11/8 Michelangelo AMPS 216, +1 238

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm going to respond to the questions in your previous condo here.
I do have a few more questions. I've seen a few places now where people mention the "meatloaf" or "catloaf" position. I've noticed since the beginning that Mikey was doing this, but I wasn't sure what it's related to. Can someone please explain this for me?
"Meatloafing" is a position that cats will adopt when they're not feeling good or are in pain. Their feet are tucked underneath them and their head is down. In other words, they look like a big lump.
Second, when it comes to BG testing, I've noticed that he sometimes gives a lot more blood than normal. It doesn't continue bleeding or anything, but it produces an amount about three times the size of his regular amount (which is about the size in diameter of an "o"). I've turned the lancet pen down to the lowest setting and I even tried it with a different lancing pen, but it still seems to happen about once or twice a day. Am I being overly anxious? Is this caused from all of the holes I've previously created in his ears?
Chances are, you poked the vein and as a result, you get a lot of blood. It's not due to poking too many times. Try poking closer to the edge of the ear.

Also related to BG testing, as I mentioned above, Mikey is not cooperative first thing in the morning until he's had his breakfast (I guess he takes after me and my need for coffee). I've tried treats and feeding him just a little bit, but the only thing that seems to work is a full meal. I discovered early on that the best and easiest way to to give him his insulin is while he's eating, so if I feed him breakfast and give him his morning shot before I get his AMPS, will this screw up the BG results significantly if it's only about 10 minutes? Will this cause problems with trying to get him regulated? Otherwise, about half my AMPS attempts end in failure for both of us.
It's not so much of a problem of throwing your results of the test off. The problem is that you won't know if Mikey's numbers are low until after you shoot. The purpose of testing before you shoot is to make sure that the numbers are in a safe range. One thing to try is to give Mikey a snack at around +9. That may make him less hungry at shot time. Alternatively, you could feed, test, then shoot but you then have the issue of shooting after he's finished eating.

Finally, last night, a problem arose that I hadn't ever considered: I was going to be physically unable to give his evening insulin shot and had no one around to do it for me (besides the fact that so far I haven't found someone I can train as my backup). Since I haven't read (or found) a sticky about this yet, I was just going to skip his evening dose rather than giving it to him a few hours too early or too late. Ultimately, I ended up being able to give it to him at the right time, but what do you do in times like this? Do you just skip it, give him a lower dose earlier/later? Am I the only person in this forum that can't seem to find anyone willing to give a cat an insulin shot? (Honestly, I've been told by three different people that I should just put him to sleep and get a new cat.)
The problem with an early or late shot is that your next shot is due 12-hours later. So, your schedule is disrupted for several days until you can systematically work the time back to where you need it to be. If you're only off by an hour, it's not too hard to get back on track. You can move shots by 15 min. at each shot or 30 min. once a day. Obviously, if your a couple of hours off, it can take several days to get back to your preferred time. I have friends who are very cat oriented and they are nervous about giving insulin. Have you checked to see if there's a vet tech at your vet's office (or any vet's office, for that matter) who does petsitting on the side? I'd also check on Yelp and interview people.
 
You have gotten so much great info, and shared so much great info, that all I want to do here is way Welcome to LL!!! What a sweet little baby Mikey is!!!
 
Welcome to Lantus Land to you and Mi,eh who is adorable!

I'm glad Sienne answered your question about the AMPS...I was going to address it because it was a red flag for me when I read your linked condo. I wonder if you can feed him half a portion of food, then immediately test, and then give him his shot while he's eating the remainder? While every cat is different (ECID), its usually 20-30 minutes from plate to meter...in other words for the food to affect the BG.

We're here to help so please bring your questions!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top