? 11/8 Eddie AMPS 338 +2 315 +5 157 +7 140 + 10 265 PMPS 335 +2 160 +5 198

Oh that's interesting. He had a decent drop at +2 last night, I probably would have snagged another test. It's possible he went low and bounced but that's a big bounce. No chance he got contraband?

Sometimes weird things just happen, but more often than not it's a clue.
 
Also when you see green you'll hold for at least 10 cycles before increasing, especially with an acro cat post SRT. Need to let the depot stabilize, especially after larger reductions and BCSs
 
Oh that's interesting. He had a decent drop at +2 last night, I probably would have snagged another test. It's possible he went low and bounced but that's a big bounce. No chance he got contraband?

Sometimes weird things just happen, but more often than not it's a clue.

I wish I had set my alarm. I was feeling all relaxed after the day before with the drop and then the bounce. No chance he get into anything!! I was so surprised to see the number this morning as he looked so good; eyes clear, very calm. Le sigh.
 
What on earth would have caused this bounce? He's been doing so well except for the bounce following the BCS.

I feel somewhat distressed.
 
Last edited:
What on earth would have caused this bounce?
Two things cause bounces. (1) going lower than they are used to (2) steep drops. Without later data in the night time, we are only guessing if that is what happened.

I have another possible explanation for today's numbers. It's possible that 9 units is not enough insulin. The green you got yesterday could have been from the depot of 11 units. When you reduce the dose, the larger depot can influence the following 4-6 cycles. However, you saw green on the 4th cycle of 9 units, it's unlikely the larger depot, so I'd hold the dose.

Other possible reasons for higher numbers are fur shots, getting into contraband, seeing a scary something overnight, or just because he's a cat. In other words, don't sweat it at this point. It's just one cycle, cats are allowed an off day. Let's see if this is a trend or a one-off.
 
Two things cause bounces. (1) going lower than they are used to (2) steep drops. Without later data in the night time, we are only guessing if that is what happened.

I have another possible explanation for today's numbers. It's possible that 9 units is not enough insulin. The green you got yesterday could have been from the depot of 11 units. When you reduce the dose, the larger depot can influence the following 4-6 cycles. However, you saw green on the 4th cycle of 9 units, it's unlikely the larger depot, so I'd hold the dose.

Other possible reasons for higher numbers are fur shots, getting into contraband, seeing a scary something overnight, or just because he's a cat. In other words, don't sweat it at this point. It's just one cycle, cats are allowed an off day. Let's see if this is a trend or a one-off.

I like, particularly, "because he's a cat" or he saw something scary overnight, which fits with the first one. It's also possible, when i think of it, that I did a partial fur shot last night. I had the thought when I gave the shot and maybe that's the ticket.

He just clocked in back in the blue @+5 157 so we'll see. I think I'm putting too much pressure on expectation. I mean, it's already been such a long road that seem really not very hopeful at times that Eddie would ever come back. Now that he's having these exciting blues and greens, I may be getting too far ahead of him. Patience Grasshopper.

Thank you. I'll hold the dose.
 
Patience Grasshopper.
An often used term here. ;)

I forgot another possibility - the high before the low. Some cats will trend higher before diving down to lower numbers. With that +5, I'd get another test in the back half of the cycle if you can.
 
An often used term here. ;)

I forgot another possibility - the high before the low. Some cats will trend higher before diving down to lower numbers. With that +5, I'd get another test in the back half of the cycle if you can.

I’m home this afternoon and so will be able to get a couple more in. Thank you. Signed, Newby Grasshopper.
 
An often used term here. ;)

I forgot another possibility - the high before the low. Some cats will trend higher before diving down to lower numbers. With that +5, I'd get another test in the back half of the cycle if you can.

I got a +7 after the +5, went to a +10 and rising and now we are back in the 300s again after a couple of blues. Now I'm just worried about him.
 
Back
Top