11/8 Hyde AMPS 444 +5 390 +6 396 .5uR +7 370 +8 371 +9 399 PMPS 399 +5 344

Status
Not open for further replies.
Since she was essentially flat from +5 to +6, I wanted to give her some R to keep her down. I decided to try .25u since I could test all afternoon. I drew up the syringe and shot it into the sink. It was one big drop, so I guess I was giving her .25u when I was trying to give 0.1u. I updated her spreadsheet to reflect this higher dose of R

Today I gave her .5u at +6. She has dropped a little now at +7.

She is still a little sneezy/congested - there has been something going around the house but no where near as bad as
 
Anne, as much as I think Hyde will benefit from R, I would recommend that you move up on the L insulin faster - every third day or 6th cycle - until you start seeing some real consistent changes from the red/black preshots. If you look at and scroll down the SS for @suki & crystal you'll see the gradual changes from reds to pinks to yellows (a few blips - to be expected) to consistent blues. This is what we're striving for.

Good luck with the migraine. I'm feeling your pain today!
 
Looks like the R is slowing down her rise at end of the cycle. Always good data to have.

I agree with Lu-Ann that I wouldn't hold doses too long. Six cycles is enough to know what a dose can do. You don't want to do an R experiment and an increase in the same cycle, but you could increase tonight. And you could also go up by 1.5 units. Think of going up in 10% increments. You starting gong up by 1 unit at 10 units, so now that you are at 15, you can go up by 1.5 units. In the battle against the IAA, you have to be more aggressive.

Vines sent for your headache. LB vines going your way too. Just keep it where it's supposed to be for a couple more weeks guys!
 
Last edited:
So glad we have such experienced people on this board to share their wisdom.

Lots of vines for your migraine. Arghhh. Especially with company coming! And all sort of telepathic thoughts to your kitties: in the box, in the box, in the box.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Thanks for the recommendation to increase the Lantus but we are switching to Levemir tomorrow and we cut it pretty close on the end of the Lantus vial :)

The specialty vet wants us to drop 50% and keep dose steady for 2 weeks, then do a 12 hour curve. She is discounting the IAA - they don't even recommend their clients have the test run at the same time as the IGF-1. I sent her the articles that Wendy shared with me and have not heard back. I don't want to alienate her but I also do not want to do as she suggests.:banghead::banghead:
 
Nice to see Hyde holding it steady. :) I wonder if the R lasts a little longer in her. At some point you might want to try a R+5 test too.

I saw a post you did earlier that your vet wants you to reduce to 1/2 the Lantus dose for starting Levemir.:banghead: You are right that is not the correct approach for IAA, much less for acromegaly. The longer you keep her in a lower dose, the more the antibodies will get ahead of you. I don't know if you've read this thread: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10u-bid-lantus-acro-levemir.14578/#post-147048 but there is a suggestion in there by some very experienced people that if you have not yet reached a good dose on Lantus, you can switch to the same dose on Levemir. Given that some kitties do have a marked reaction to a change in insulin, I think that starting at 70% or 10.5 units is a safer approach. Just be prepared that if after 4 doses or so you see really high numbers, you may need to increase quickly back up.
 
Hope things go well with the switch to Levemir- and also sending vines for your migraine:)
 
All the best for the commencement of Levemir tomorrow. When I swapped over to levemir, I did the 70% thing and had to go up a bit after a few days.
 
Hope the switch to Lev works for Hyde, we did the 70% changeover dose as well, you may well lose ground with your vet's suggested 50% dose and that's something you can't afford to do.

I hope you are feeling better now Anne and your migraine has gone :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top