11/8 Mowgli PMPS-blind shot.+2 344 +6 360

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mowgli and Keri

Member Since 2010
Hi,
His numbers MAY be a bit higher because i THOUGHT it would go okay this morning so gave some real turkey while poking, lo an behold it took us a half hour to get blood, quicker for me to get blood though...my own....~sigh~
so i thought i would mention that incase it can affect the numbers that much...
still trying to keep positive...the only thing I can think tonite is to attempt the paw pad...
please if anyone has some tips on that, i am listening..
have a good day everyone...


viewtopic.php?f=9&t=29219
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli AMPS 482

Sorry to see red mowgli! You should definitely come down to the lower floors ... I hope someone can give you some advice on paw testing, we have always been ear testers .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli AMPS 482

Having re-read and re-read and re-read stickies...I am going to purchase a new solostar pen tonite....I asked my mom what she did when she injected mowgli and she did say that she drew from the pen, drew too much and released back into the pen... So my bad for not being more clear with her when i left the instructions for her.... I will highlight and go over this with her again and again tonite....
so i am wondering *and continuing to feel like i am doing no right* if this could affect his numbers... she has helped me a few times..
specifically the AM Nov 3/Nov 4, and the PM Nov 6

i mean it could make the insulin no good right?
and once i have the new pen, should i return to the .5U or remain on the .75U... i know I am supposed to stay on the altered dose for 3-5days.... BUT if the insulin is no good in essence he isn't getting a good dose...

Tonites PM will be from a brand new pen...

I feel so horrible...words cannot even express how i feel....
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli AMPS 482

Keri--Dont panic--First, yes injecting back into the pen may contaminate it, but no need to feel horrible!!!I have done it too!
I feed Moonie real chicken as her treat always before her test & she just fine--there are almost 0 carbs in real turkey---
Just looked at your ss--You need to stick to one dose for 5-7 days and see what happens--You had some nice blue numbers, so that can happen again..
You are feeding LC foods right, no dry?? Can Mowgli get into any other cat food or people foods you dont know about? If Not, OK we will help you.
Just relax, and stop beating yourself up! FD is an unpredictable disease, believe me, you arent doing anything wrong!!!

Stress in you, will make the cat stressed also-- That kept me from bg testing Moonie for months!! It will all fall into place..We are here to help..
Hope Mowgli goes down today & you fell better, if not, new pen may help--Hugs--- you need them!!
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli AMPS 482

I don't think insulin going bad is an instant *poof* occurence - meaning even if the pen was contaminated this morning, it won't show up immediately. And outside stresses can affect numbers in different ways too. Depends on the cat and how high-strung he/she is.

Don't panic yet.

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli AMPS 482

Keri, I know how frustrating this can be, but you are really doing great. I pm'd you some info on testing - I hope it will help.
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli AMPS 482

((Keri)) You and Mowgli are going it alone there. If you are constantly hearing negativity, it will wear you down and cause you to doubt what you are doing. SO, best thing is to take a deep breath now. Relax and take another deep breath! :razz:

I thought I was going to make my two cats hate me...if I had to test them and inject them. They showed me that they appreciate my fussing over them and have rewarded me with better health and cooperation with this dance that we are doing! Now, my Shadow actually jumps up on the testing towel for both his ear pricks AND his shots!! We are doing this for over a year. He has gotten so much better, his fur is beautiful and he put on weight too!
I know in my heart that I am doing the RIGHT thing. We here on the forum are all doing the testing, keeping up the SS, posting and adjusting the insulin doses according to the protocol. Other people might not understand. But, WE do!!!

You are doing what we are all doing here. You are dealing with this crazy FD. It take patience and a big effort on your part. But, you do have the tools to deal with this now. After awhile, their ears "learn" to bleed and the testing gets easier for everyone. Try to focus on the wonderful help you are giving Mowgli!! You are taking good care of him, and while others might not have a clue about what you are doing, you know that you have the forum and the protocol to help you along. We are all in this together!!! Now, take another deep breath and feel better about everything as soon as you can. :mrgreen:
Good luck with the new insulin....see what others say, but I think you could stay at the .75u if you will be able to test.
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli AMPS 482

:YMHUG:
thank you everyone for the support and encouragement! and especially the hugs... i am trying not to get down and bummed especially when doing the pokes for the BG...we definetly have good days and we definelty have bad bad days....
what size of lancet do most of you use? I have the 28gauge....

