11/7 JuJu AMPS 161/+1 91/+2 37!/+3 56/+4 60/+5 110

Status
Not open for further replies.
Julie

he got 0.25u at 11 pm last night and 0.25u at 11 a.m. today.

Matt....we are discussing what would be safest. Of course, JuJu is your cat and you also have your vet's opinion (but IMHO, I would not put 0.5u of insulin into your guy tonight).
 
Yes, 11pm is +12.

My apologies. He received 1u yesterday morning. His PMPS was 43. We waited 6hrs (+18 254) before giving him his PM dose. He then went +2 342/+4 314/+8 324/+10 226
AMPS 161 0.25u.

My apologies on the SS Marje is going to help me clean it up to better show the +18
 
How can I post a pic from my phone? I had Ava draw a 0.25u dose on our syringe. She was smart enough to add food coloring for visual effects.
 
Matt

Julie laid out some good info. And this is your and Ava's decision on what to shoot.

However, we've been discussing it and we think the safest thing to do is shoot the 0.1u tonight.

When a kitty has been here a bit and we have more data and they haven't had any dry food in the mix in a very long time, the picture is clearer. We don't know how much JuJu's numbers are attributable to depot, losing the dry, etc. you see how he went up last night after a six hour stall and a reduced dose and how fast he cleared his bounce and came right back down. That was really fast especially for a cat that hasn't been on insulin long and has had skipped shots, stalled shots, and reduced doses.

You saw what a bounce clearing cycle can be like this morning. Imagine dealing with that in the middle of the night. It's tough....I've done it. Many of us have. If you take the dose down and he stays high, we can take him back up. It's also something many of us deal with a lot. It doesn't mean its the end of their progress....it's just a way to drain the depot a bit more on the side of safety.

I wish we had a crystal ball, but we don't. I just wanted to give you and Ava something else to think about and consider.
 
I understand, best to be safe. Ava is practicing the 0.1u. I'll tell her to retest, feed, then shoot the 0.1u. Sound good?
 
Sounds perfect. You are a wise man. ;-)

She's shooting at 11 correct? If you let us know the PMPS, we can give you an idea of when she should grab the first test after the shot.
 
Very good....I think she can lay down for a bit and then get a +2. Possible? That would just give us an idea of what the night might look like.

Fire away with 0.1u :-D
 
Man, she is such a pro. She nailed it on the first try. JuJu and I are lucky to have her. :-D

She'll get a +2 for you.

I'm gonna get a snack. I'll check back in at +2. Thank you, again. We hope all your babies are having a good night!
 
What a whirlwind you guys have found yourselves in!

Glad you went with the 0.1u.
Fingers crossed for a gentle float down and also for a negative ketone test :cool:
 
Nice work, guys!

You can send a picture from your phone to yourself via e mail. Send it the "small" size. Then post it from your computer.

Good luck with the micro dose!

Ella & Rusty
 
+2 339

Ava is going to bed. I'll be home at +4. I'll try to get a ketone test late tonight or first thing tomorrow.
 
If Juju is a secret pee-er, one thing you can do to test for ketones is to fill a second litter box (i slid a box lid into a plastic leaf garbage bag) and fill the box with non-absorbent material. aquarium gravel is a good option - anything that doesn't absorb. I used lentils. I always added water to punkin's food, then shut him in the laundry room to eat with that box in there and no regular litter box. then i just hung around with him til he went. you can tip the box and test the urine. punkin had long hair and very furry legs - there was no getting anything under him.
 
Thanks for the helpful tips, Julie. I'll give it a go when I get home.

I'll check in at +4. If he's looking stable, I'll probably try to get some sleep.
 
+5 252

I should be up for a +7. Otherwise, I'm going to get some rest. Ava will be up for a +9

Nite everyone.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top