Re: 11/7 JuJu AMPS 161
Originally, the doc told us to only feed JuJu twice a day (AMPS/PMPS). Yesterday was the first day he showed a good appetite, show we allowed him to eat a few times intermittently. Is it okay to continue that, or best to try and get him on a twice a day cycle, assuming no <50 numbers?
To answer your question above that you posted in yesterday's condo, for an FD kitty, they usually do better with smaller meals given more frequently. In general, it is best to offer some mini meals which are given prior to nadir which can vary by cat but is "typical" to be around +6 for lantus. The reason you want to try and not feed after nadir (unless numbers are lower; when numbers are lower, we might need to feed after nadir), is because it puts the brakes on the duration of the insulin and so you don't get the full benefit of it's action. Think of it like a car coming up to a stop sign. If you race up and then slam on the brakes 50' feet away, you won't make it to the stop sign. But if you take your foot off the accelerator as you approach the stop sign and then glide in, then you'll make it to the stop sign. Food acts like the brake.
With JuJu and his DKA/FHL history, you want to take two extra steps:
--as Julie suggested, add water to his food. I'd be putting 1-2 tsps of water into every single helping of food; fluid is good for him.
--and I think Sandy mentioned, you need to get as many calories in him as you can. He's lost a significant amount of weight. Do you think his ideal weight is 13 lbs? 15 lbs? I know you said you read Dr. Lisa's website so you might have seen this formula for number of calories a kitty should have daily.
[13.6 X ideal weight] + 70 = # of daily calories
So if his ideal weight is 13 lbs, he should be getting 13.6 x 13 = ~177 + 70 = 247 calories/day. For a recovering DKA/FHL kitty, I'd feed more than that. We often say 1.5 the normal amount of calories until he is totally out of the woods, eating well, infection resolved, etc.
The Friskies Poultry Platter pate has 187 calories/5.5 oz can or 34 calories an ounce and is 9% calories from carbs. As an example, if he is eating only that, you should feed him 8+ ounces a day of it.
Dr. Lisa's food chart will give you the calories and % calories from carbs of many, many foods.
Question: he's on baytril and amoxi. Did the vets identify the source of infection because when DKA is involved, it is usually because there is infection + not enough insulin + not enough calories/water. Do they know what they are treating or are they just throwing antibiotics at him? If you don't know, I'd ask today while he is at the vet. I'd also clear up the question of the mirtazapine dosing/frequency.
Please let me know any other questions and I want to be sure I've answered your questions on food.
Edited to add: I thought of one other question. When he was in the hospital getting 2u of insulin, do you know what insulin the vet was giving him or his BG? I'd ask for those records because it also helps us. Quite often in DKA situations, the vet will stop the basal insulin (Lantus) and give a quick in/out insulin like Humulin R to get numbers down. Lantus and levemir are not good at yanking numbers down.....they like the slow approach. But it's important with DKA cats to get the BG down and to do that, the faster acting insulins like R can be used every 4-6 hours because they are in and out that quickly. They do not have a depot like the Ls.
Why is it important for us to know? If the vets kept giving Lantus all along, then some of what he's got going on in numbers could be a little depot. But with the number of skipped shots an lowered doses, it would likely be minuscule. However, a higher dose of Lantus then the cat needs can affect up to six subsequent cycles. Toss the dry food issue in there and it's just another variable to consider.
Thank you!