i will try to use my time here at work to breathe,, and practice breathing...
he is my good boy......i mean all my critters are good....but he so patient with me, until you are right...probably until i start to stress, then he can sense it and releases my stress through his teeth....which is fine by me...
all i could think this morning is i CANNOT imagine what it would be like to have to do this for my male malamute who doesn't sit still for even a second...
And I realize there are those that have CD dogs...

thank you again EVERYONE!!!
much love!
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli AMPS 482

lunch today provided me with,
a new lantus pen, some ketone strips, some 30gauge lancets some more test strips....
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli AMPS 482

No words....just lots of hugs for you and mowgli.....you are really doing an great job.....and as Pat said...breathing is good. :mrgreen:

((((((keri)))))))) ((((((mowgli)))))

cats_hugging.jpg
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli AMPS 482

~tear~
thank you so much! :YMHUG:

p.s they sold me ketostix, this should be good enough?? before i open the box?
k...i work...
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli AMPS 482

keri...i know you have probably gotten a lot of input on testing...but there is one thing that binks and i do that made all the difference in the world for us...and i'm pretty sure nobody else is as crazy as we are...so i'm going to share.

warming his ear: i take a small washcloth, get it damp under the faucet, then put it in a small microwave for 16 seconds. i take it out, fold it and place it inside a plastic baggie so moisture cannot get on his ear. i test the temp on my lips or my belly..then fold the contraption lightly around his ear. this is when we indulge in loves and chin scritchies until his ear warms up.

understand, i have a most agreeable, easy-going cat...but this technique has prevented us ever burning his ear...and the warmth makes it so much easier for the blood flow.

we call it our "White trash head gear"... :lol:

celi & binks
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli AMPS 482

Keri, I do the same as Celi. I dampen a corner of washcloth, pop in microwave for a few seconds. and use that to warm the ear. Checks likes the feel of it, and it brings the blood so much quicker to the ear.
I also use 30 gauge, as it's finer and doesn't hurt kitty's ear.
Good luck on the new pen. I hope that was your problem with Mowgli's numbers.
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli AMPS 482

(((Keri))) I'll tell you the one thing that helped me the most - I am using bigger lancets than you, I am using the lancet device because I was "overly enthusiastic" with freehanding it and I could tell I was hurting her. When I push the button on the clicker, I hold it in place against Shadows ear for an additional second or two. It rarely fails to produce a test-sized drop. I think sometimes those little pokes are so small, the skin closes back up almost immediately. And she now expects a bite of freeze-dried chicken after every time. I hold it in my palm of the device hand but I know she can smell it, so she waits patiently in anticipation of her treat.
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli AMPS 482

trying to breathe
trying to stay calm
going on 45 minutes
NOTHING
i am getting the pokes in, HE WILL NOT BLEED!!!! and when he does it doesn't pool...
he is getting PISSED I AM GETTING EMOTIONAL!
He is NOW a half hour late
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli AMPS 482 SHOULD I BLIND SHOOT PM!!!!?????

If he's getting pissed, give him a little break, and then lots of lovings and tell him quietly that you need to do this.
Sometimes, I have to poke many times to get a drop of blood. Sometimes, poking 3 or 4 times very close to each other can help. I wish you the best of luck.
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli AMPS 482 SHOULD I BLIND SHOOT PM!!!!?????

I AM OFF THE DEEP END, NOW I CAN'T EVEN GET A DRAW WITHOUT BUBBLES!! WHY MUST I BE HATED SO!!! HE IS NOW 40 MINUTES LATE
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli AMPS 482 SHOULD I BLIND SHOOT PM!!!!?????

i blind shot...... i will TRY AND TEST again in three hours...
i am losing it, LOSING IT
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli PMPS---blind....hate to admit it....

i just need you all to know that his ears were WARM!! i mean WARM, so i cannot figure out for the life of me WHY THEY WON'T BLEED.... i am not happy with myself for shooting without a number, but I figured it would be worse to miss the shot...never mind its bad enough I am sure to be 40 minutes late.....
i just don't know what to do...
and of course I am trying to shake it off so i can get some numbers later...
:cry:
i don't understand how I could be getting WORSE at this! he and I were doing so great at the beginning....
:cry: :cry: :cry:
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli PMPS---blind....hate to admit it....

((((Keri))))) Shake it off, you are doing the best you can. Dyana had a good tip. When I can't get a drop at first, I will poke again very close to where I poked before. I don't like to do it, but I will if I have to. Are you free-handing or using a lancet device? I'm just wondering if the lancet is going deep enough.
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli PMPS---blind....hate to admit it....

I just wrote a whole flipping post and lost the whole thing.
I think I wrote:
Breath, try to relax, put on some nice music, get a glass of wine, or some dark chocolate and / or some ben and jerry's. You are doing the best you can.

