? 11.8 CharlieAMPS 124 +2.5 98 +6 82 PMPS 104 +2 72 +3 73 +4 72

Sarah & Charlie-cat

Member Since 2022
Hi! Me again!

We have an appointment for fasted blood work tomorrow. Last month when we did this, he was in the 300's all day every day and I was worried about him developing ketones. Now, I have the other worry, that he'll hypo without all his snackies. He's getting a spoonful of food every hour or two of the first part of his cyle, AM or PM.

I did go to 0.25 last night based on 3 days with nadirs in the 70s. He doesn't look like he's going to go as low today, but with Charlie, I feel like you never know.

Thoughts about how to best do this? They did check his glucose and ketones at least once last time when I dropped him off to fast there so they could listen to him scream and not me. The second time, I kept him home. Should I keep him home and check frequently or let him scream at them? It's more of a hard to ignore cat imitating a baby crying than screaming. I have some morning meetings and midday meetings tomorrow. I can skip the research team photo, no one knows or cares I'm on that project anyway.
 
The good news is his lowest number today was over 80. I think his food bump is still only in the 30 point range, even on this higher carb food. So hopefully, that means he'll stay out of the hypo range without food. Can't believe the dramatic change from four weeks ago!
 
Am leaning towards giving him a drop dose in the morning. And then back to 0.25 when we get home in the evening.

Although this is three numbers under 70, last night and tonight. So :woot:
 
When is the appointment tomorrow and how long does he have to fasted for the bloodwork? They do know he is diabetic and on insulin, right?
Fasting them and hearing them scream for food is really hard!
 
I'm dropping him off at 7:15 am and they'll take blood at 5:30 pm and I'll pick him up right after. They do know he's diabetic and in insulin. The last time we did this he was in the 300s all day every day. No worries about hypo at that point.

The morning techs just generally don't give me a good vibe. I dunno if they need more coffee but they make mistakes and I never feel like they're hearing what I'm saying. Although they do have a tech who is there later in the day who has a diabetic cat and loved the spreadsheet and not just tested Charlie for ketones with my blood meter, but actually did some reading about their use for cats. But even the tech is not all about managing diabetes like folks here do.

Gonna poke him again in a bit and cross my fingers he's still bopping along in the 70s.
 
Just gave him some more food and gonna get to bed. I have to be up at like 5:30 to do his insulin.
@Bandit's Mom do you think a drop dose makes sense tomorrow? Like a reduced dose when I was away last week?

72 isn't hypo but he's had hourly snacks since his shot
 
I'm dropping him off at 7:15 am and they'll take blood at 5:30 pm and I'll pick him up right after
So no food after 7am or so? What is your shot time? 5:30am

@Bandit's Mom do you think a drop dose makes sense tomorrow? Like a reduced dose when I was away last week?

72 isn't hypo but he's had hourly snacks since his shot
Considering he can't eat from an hour (?) after the shot and it's taking HC snacks, to keep him in the 70s, you could just skip the dose. Does he have any history of ketones?
 
He had DKA in May, nearly developed it again in July and I'm highly suspicious he was in DKA at DX, he was hospitalized for almost a week, and they didn't tell me. Dawn in the Facebook group has joked he is the Ketone King. There was a stretch he was getting fluids daily because he was over 0.6.

5:30 am shot time with food but no food after that. Drop him off between 7:15-7:30 am. They draw his blood at 5:30.

Skip is an option. Drop dose is an option. I don't think full dose is an option.
 
Sorry, it says that in your Signature. I missed it. :banghead:
Not much difference between a drop and a skip, except peace of mind. I'd lean to skip.

He was only at 98 so I went with skip. I'll bring my ketone meter and glucometer and read the morning people the riot act about testing him.

I will be very curious what his mid cycle number is. His little pancreas seems like it's coming on board more and more every day.

You could have once again knocked me over with a feather to see 70s last night on 0.25 u and 98 this morning.
 
Back
Top