? 11/8 Lincoln AMPS 374, +2 362, +5 356, PMPS 376, +6 322

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hang in there, this dance requires very pinchy patience pants....:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
It's a baffling forward backward sideways-stepping dance, that's the only sure thing about it!;):bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
question.... i changed him and the rest of the gang over to just feeding between PS and +3 only... but none of them seem to be getting in enough calories in that time.... today is the 7th day on the new feeding schedule... is there another time during the 12 hour cycle that i could be feeding lincoln and his siblings? Lincoln has an appetite but only can eat so much in that time. I am sure they are only getting 120-150 calories throughout the day... and they should be getting at least over 200....

None of the cats are getting enough calories now. I changed the feeding because what i read on here for when i should be feeding a lantus kitty. I need another option for feeding besides just PS-+3...
 
Last edited:
I think it's something you can play with in regard to food. I feed my Doodles every 4 hours around the clock in order to get enough calories in him. He's not a food motivated cat so I need him to be hungry. Some people even feed every 3 hours and most use an auto-feeder. Others of course feed 12/12 which never worked for Doodles. What ever I do during the day cycle is what I do during the night cycle for consistency. Of course if he really wants a snack here or there he gets that too.
 
i was doing small meals throughout the day but then read here its better to feed beginning of cycle so started doing that... then i had the days of yellows so thought it was making a difference... but now back in the pink and a cat who isnt getting enough calories
 
There is no 'rule' that getting all the food in before +3 is best for lantus kitties ECID. Often people like to get all the food in before nadir while the insulin is at its strongest, another approach is to feed many smaller meals across the cycle so that the smaller meals put less pressure on the pancreas, it is also perfectly acceptable to free feed a lantus kitty (if they don't overeat) and just remove the food two hours prior to shot time so that the PS number isn't food influenced. You do what works best for you and your cat/s and getting enough food into them is number 1 priority
 
Small meals are easier on their pancreas. It's more important to get enough calories in than "when" you're feeding. I'd make the second half of the cycle meals more "snacks" if possible and you don't want to feed anything 2 hours prior to preshot. Any other time is fine.
 
Thank you both for all your insights ... my instinct was smaller meals throughout the day was easier cause of less food spikes because of it being more of a constant.. i will add another meal at the +5 and a snack to make sure calorie need is being met.. THANK YOU BOTH AGAIN
 
Small meals are easier on their pancreas. It's more important to get enough calories in than "when" you're feeding.

This is absolutely true, getting enough calories in has to be your first priority but some people find that feeding their kitty past nadir when the insulin action is waning causes them to shoot up by the next PS so the when can be a very important part of maintaining a nice flat curve - hence the popularity of getting the meals done early in the cycle - if they can get enough calories in that way. It wasn't something that I had to worry about with Vyktor so he was always able to be free fed.

Lincoln is being quite stubborn about coming down but just keep hammering away at those increases until you start to see some movement, every kitty has their break through dose, some just take a lot longer to get there than others - you are testing plenty so if there's no dry food in the picture you might want to consider swapping to TR so you can increase at a faster rate, at least until he starts to move.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top