Just to share with you; my morning was filled with little things that made me feel pissy, but I kept finding good things appear in the midst of my rough morning setbacks (like when a bunch of stuff fell out of my medicine cabinet, the thing I wanted landed in my hand..these little good things kept happening in the midst of the bad). All is not lost.
Please sit back and give your cat extra lovings and talk to him quietly and tell him what a good cat he is and how much you love him love him love him. You are doing the best you can, and you will get the test(s) in. It's break time now.
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli PMPS---blind....hate to admit it....

(((Keri)))
I am sorry testing is so hard for you but most of us have really been where you are right now. When Putty was first dx it took both DH and myself to test him. We had to close all the doors to all the rooms in the house first. Then we had to catch him which took us quite a while. I would put him in a little blanket and wrap him and sit with my body kind of over him on the couch. I would warm his ear the same way Celi does with Binks. DH would poke and test while I held him. Sometimes he would escape the blanket and we had to start the process all over again. It was exhausting.

One day DH had to leave for work and Putty was too low to shoot so I had to test myself. I cried and begged DH not to leave me......anyway after an hour, a lot of tears and sweat I tested Putty myself. I have to say I never thought I would have one of those cats that jumped up on a blanket or testing spot all by themselves. I am happy to say that Putty is now one of those cats. I used to always give him a treat but I don't anymore because he does not require it. He jumps up on his little testing blanket by himself.....I do not have to warm his ears at all. If they feel cold I just rub them to move the blood around and it works.
I will say that when I was upset it made Putty more upset and the more frustrated I got the less I was able to test. I think if you start out thinking you will not be able to do it then you won't. Hang in there and just keep trying.

It really, really does get easier.
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli PMPS---blind....hate to admit it....

Keri:

More deep breaths -- just don't hyperventilate, please!! You really can do this. We all believe in you -- you need to take a few breaths, relax and believe you can poke with the best of us. I'm a testaholic and I don't test perfectly every time.

One other little factoid, one ear tends to bleed better than the other. Don't ask me why, it just does. Try Mowgli's other ear. If you do get blood, you can always scrape it on to your fingernail.

If you're up to the task, try to get a +2 (rather than a +3).

I don't think your Lantus was bad. The issue of injecting back into the pen isn't so much a problem with contamination. It's OK to inject back into a vial -- it's the same Lantus and it doesn't contaminate a vial. The issue with the pens is that they work on a pressure system. If you noticed, when you draw off the insulin, there's a black plug at the end opposite of the gasket where you insert the syringe. That plug moves down the pen as you use up the insulin. As a result, there's no air in the pen. If you inject back into the pen, you are increasing the pressure and the glass could eventually crack.
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli PMPS---blind....hate to admit it....

Keri....you are doing great. I had to double poke poor Curry's ear this evening. Ugh. I go thru periods where the ear seems to rebel against bleeding. ohmygod_smile Its frustrating but we keep plugging along. Each day is so different. Hang in there and I like Dyana's suggestion about dark chocolate or wine...or ben and jerry's.
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli PMPS---blind....hate to admit it....

((((((((((((Keri)))))))))))) Just try to breathe. You are doing every thing you can for Mowgli. It just takes a little time. It will happen. Sit w/ Mowgli and pet him. Relax, it is not the end of the world.

Try writing down step by step how you are testing. Freehand or device? Ears warm, check. Is he moving and squirming or just no blood. Do you milk the ear or what. I nearly always have work Tess's ear a little to get a good drop.

Here's what I do:
  • •I sit on the couch w/ Tess between my legs. She usually settles right in and starts purring, she knows a treat is coming.
    •I hold her ear or stroke it to warm it up. It is getting colder now though so i may go back to the sock. One thing I noticed, what bothers her most is having the inside of the ear touched. I think it tickles.
    •When the ear is warm enough I hold a tissue pad behind the ear w/ thumb and forefinger and I cup my other fingers around her head. This keeps her head still, she cant shake it.
    •One or two light pokes w/ the lancet (no device) . I hold it at a 45º angle. A little twist as you remove it helps sometimes. I use 30 gauge lancets, BD brand, I think they are sharper and don't hurt as much.
    •Still holding ear and head I use my other thumb to stroke firmly toward the poke to "milk" the ear.
    •As soon as I have a drop i apply the strip.
    •I fold the tissue over the ear and hold for 15 or 20 seconds.
    •I give Tess her treat, then I get to look at the meter.

If He is really fighting you there is the Clothes pin trick. http://www.felinecrf.org/giving_sub-qs_syringe.htm#clothes_peg_trick

Try sitting with him and scrtiching his ears often, Get him used to it, slip in a few treats. This technique is a stress buster for both of you.

