise is it? With the low numbers yesterday, the bounce is the reaction. We all see that with our kitties. they are not used to seeing greens, so the liver reacts by dumping hormones which result in an ugly bounce.

Mugsy is down to a yellow already which means that the bounce is possibly clearing. Did you shoot that increased dose of 1.50u this morning Sally? That is what is written in your SS for today and tomorrow.
Jill & Alex said:
sally, i'm not sure if you know this or not. forgive me if you're already aware.
the action of lantus is cumulative. one dose can effect up to the next three days.

mugsy dropped into the 50s today on the very first shot of the increased dose of 1.5 units. i'm worried.

you won't see the full effect of this dose for another couple of days. that means this dose could take him even lower... dangerously low.

mugsy *could* continue to drop for several more hours. please do NOT administer any more insulin tonight before testing him.


please, for safety's sake... drop the dose!

Hoping that you will be able to keep testing today and through the night with this amount of insulin....he might be dropping quickly again today so I hope you are prepared for that. I am rather worried as well. Good luck with the testing....hoping it will get easier for you both. Looking forward to any updates....
 
I'm really glad you've been more successful testing. And it sure seems like Mugsy is very bouncy. Hopefully that will get better soon. I pm'd you some info on testing in the hope that it will help you get more comfortable.
 
Sally

Great job with the testing! We hope it is getting easier and that Mugsy will let you do a little more testing esp at night. We'll keep
our fingers crossed for a good day for you both and hopefully his numbers will flatten out a bit.
 
Hi Sally,

Just wanted to say you are doing a great job testing and don't worry, Mugsy's numbers will get better over time. Lantus just needs some time to work it's magic ;-)

Have a good night :smile:
 
You did a great job today....I am sorry the numbers weren't so nice....sending hugs... :YMHUG:
(I peeked at your SS) ;-)
Things do get better and we just have to hang in there...
 
I second what Pat said. I am proud of you.
These numbers are just a bounce from the lower numbers. They will pass. Patience, grasshopper :-D
 
Good job on the testing, keep up the good work. :)
Hopefully tomorrow Mugsy's numbers will be better and more even throughout the whole day.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top