11/7 Loudogg AMPS 330 +6 303 PMPS 312

Amanda and a Loudogg

Member Since 2017
November 6, 2018 Condo - Dental day

Good morning all,
Lou made it through the night and I didn't get much sleep. Thankfully Caleb was cut from work early so he got to come home to cuddle his boy (multiple times, haha). Lou continued to improve balance-wise through the night, but not as quick as I'd like. I know he had lingering balance issues after his previous anesthesia, but I don't recall it lasting quite as long. I imagine the pain meds don't help. Lou enjoyed the turkey baby food and ate a full 2.5oz can of it. Unfortunately later in the evening, he refused all food, although it seemed he wanted to eat it. He wasn't licking his lips, so I'm not sure it was nausea. I left two kinds of food out and he didn't touch either. I kept him in the bedroom with me overnight and Caleb checked on him frequently. It wasn't the ideal setup, but I didn't realize the ridiculousness of having a house with only 3 doors that enclose rooms, and 2 of those are bathrooms, before we bought it. Normally it's not an issue, but when you're trying to contain a feline, not a great setup.

Lou has been eating his normal LC wet food with extra water this morning, but not as much as I would like. I was planning on starting him at 2.0u, but the uncertain appetite led me to give him 1.5u instead. I have pain meds for the next 5 days, given twice a day. I thought it would be easiest to give them at shot time, but I'm not sure when to start. Do you think I should just start now, or do you think I should wait until this evening? They gave him an injection of pain meds yesterday, but I don't quite know when (before the surgery at 1000, after the surgery was over at 1200)? I don't want him in pain, but I don't want him totally glassed out from too much either. I appreciate your thoughts.

I hope you all have a wonderful day and your kitties surf safely. Thanks again for all the kind thoughts, vines, and well wishes. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Maybe after he eats at shot time. That way it's at regular intervals and he is not to groggy to eat. If he's to stoned from pain med, try 1/2 dose each time. If it isn't enough you can give other half in 8 hrs. It might work better to give every 8 hrs for the first few days.

Brb.

ECID you just might have to see what works for Lou. He just might not fit into the standard way of doing things for a day or two. I know with me waiting 6 hrs until next pain pill was way to long. 4hrs was barely tolerable with pain med, after 48 hrs I was ok for 6 hrs between then it moved to 10 hrs between etc.

If pain gets to bad and you wait to long to take anything, nothing will help when you do take something. You don't meant him in pain and you don't want him stoned unless you can crate him for his safety.
 
Last edited:
Can you call the vet and ask what time they gave the pain shot and ask when you should start pain meds? Sending prayers for a quick recovery. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Vines for Lou. I am surprised they didn't say when to give the pain meds. For mine it is usually the next morning as they get a some pain meds before they leave and should be good for the night.
 
For buprenorphine, best to give after a little food. And you want to stay ahead of pain, so earlier may be better.

What is Lou’s bupe dose and how much does he weigh?
 
I ended up giving him some bupe this morning at 0800 (around +1.5). My vet just said they gave a pain med injection that should last 24 hours (or did they say until tomorrow?). They only specified that I don't start the bupe until tomorrow (today). I don't know what he weighed yesterday (I didn't get an official take-home report), but he was at 15.5 lbs in October. They gave me 0.2 mL pre-filled syringes of 0.3 mg/mL bupe, supposed to be given twice a day. It was a bit of a battle getting his mouth open so I could give him the medicine, and I think I got at least half the syringe in. He's been doing well so far today. His balance is much better and he's not having issues with the stairs. I just caught him laying on the bed in his usual circle of life position (in a circle with his feet all together) instead of a meatloaf position, so I count that as a win!
 
It's amazing how far he's come in one day! He's been sleeping most of the day. He's been eating steadily, but not quite as much as usual. He's been more himself: not meatloafing, coming up on the back of the couch to wait for PMPS, and he ate all of his PMPS meal in one go! I had only given him 1.5u this morning because I couldn't be sure of his appetite today. I went ahead and upped his dose to 2.0u this evening since he ate dinner so well. I hope it's the right thing to do, but with pain and pain meds on board, I don't want him to stay too long in those high numbers. I'd like him to at least spend most of his time in the blues and yellows if possible. Thank you so much for all the vines and well wishes! I think it's helping! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good to see he is improving. If progress continues, you might want to think about returning to 2.5 units, his last good dose. While he is healing, the inflammation could even mean you need to temporarily increase above that, though I would see what his regular dose does first.
 
Back
Top