Finally, go get that chocolate and wine!
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli PMPS---blind....hate to admit it....

Hi Ker! ~~ Boy does this post ever take me back. I think it is hard for all of us at first. I know it was for me too. I didn't think I'd ever get it down straight, or that Mannie would sit still for me. I used to spend alot of time talking with him, petting - all the good things when I first started testing. There were more failures than there were successes. Eventually it got easier - day by day. hang in there. you've received alot of great ideas - I hope they will help you. My procedure is the same as Ann's - only difference is that I sit on the floor. It is the spot that Mannie likes. Tried several and that was the one he prefers. and Yes (!!!) on the chocolate and the wine.
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli PMPS---blind....hate to admit it....

Keri, I don't have anything else to add to what everyone has been telling you, but I just wanted to drop in and give you and extra dose of support. I can really feel your frustration. Taking deep breaths and relaxing is the way to go. If Mowgli can feel you being stressed, he is going to be stressed and that may be one reason why he isn't bleeding to well....well, I guess I did have something to add after all.
Well, I hope you have better luck later this evening and things start to get better for you soon.
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli PMPS---blind....hate to admit it....

AWESOME!!!
so, is there any reason he would have fudge like diarreha... on the floor of the litter room?? or i guess loose stool? could it be the turkey treats (is real turkey) should i be worried about glucoseria?

i tried posting another one,
and it vanished...

i will do my best to get a +2
i have tried both ears
ears are VERY warm
have tried the lancet device AND free hand...
have tried treats and no treats
i do milk..

both ears look butchered ---check

when we started i could poke him while we were curled up watching tv, not so much now..
also...
i am having vodka, maybe he should too... i kid...
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli PMPS---blind...loose stool, glucoseria?

i poke, it bleeds it will NOT POOL, just bleeds....
this day is going from worse to worse...
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli PMPS---blind...loose stool, glucoseria?

Hey Keri, Do you put a little vaseline on the ear before you poke? This helps the blood to bead up and keeps it from spreading. Do try a lancet device. It is a very fast jab, uniform in its pressure, and may not hurt Mowgli's ears as much as hand-pokes. I held a small (2 x 2) sterile gauze pad behind the ear to both cushion the poke and to make sure that there was enough resistance for the poke to be effective. Then I made sure that I held the lancet device firmly against the ear before pushing the button.
It WILL get easier. We have all been through this. I worried so much about Stu's tattered ears! One of his ears bled much better than the other.
You can do this!
:YMHUG:

Ella

p.s. Try the lancet device on your own finger to gain some skill and to see how the various depth settings work.
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli PMPS---blind...loose stool, glucoseria?

can you scrape it off into your fingernail and test it from there?

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli PMPS---blind.+2 344..loose stool, glucoseria

Mowgli is also FAMISHED!!!! no, i am not feeding him as much as he would like..
Is he maybe eatting too much would this affect his numbers? even though it is the LC?? OR is he not getting enough??


Morning 1/2 - 3/4 can same for evening... snack in the evening maybe 1 table spoon..

during the day when i am at work i put out one frozen puck.. but there IS three of them I am not sure who eats the most..
similar to bedtime...

i am racking my brain here....

and yes, sweet jesus and hallelujah i got blood!

sorry for being such a bother to everyone, do know it is appreciated all the feedback..
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli PMPS---blind.+2 344..loose stool, glucoseria

Keri, you can try puting a bit of Vaseline, or Neosporin, Polysporin, etc, on the ear edge, to make it bead.
Doesn't it bleed enough to scrape it up? You need only a tiny bit of blood.
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli PMPS---blind.+2 344..loose stool, glucoseria

can i feed him more? he is hungry..

don't know if you all got my thank you for helping and keeping me supported...
THANK YOU!!!!! THANK YOU ALL!!!!!
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli PMPS---blind.+2 344..loose stool, glucoseria

yeah well, you nearly gave me a heart attack -- saw the subject line and immediately thought OMG! Mowgli is blind?!? :o
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli PMPS---blind.+2 344..loose stool, glucoseria

Until Mowgli's better regulated, he's going to be hungry -- very hungry. It's ok to give him more food, especially if he lost weight prior to his being diagnosed.

Diabetes is referred to as a "starving disease." Insulin is what allows glucose (i.e., food) to get into the cells. Because our FD kitties aren't producing their own insulin, before diagnosis the food that they eat and metabolize isn't going into the cells, it stays in the blood. Once you start shooting insulin, more glucose is getting into the cells. However, while Mowgli isn't regulated, not all of the nutrition from what he eats is getting where it's supposed to go. As a result, he's hungry. So, feed your boy.

