11/8/14 Keiko AMPS 520

Status
Not open for further replies.

KeikosHuman

Member Since 2014
Hi,

Here's my last post: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=127848
I hope you can see the entire url and get to the post. Below is a recap of Keiko's recent numbers on 6 units:

11/3/14 (start of new dose, insulin 6 units)
AMPS 330
+8 - 418
+10/PMPS - 403
+4 - 402

11/4/14
AMPS - 378
+8 - 380
+11/PMPS - 449

11/5/14
AMPS - 468
+5 - 393
+11/PMPS - 358

11/6/14
AMPS - 349
+8 - 452
+11/PMPS - 437
+4 - 355

11/7/14
AMPS - 414
+8 - 321
+10/PMPS - 354

11/8/14
AMPS - 520

Overall, I think there's a tiny bit of improvement on 6 units but not enough. Any help appreciated. :-D

PS - Keiko's bowels have been regular/ constipation has resolved. I have been using soaked psyllium husks. Do not put the psyllioum directly on wet food. It needs to soak in water until it absorbs all the water. If dry psyllium is mixed with wet cat food it will absorb water from kitty's bowel which would not be good. Recipe:
Put a few teaspoons or other amount of psyllium in a jar or bowl and add water to cover it. After a short time it becomes a gel. Keep adding water until you can see a layer of water above the psyllium gel. Now it's ready to be put in food, not before. I use 2 teaspoons per meal mixed in with his wet food. I store the excess in the fridge.

Thank you and have a great day.
 
Both of your links to the previous condo work. great job!

He's still too high. I saw Wendy gave you the appropriate guideline for increasing in your last post. I'd increase by 0.5u again.

Once a kitty passes 6.0u per shot, we start thinking they've likely got one of the high dose conditions. Most common is acromegaly, next is iaa (insulin auto-antibodies) and least common is Cushing's. Cushing's is fairly easy to identify because one of the hallmark symptoms is very fragile skin. The skin might actually tear when the cat washes, or when they're being tested.

The diagnosis is done through a blood test that is drawn by your own vet then shipped to Michigan State University. There are a couple of links with good information on the bottom of the New to the Groupyellow starred sticky. It's helpful to know whether it's acro or iaa because the strategies for dosing are a little bit different.

Just to get you started thinking about it. Let me know if you want more information. Wendy, Sandy & I have had high dose kitties. Neko has both iaa and acro. Sandy's BK had iaa and went OTJ. Punkin had acromegaly. Current kitties that are posting that have high dose conditions include Cobb, Polly, Toby, Tip, Ellie's Charlie - not sure if i'm missing anyone - those are off the top of my head.
 
Hi Maria,
The link to your last post works fine. I'm glad that Keiko's bowels have returned to normal.
I looked at your spreadsheet and in my opinion you can increase his dose to 6.5 units. He's been on 6 units for long enough and it is time to increase, according to the protocol. The 520 AMPS today could be a bounce from the numbers in the 300s he had yesterday. But the numbers in general are high and you want to get him down.
I hope one of the experienced dosing people will be along to confirm. But if Keiko were my kitty, I would increase his dose by 0.5 of a unit tonight. (The usual procedure is to increase by 0.25, but Keiko's numbers are high and he is on a pretty large dose, so a 0.5-unit increase is justifiable.)
Have a good weekend,

Ella & Rusty

p.s. I see that Julie gave you this advice while I was typing. Good luck with the new dose!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top