11/8 AMPS 272 + 2 294

Status
Not open for further replies.

marygracemom

Member Since 2013
yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=107758

TGIF Everyone!
Mary Grace seems to be doing good, woke up with her snuggled up to me!

Question I have is tonight's dose will be her 6th cycle since the dose increase. Her numbers are still high, so in following the protocol should I up her dose tomorrow am to 2.5 ?

Her drinking water is back to normal, pee is not as much but wouldn't say normal....pond instead of lake... Purring--yes, even when I tested her this morning. She just loves the freeze dried chicken post test treats!! Preening...yes.

I will have more time over the weekend to get better spot checks.
 
Hi Elizabeth!

I din't think we've met before, but welcome to LL!

The best alarm clock is a cuddly kitty :-D I'm glad Mary Gace's pee puddles & water intake are getting smaller, too! To be safe, do you test for ketones?

I'm not an experienced member - still trying to get Tigger's dosing figured out, but the TR Protocol states re increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.

when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

It looks like an increase is in Mary Grace's future, but.... imho, it seems to me you've been using your SS since 11/1, so there's not alot of collected data at this point to really know Mary Grace. It's possible she is high because she is still bouncing from that 161 11/5. Since she hit one nadir under 200 on the 2.25u, I'd wait at least through today to allow a full 6 cycles for her to clear a potential bounce. You're still within protocol if you wait until Sunday AM to increase - that would allow for the minimum 8 cycles if M.G. is new to nadirs under 200.

I'm sure more experienced members will give you input as well. You might want to put the :?: icon in your first Topic headline so members will know you have an unanswered question!

Your're doing a great job, keep up all the good work!
 
Thank you Suzanne for your reply! I hope you and Tigger are enjoying your day!
I think I will wait until Sunday and that way I can have more numbers to work with. I have tested for ketones and it was negative. But that was a couple of weeks ago, so I will retest.
I don't have much data before 11/1 when I started keeping the ss. She was on Petzine 2u BID for the first 2 weeks then I switched vets and she has been on Lantus ever since. The vet wants her to be at 3 u BID and she was at 2.5 but seeing what the bounces do, I backed her down to 2 and started home testing.
 
Hi Elizabeth

Glad to hear that MaryGracie is doing better!

The modified TR protocol we use states:
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

MaryGrace could be bouncing off those blue numbers still since bounces can last up to six cycles. Let's see what she does today and tonight.
 
I'm glad you switched to a vet that likes Lantus. Also that you started Mary Grace at a lower number than 3 units. My understanding is that many cats here are started lower to make sure they aren't in fact starting at too high a dose (the TRP allows for faster dose increases with testing data vs. most vets' suggestion of holding each dose for 30 days)

I see Marje's responded to your post - She's amazing, & my angel in disguise. :-D Whenever you increase, try to do it when Mary Grace is not bouncing or clearing a bounce. Sometimes when kitties clear, their numbers can drop pretty quickly (Tigger's one nailbite_smile ). Adding a dose increase on top of that accelerates the drop. Good that you're planning an increase when you'll be available to test & monitor.

Also - very good you're already testing for ketones and she's negative so far! I know it can be difficult depending on your kitty, but try to do it regularly if you can, especially days when her numbers are higher, just to be safe. Ketones can actually occur at any BG :o , but are more rare at lower numbers (& usu. when kitty is sick or has something else going on).

If you can include your yesterday's (or most recent) condo at the top of your current post, it helps members get a better history of how Mary Grace is doing recently. (I still forget alot!) If you don't know how, I can advise.

I see you you put the question mark icon up yea! I know you'll get other responses from more experienced members. Could you add Mary Grace's name back up, too - it looks like it may have come down when you edited. :lol:
 
Hi again, Elizabeth

ohmygod_smile sorry I gave you the same info that Suzanne did. Sometimes we get repetitive around here ;-)

I was just checking back, as well, to see how the day went. I'll be around tonight and will try to check in again and see if you have other questions.
 
Thanks for the replies Suzanne and Marje.
I am going to still hold off on the increase until tomorrow and get some more readings during the weekend, during times I cannot get during the work week.
Hope you all have a great Saturday. Off to do chores and the cats always love Saturday dance party, when I am cleaning!
 
I am going to still hold off on the increase until tomorrow and get some more readings during the weekend, during times I cannot get during the work week.
That sounds like a great plan. I suspect you'll be fine increaseing Mary Grace's dose but it's best to give the insulin sufficient time to work. (That said, it's not past a kitty to throw us a curve ball!)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top