11/8 Crushy pmps 298 +2 361

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/8 Crushy amps 375 +2 325

C'mon down Crushy, the lighter colors are so much more comfortable :-D Hope he keeps sliding for you Michele :-D
 
Re: 11/8 Crushy amps 375 +2 325

appetite and purring are good things. :smile:

Jill mentioned yesterday that we were looking at your spreadsheet. Some cats like to make us all work a little harder, but I think we can get him figured out. The * for meals really helps, thank you.

To me, Crushy looks to be in one of those spots where he needs more insulin to pull the numbers down, but if you give more insulin it can pull him too low. Then you have to decrease the dose and he's back to bouncing. The good thing is that usually this is fixable by playing around with the timing of meals. You have already started that process with your own food experiments, so I think you understand the concept. Are you open to some tweaking?

My very first thought is that the +9 feeding is probably making his PS numbers higher. That is a time in the cycle when the insulin is starting to wear off, and adding food when the insulin isn't working very well can cause a big increase for some cats. When you were feeding at +1, +2, +3, he was still dropping a good bit, but there was a lot less red at PS. I think you were on the right track when you were feeding all of his food earlier in the cycle, and less or none after nadir.

Then you have those fast drops early in the cycle, sometimes but not all the time. That is what we need to figure out how to control, so he will stop forcing you to give dose reductions when he doesn't really need them. ;-)

I'm thinking of something like this:

PS (test, feed LC)
+1 (feed LC)
+2 (test, if much lower than PS feed MC, if roughly the same or higher than PS feed LC)
+3 (same as +2)

He is pretty good about showing you by +2 whether it will be a drama cycle or not. If the +2 says "cowabunga!" then go ahead and feed some higher carbs to try to stay ahead of him. You'll have to experiment to figure out how big of a drop is too big and also what % of carbs works best in that situation.

Just so you know - if we are successful with getting him to slow down the fast drops, the result will likely be that he will need a dose increase. That's ok. It's all a means to an end.

The other thing I'm thinking is that you are working very, very hard at this. Your dedication is wonderful, but it is perfectly fine to give yourself a testing break when the numbers are high. I don't see any times recently when Crushy was pink at +2 and still went too low during the cycle. I think that for now, it's safe to say if he is pink at +2, step away from the meter! +10 or +11 wouldn't hurt in those cycles if you're around and awake just so you'll know where the PS number is coming from, but that's it. If he's yellow at +2, you can judge by the speed of the drop whether you need to pay attention or if he is planning to stay flat.

Obviously this is all just a starting point, but what are your thoughts? I can tell that you have put a lot of thought into his cycles, his food, everything. I've only been studying his spreadsheet for one day, and you know every detail, so these ideas are just meant to get you thinking.
 
Re: 11/8 Crushy amps 375 +2 325

I am definitely open to tweaking things Libby!
thank you so much!!

On 10/23 am he started a drop and I made his +3 meal that day MC and it slowed the drop down! at the time I thought the drop was a false alarm because I had just reduced the dose, but looking back I think maybe the MC really did slow it down some! Im not sure why I abandoned that idea...

Ill start the ps +1 +2 +3 feedings you suggested tonight (I could be wrong but I have a sneaking suspicion he is going to drop tonight)
I have some MC food on hand I can use (some 9% and some 8% carb)

Im feeding 1/2 oz at each feeding...is that a big enough amount MC if we are trying to stop a drop? or is that something that I need to experiment with too?

lol @ your advice to step away from the meter if he's pink at +2! I can do that! He is such a patient cat and purrs through the whole testing process but I definitely could use a break now and then for my own sanity.

Thanks Kim and Rhiannon for visiting and the encouragement!
 
Re: 11/8 Crushy amps 375 +2 325

Sounds like a plan for Mr. C.

He snuck in a yellow PMPS! ..that's so exciting!! it's been a week since you got one of those. Good Boy Crushy! cat_pet_icon

Michele, I always consider MC above 10%. Say 11-17 or so.
If the 8-9 is what you have on hand I am sure it is fine for time being but maybe get some a little higher. You can always also mix LC with HC to make MC.

That is a good question about sufficient amount for the MC to steer. You may have to experiment a little..but hopefully Libby will also chime in on that one.
You crunched all your diet numbers and now you gotta re-crunch!
You have simultaneous cross experiments going..makes my brain hurt. confused_cat

Uh oh..more stay away from the meter advice. We're going to have to send you to rehab for that too!!
I do not think sleep is overrated. Ya'll may both end up more green. :mrgreen:

Go team Crushy!!


ETA: interesting on the intuition about dropping. I actually think you are becoming an expert reader yourself.
Will be interesting to see if your hunch is right.
 
Re: 11/8 Crushy amps 375 +2 325

sounds like a plan! For what it's worth, today I was also thinking that tonight might be a cycle when he drops and I forgot to mention it. I'm dozing off now so I can't remember exactly what I saw on his SS that made me think that. :lol: Last time he was on 1.25u, he dropped in the 4th cycle, so tonight would make sense. See, you already understand a LOT, but it always helps to have another set of eyes. It's way easier to be objective with someone else's cat than with your own (I speak from experience!).

Off to bed for me, but good luck. I'll peek in tomorrow.
 
no drop tonight after all
361 at +2

I was thinking tonight he would drop because the last time he was on this dose it took 4 cycles too Libby. hmmm oh well Id rather it be during the day anyway

Im wondering though...if we can stop these drops and raise the dose more...wouldnt the drops get steeper and stronger as we raise the dose? Just trying to figure out how it all works....

good thought on the over 10% mc food Betty. I suspect there might be times where a higher MC is definitely called for.

looks like Im in meter rehab for the rest of the night. ZZZzzz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top