(MJ -- I thought the same thing!)
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli PMPS-blind shot.+2 344..loose stool, glucose

OMG i am soooo sorry bout that, i changed it to read appropriately to blind shot.... ohmygod_smile
i will give him more food now...and yes, he had a three pound abrupt weight loss before diagnosis...
he will love me even more...
(har)
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli PMPS-blind shot.+2 344..loose stool, glucose

i'm guessing you've been poking on the outside of the ear? do you think you may have better luck with the inside of the ear, same spot, but where there's little/no fur to soak up the blood? i can't do outer ear - but dh does. what works for one may not for another; the inside of the right ear bleeds better for me, the outside of the left bleeds better for him. and don't stress, or he'll get stressed too.
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli PMPS-blind shot.+2 344..loose stool, glucose

Keri..You are doing great and I'll just tell you, again, we've all been there. You will learn to do it fast where he won't even act like he knows you're doing
it. It's ok...it just take time.

Glucosuria occurs when BG is high enough to cause sugar to spill into the urine. It probably occurs when BG is betweent 270-300 give or take..depends on the cat. It also is a little delayed and may take a bit of time at more normal numbers to clear up. While it isn't something any of us want to see, we probably all do if the kitty's numbers are up higher than the renal threshold and glucose spills into the urine.

I hope you're ok now and Mowgli is calming down, too. Everyone is right...he will feed off your stress so try to make it a cheery time...we sing to Gracie and give her treats. Hang in there...you're doing just fine!
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli PMPS-blind shot.+2 344..loose stool, glucose

:lol: finish your drink? feeling better? Shadow and I used to really wrestle and the hubz would hold her head while I poked her. after a bit, I decided it was worse for her, this bear hug thing we were doing to her and just told myself "I'm gonna get this." Even now, there are times I have to stick her twice and if I do, I try to do it really close to the first one so there will be enough blood. She doesn't come to me at testing time, I don't think she'll ever be one of those that jumps on the towel when I call her, but she doesn't fight it anymore at all. I have never had to use anything warm against her ear but as our weather gets cooler, I notice the morning pokes are a little more difficult than the evening ones and the day is coming when I'll have to use something to warm up her little ears.

and the neosporin with pain relief - I think it makes those ears feel better. it certainly takes the redness away and I could tell a difference overnight.

and I do poke inside the ear rather than the outside - Shadow is black so I'd never see the blood.

it's funny now, but I thought something terrible about "blind" earlier too. it was actually a relief to read that you were talking about blind shooting.

you'll get this girl, hang in there.
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli PMPS-blind shot.+2 344..loose stool, glucose

I just tested Moonie & the blood was everywhere--I checked her body to make sure she was ok!! Her ears bleed easily now--Mowgli's will too once you get the hang of it!
We all so understand how you feel--See you can do it! WHHOOOOOO HOOOOOOOOO dancing_cat dancing_cat flip_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat party_cat You got Blood!
Welcome to the sugar dance! :mrgreen:

OH I FORGOT!! Yes you CAN SCOOP THE Blood onto yoru fingernail & put it into the strip!!! It is actually easier sometimes!! You Go GIRL!
 
Re: 11/8 Mowgli PMPS-blind shot.+2 344.

again, thank you all!! so so much, more than words in fact..
my drink? yes it is gone ;-) ...am i more relaxed...at this second you bet I am...mowgli is less than thrilled with me, but my civvie scully is cuddling me, can always count on scully...
you are all amazing!! and i truly couldn't get through my stress times without all of you...i would be completely mental....
now that i am calmer, i cannot understand why i let myself get all worked up.....but it happens, it just happens....and the odd thing, i am the one that "calms" people around me... oy....the irony...
so it very well could be glucoseria due to his high numbers? but it isn't really something to be overly concerned about??

i have poked on both outside and inside of ear, i will take anything...
excited for my +2 blood success, am considering trying it again around +6...i know that i should....

it is weird how i can take comfort in knowing that some of you, if not all of you have also butchered your sugarkitties ear at some point...it gives me faith that I will get better, his ears will survive and they will one day bleed for me.... and knowing that you all have been through these early frustrations does help comfort me....i hope that doesn't sound bad...

again i am sorry bout the "blind" reference i feel like an a$$....
and have I mentioned?
THANK YOU SO MUCH EVERYONE!!!!!!! HUGS HUGS HUGS and PETS FOR YOUR FUR FAMILIES!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top